Steemit - "a fulltime job"

in #steemit6 years ago

I have to be honest; I underestimated Steemit. :)

I originally came here to find another channel to share my writings. And since I'm not a big fan of copy-paste, I said; "hey, you know what, I just write an extra post for Steemit every day". 

One problem: After almost a month, I don't feel I have fully arrived here yet. It seems that there are so many things to learn about this platform and instead of focussing on really just creating beautiful content, I've been sidetracked by so many shiny objects.

Sometimes I feel like being a social media addicted little boy. 

And the artist within me suffered.

The community aspect is great here on this platform. I mostly enjoy it... but sometimes it all get's too much. 

The engaging and commenting sometimes feels a bit like this:

"I read your post, so that you read mine" - I don't want that! 

I want people to follow me because they enjoy reading my content. And I want to follow people that I enjoy reading. 

But even more so: As an artist, I care about creating great quality content. And here's the pitfall: I experience the quality of my posts are significantly lower, the more time I spend reading other people's posts. There just doesn't seem to be enough time for it all.

I'm yet to find a balance. And I don't come around this thought that, Steemit, like so many other platforms a fulltime job - if I choose to engage, read and give honest, genuine comments AND write good quality posts.

For me as a "creator", it seems more and more, that I have to ask myself one big question:

Am I going all in? Or am I retreating from Steemit again?

Either I go pro... Or stay a little sheep.


Thanks for reading and I wonder about your thoughts about this... and how much time do YOU spend on Steemit every day? Does it sometimes become a bit too much?

Sam


Sort:  

My husband would say I spend too much time on Steemit. There is so much to learn, and read, and think about here. Then there is the time and thought spent creating the posts. He says I could get a part-time job and make more than I do here. He is right, of course, but the point is I don't want a part-time job and I like being here.

So then he says, "As long as you're having fun." (sigh)

oh yes "as long as yo're having fun" it's refreshing to hear this. Thanks Donna. I believe to me it's really just about finding a place for steemit in my life now, since it somehow totally surprised me with the depth and opportunities on here....

Well, we are getting paid to have fun...

I'm still working on that balance. To be honest, I never thought of myself as a writer. I love to paint and haven't had the chance and yeah silly me I LOVE to color. It's been a great way for me to learn about shading and lighting.

I feel the same way. My husband says I spend more time on Steemit than I do at work LOL. I love reading the articles, and commenting. I love it even more when I can make someone smile or laugh.

I think that since you've kind of been all over the map. Work on what you love!! It seems you creative side is screaming for attention, show it some love, then you'll have more to share with the rest of us :D

Now for this sandwich (yeah it's going to be a thing for a bit LOL) What kind of sandwich??

hahah, i will make a self-love sandwich for myself hahah... thank you so much for your words. It's very good to hear it from you. And to kinda see that I'm not the only one... (ill eat a sandwich for you too) :) ... You're right my creative side has been a bit distracted... I guess I'm just adapting and trying to find my way here! appreciate it so much @tryskele
talk to you soon! :))
Sam

To be honest, Steemit, no matter how different, is still a Social Media platform. And the rule of thumb that follows all Social Media is time and consistency.

It feels like a full-time job because social media is a full-time job if you wish to gain influence in it. Granted that it becomes easier, the higher you go, but until then, you're going to have to put in extra effort to accelerate the process.

In Steemit, you are the Artist, the Editor, the promoter, and the Public Relations Manager. If you spend your time reading more, you'll be less motivated to write posts with greater quality simply because your patience has worn thin after all the reading. Similarly, making multiple posts in a day will only distribute your creative energy among them, and the quality will suffer.

When you get bigger, quality won't matter all that much, but until then, it is of great consequence, and so is consistency. Your followers will stick around only for what you started out with, and they're more likely to leave if your number of posts drops from four a day to one a day. It is hence, essential to set a limit wherein you don't burn out, and can continue to give quality content every day.

