Giving Some Recognition to @RobertAndrew

in #steemit5 years ago

robert.png


Props to @RobertAndrew


Hey y'all, I'd like to take a second to give a shoutout and some props to @robertandrew. Reason being he's consistantly putting out content and staying active, even though things here at Steemit kinda suck right now to be quite honest.

We can all sit around here and circle jerk, grab the guy to your lefts wangadang and everyone repeat, "Steemit is awesome, it's so much better than Facebook and Youtube, it's gonna take over the world."

We all know that's bullshit. It's no secret the overall moral here is kinda down. I think it's partly due to crypto prices being down, it's partially due to the fact we don't have a wide diversity of content here, there's not a great way to search out content, and it's tough to stay here and actually be entertained, where as on a platform like Youtube it's effortless, your just fed amazing high quality content that's exactly what you want to see.

I definitely think the moral is down. When I first got on here back in June of 2017 there was much more so a sense of community, there was a lot more excitement in the air about this platform and the future of it, people were truly excited to be here.

Flash forward today, a lot of creators and users have left the platform. For those who create, there's little incentive to put forth the effort and for those who consume, the fact there's no reward for creating quality content means this is just a platform full of shitty content and people aren't gonna come here and spend their time consuming shitty content.

Over the past year I've seen this platform degrade. The quality of the content is worse. The amount of effort people are putting in is worse, people who used to post multiple times per day maybe post once a week or every 10 days, and many people have left here entirely.

I don't really dig into the inner workings of Steemit but there doesn't seem to be much going to improve the platform and Steemit no longer has a monopoly on a pay to play decentralized social media network, we now have Whaleshares which might be cool if they ever fucking approve my account, and Weku and Smoke.IO. If Steemit doesn't get its shit together it's going to be overtaken by one or all of these platforms as they still have some of that initial excitement and now Steemit has some competition.

Honestly I think it's kind of dumb that Smoke and other platforms have decided to clone and copy Steemit as quite frankly it's a fucking horrible setup for what this platform seems to be. If you follow me on here you know I complain about this alot but we have a blogger/medium type platform that's meant for creating content that doesn't reward content. We need to have groups and messaging and more of a Facebook type format since that seems to be how people treat and interact with this site, its a networking platform not a content creation platform.

Anyhow, it's not easy to put your nose down and do the work when there's seemingly no reward and when things aren't looking good and feeling good. That said it's the people like @robertandrew who do this and stay working that will eventually come out ahead if this platform gets its shit together and turns things around and in many ways by staying active and engaged @robertandrew is doing his part to help that change happen by creating content and keeping some activity going here.

I see a lot of people who slack off or give up when prices are down and then come back and rah rah circle jerk Steemit when things are back to good again so I wanted to give some recognition to Robert for being commited and engaged even when things aren't at their best here on Steemit.

For that reason I'd like to encourage everyone to follow him, resteem his posts, upvote him at 100%, encourage him to keep fighting the good fight.

Hats off to you buddy, I've been a bit less active on here myself but I see your feed and see your consistnatly active so props for that

Sort:  

Wow, I was just going through my Manuel Curation trail and just made it o the "R" section. I just visited @Rhondak and then came to you.

And low and behold what a delightfully surprising thing to see. Such an honor and Iam speechless to be honest of the kind and thoughtful words :)
I do love this place and low prices and stagnant engagement...well it's gonna take a lot more than that to keep me away from here lol 👍💪

Btw, I have always appreciated your support and also your Content has been just excellent and consistent.

You keep up the great work as well and thanks again, buddy :)

Wow, @robertandrew--thank you for calling my attention to this post. This topic is right up my alley.

It's great that you have gave this gentleman some props and recognition, but I'll be honest here, I only follow, upvote and comment on content I like... I'll check him out, but if i don't like what he writes about, why would I follow... I don't need things on my feed that don't interest me.
A big problem with this site/platform, is there are far too many fucking posts about crypto currency... it's more like a forum for crypto than a content site. Many believe that if they write about crypto, people are going to flock to their posts and follow, upvote and comment, in some cases that is true...
Steemit has to change this platform, make it more easy for people to interact with each other, and somehow make GOOD content easier to find. I believe I may have stole your words there for a second. One other thing, GOOD content depends on who is reading it! Opinions vary!

Hey skip, fair enough I totally agree with you. Someone can put in good effort on here and maybe what they post about isn't your or my cup of tea. Regardless of whether I'm into a particular type of content I do enjoy seeing more thoughtful and longform content on here as people who are interested in that subjectmatter will hopefully flock here and consume it.

I completely agree that this platform is way too insular in the sense that everything is about crypto or the Steemit platform itself. Somewhat undersandable as this is a crypto platform and most early adopters of Steemit were into crypto but if we want to bring mainstream people and the general populace over here we need more diversity. I do believe the content on medium and youtube and almost any other decent social media site is both more diverse as well as better quality. there's very little here that interests me, on Youtube I watch a lot of documentaries, personal development tapes and business related stuff and there's very little of that on here, add to that the search function is abysmal so finding whatever is here is incredibly tough.

Nobody who's not vested in steem and steemit would ever come here to consume content short of maybe stumbling upon a crypto article, I will say when looking at how to do something cryptowise steemit is often what comes up in google reseults but outside of that nobody would ever be like I'm going to come over here and spend an hour because its entertaining and that's steemits biggest problem. even people like myself and im guessing you who are already on and engaged in this platform come here to play the game and earn our steem, not because we genuinely enjoy it here, i can honestly say that.

Hi, @rulesforrebels. Interesting post you have here, on a subject that's near and dear to my heart.

It's true that there has been a lot of stagnation on the platform lately. I've felt my heart break as more and more beloved content creators become frustrated and leave the platform. Thank goodness for my unique perspective as co-admin of @thewritersblock and member of @noblewitness. Content is my bailiwick, and being a voice for content creators is the driving force for our witness.

I'm at Steemfest right now in Krakow. In fact, yesterday I gave a presentation alongside @gmuxx that addresses this very issue although it's focused primarily on writing and not other forms of content. I can pretty much guarantee that Steemit will continue to degrade and be marginalized as new dapps come out (like our own, which is Wordrow,) and interests begin to coalesce on the platform. It's a time of transition, one Steemit was never meant to endure.

Steemit is simply a front-end interface built on the Steem blockchain. It's important that we focus on the blockchain rather than the front end and understand that as communities evolve into their own sector of interest with their own front end interfaces, there's going to be a period of drift. However, this is when the real effort to attract mainstream users and high quality content creators begins. For example, Wordrow, Steemhouse Publishing, and The Writers Block are the trifecta of serious literature on the blockchain, and we are hardcore going after users from the commercial publishing market, including industry professionals all the way to consumers--the average reader.

There's a link to our presentation at the bottom of this comment. Ours starts about the 3:00 mark. It's only 20 minutes long, so I encourage you to listen. Even if you have no desire to be a professional writer and publish in the mainstream, this will give you some idea of the forward movement going on behind the scenes. Steem is not dead. Steemit itself may become obsolete, but the blockchain will never.

Here's the link. Looks like there's some kind of problem with the upload at the time I post this, but hopefully that will be corrected soon.

That about sums it up. Cheers!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14