A beginners guide to Steemit - Discussion group recorded yesterday in Bali with @samstonehillsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

thumbnail.jpg

Yesterday I sat with a small group of people here in Bali who needed my assistance & for 2 hours I did my best to cover the basics.

I provide a bunch of information, a few personal tips of my own and some slightly amusing interactions with my friends :)

I recorded it all and edited the film down to what I believe to be the most useful bits.


A problem was quickly established as something which needs a solution asap

It is not as easy to join this site as it should be!

@michaelvagas was unable to join during this session despite following the guidelines. I believe many potential Steemers will be put off by this. There are no other sites I know of where you have to wait in a queue to become a member.

Do you happen to know how the devs are getting on with this @timcliff ?


How is this film useful?

If you are new to Steemit this film is ESSENTIAL viewing.

Even if you are not, you may still find the discussion useful. I have been on Steemit for 8 months and picked up plenty of tricks.

Ultimately this is my job now! Though I will never stop making my beloved time-lapse films of course :)

HDR drone.jpg

Topics covered:

  • creating a new account
  • getting an account without a phone number (https://anon.steem.network)
  • creating your identity - thumbnail, description, location, website...
  • understanding rep number
  • Steem/Steem Power/Steem Dollars explained
  • how the upvote system works
  • why is it important to upvote the work of others?
  • the advantages of autovoting
  • how to set up your steemvoter (https://steemvoter.com)
  • understanding the bigger picture during the rise in steem value - Bittrex Marketplace
  • how and why do we resteem posts?
  • how to use twitter/facebook/linkedin to your advantage
  • understanding the importance of comments
  • how to search for certain subjects
  • how to make a post
  • tips on formatting
  • optimising your tagging
  • the effects of the latest hardfork
  • understanding the NSFW filter
  • how to get followers through post promotion
  • using help sites like Steemit Help
  • when is the best time to place your upvote
  • understanding the different feeds available on Steemit
  • how to find people to follow
  • how to use multi-language posts to your advantage
  • what is esteem?

My Facebook group I refer to can be found here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1281526168558106/

If you wish to join us please be patient with my moderator. There is a fast growing queue for membership and due to our system of introducing only small groups at a time, we will let you in soon as we can :)

ASWD final banner v2 (low).jpg


If you enjoyed this film and found it useful, please let me know and I will consider producing further films of this kind, looking at more specific Steemit related topics.

Blessings to you all!

steemit club.jpg

Sort:  

It's amazing how much more votes people are getting since the hard fork!

I dare you to show much much your vote is worth on this comment... @surfyuogi :) Thanks

DQmXZJPhzGMVX3w4bsk6KnhogzwGLhVTdAu3LxGoF1kxtQP.gif

haha. Good one! :)

Ride the wave :D while it lasts...

Excellent. Much needed and well written. Better than most of the "how to" pablum that gets posted.

Thanks for letting me know that. I had not watched anyone else's films on this subject. I just went with the flow!

With a few beers and a few friends ;) Casual style!

You are one of the best content creators on this site I commend you for standing up to evident you put hours of effort into your work.

Excellent job!

Thank you very much, I appreciate your gratitude :)

YESSSSS Sam! What more can I say?!!? "we people get it people get it"!! THANKs-TO-YOU!!

Thanks bro. Without you I would not have set out on this journey, so in fact... it is thanks to YOU!

"HE STARTED IT!"
[yells to teacher;]

Sounds like you're having trouble understanding your audience. I've noticed a few times where the foreign gentleman asked you a question,then you answered it halfway. Example, in the beginning he askes about auto voter, he asked if you are using an application software or if it is done thru the steemit website. You just said, yes. I Wouldn'tbe surprised if he gave you a strange look.

In truth I was indeed struggling to understand everything that was being asked of me. It is not apparent in the film but there were five guys with me and sometimes they were all talking at the same time. The beers being offered to me probably didn't help much either!

I would like to do more of these films, perhaps with just one person - rather than 5! Do you feel as if Autovoting is a subject I need to cover in more detail?

Terrific work on this!

Thank you very much, my pleasure, I enjoyed it very much. Hopefully you can share this with other newcomers if you feel it will help them :)

Saves us a bunch of time!

All the best to you & many thanks for your generous upvote :)

Who else is trying to give a cool comment in way to take some upvotes :D ?

That does appear to be the latest trend on Steemit. Well spotted. For that you get my upvote at 2%

I prefer to stick at producing quality content...

That was a lot to be introduced to the fresh man!
You did a good job man!

Thanks, I will be producing more of these soon :)

Congratulations! Nice work! Very well done!
I upvoted and resteemed your post to support your work!
Enjoy Steemit! Have a nice day!

Thank you for the resteem and thank you for your gratitude. Have a nice day as well :)

You're welcome! All the best!

I think the queue waiting is because it is still in Beta. Once its out of Beta I would expect faster signup (hopefully).

Its awesome that you are teaching people Steemit. I'm new here and still have a lot of questions. But, love the platform so far!

Thank you for your comment. Glad you are enjoying steemit and I too hope for steemit to advance beyond beta and become it's true form.

Look out for more tutorials on optimising your posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70013.82
ETH 3766.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80