I like to post once a week and sit down every day to read between four to five posts. It's not as much about balance, as it is about pace. Imagine yourself walking on a tightrope with a pole in your hand. Walk at a certain pace, and you will reach the end of the rope. Go too fast, and you will fall.

That is what happens in Steemit as well. If you're a more spontaneous person, I'd recommend that you read posts when you want to, and post only when you get that urge of creativity inside of you. Let the overflow of energy out onto your screen. Apart from that, we are not meant to do repetitive tasks, so there's no other way around it. Personally, I prefer to leave constructive comments only. So, if I don't have the energy to comment, I just leave it at that, and save the page to comment later.

Steemit can be a platform which can provide great entertainment if you're using it as a blogger. At the same time, Steemit can be pretty damn difficult if you're using it as a Social Media Optimizer.

Thank you brother, for this amazing comment! so powerful. The metaphor with the tightrope hit me so well! I will copy paste and save this post of yours. It will serve me as a great reminder!

thank you for taking the time, this is really, really valuable. Perhaps the most helpful comment I've ever received! So thank you for that!!! You're so awesome and I'm not taking it for granted!!
have a good weekend
Sam

Woah. I was super sleepy when I wrote that. I surprise myself a little. But I'm glad I could be of value to you.

haha.. see, your power doesn't even depend on your current energy levels.. :)))

Ahhh my beautiful friend.
Just checking up on you😘🙏🏻
I don’t even know you, but just from reading what you write and how you express yourself, I can already sense your energy, and this kind soul of yours.

I personally dislike social media, as I believe it’s one big show and it created the comparison game.
I only have FB, but only use messenger really. Love to live a peaceful life🌟
Steemit is awesome and very different than Instagram per se.
I met a handful of really awesome people on here and it’s been almost a year now that I’ve started.
I think that there will always be people who are genuine and some who aren’t.
But most of the time, you can sense these things. And as an artist, I’m sure you have a quite awesome 6th sense 😉
It personally really touched me as in the course of a year, some people have seen the changes in my life and my personal evolution as a person, and some kind souls wrote me kind comments and supported me through some of my hard mental health trials that I share on here.
Even though I have not met any of these individuals in real life, it truly made a difference in mine to know that someone out there can relate and offer warm support.

I believe in you and with that bright smile of yours, the best is yet to come 🌟💗🔮

You are so wonderful, you know! I really need to write to you more often, You always comment me smiles on my face :)))

Regarding the 6th sense: i think we all have that 6th sense, we can smell it :D but in some places it just stinks so much, that you kinda get used to it .. haha

Awwww you’re too sweet!
Now you make mine by saying all of these things 🤩🌟😍
It’s the first time I give out my fb undercover account on here (hehe🙊😎) but MK Sab
It is if you want to follow each other’s journeys:)

One love :) xxxx

aww what an honor :)) i'm really not often on fb. but i will find you!!

Sam you are an absolute sweetheart!
I just saw two videos of yours, and the recent book you have published.
I am blown away.
You carry so much wisdom:)🌟
So glad I asked for your FB🙊🙏🏻🔮

😮 already!! aw. and you even saw (a probably 5 year old video of me) :D aww. but anyways! im so glad!! :))

Haha ya I’m a fasty:P
No way haja:P may I ask how old you are?? I’m curious. :)

haha sorry for replying just now.. I'm just getting back online now :)) I'm 25! and soooon...just in a matter of a few then-thousand minutes - 26

I’m new to Steemit and feel it is a full time learning experience for sure. I don’t understand cryptocurrencies, bots, or the upvoting logarithms. I find myself neck deep in this and my mind is certainly being excercised to try and figure out how I fit in.

Yep, same here :)) I actually receied such a beautiful response from someone regarding this: "I don't have to have figured it out by tomorrow."

It gave me such a relief. :)
all the best on your journey of uncovering the hidden secrets of this vast ocean... ;) and thanks for your words - i feel you - i also just jumped... :P

Sam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82