Help! I have stupidly fallen for the Account Security Beach scam and lost control of my @samstonehill account!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2017-10-06 at 05.18.38.png

I was on a visa run to Kuala Lumpur and was very tired. With only a small amount of time to spare before my return flight to Bali I connected to the wifi in a Starbucks whilst I had a coffee to keep myself awake.

Upon seeing the message in my wallet which indicated that my account had been hacked I sent them an email explaining that the 'unusual activity' they mentioned was most likely due to all the donations coming in to my account for the Bali fundraiser for all the evacuees waiting for a volcano to explode!

agung banner.jpg

I also told them it was not good practice to hand out my master key in this manner.

They responded straight away insisting that this needed to be done immediately in order to secure my account.

With only a few minutes left at this point and in fear of losing donation money to hackers, I glanced at the url of their site and it appeared genuine in my tired state. Now of course, I can see clearly it is not!

And like a fool I entered my master password into a page which I believed to be part of steemit.com

Screen Shot 2017-10-06 at 05.13.18.png

By the time I arrived back in Bali 3 hours later the account's password had been changed and I am now locked out.

Thankfully there is nothing for them to take at this moment due to the awesome design of steemit but the next power down is due in six days and this will be around 400 STEEM.

I am feeling very stupid with myself at this moment, especially after telling so many people never to give out their master password to ANYONE!


And my slightly nervous question now is this...

Is there anything I can do to regain control of my account?

It is now 5.30am and I haven been awake for around 30 hours, so don't have much energy left to post promote this.

Sp, please resteem this to make sure everyone learns about it and does not make the same mistake as me... and hopefully I will find the answer to my question!

Thanks in advance for your support.

Sam

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/recover_account_step_1

Go to this link to recover your stolen account.

Thank you! Have begun this process but now kicking myself because I don't seem to have the right email address with which I set up my main account! Am hoping @chron (who was my PA at that time) has this written down. One thing is for sure... this won't happen again!

I've also contacted @andrachy who i understand is the best person to talk to in these situations.

Fingers crossed!

I sure hope that it is possible to recover your account before the first power down.
I'm so sorry that you are going through this.

Whatever comes comes. I am ready ;)

Writing the vaccine post. I think it's gonna be a long one!

I'm very sorry to hear that and thanks for the warning!

Lovely to see your words here! Thanks so much for your support :)

In case you didn't hear, Steemit were amazing in the end and found a way to get me back in.

...and many lessons have been learned :)

So happyyyyyyyy now!!!!!! 🎉

It's all explained in this one if you're interested: https://steemit.com/news/@samstonehill/thank-you-steemit-for-finding-a-way-to-retrieve-my-samstonehill-account-from-hackers-together-we-are-stronger

Man that sux. It's so easy to let your guard down when your tired. I hope account recovery goes well.

All sorted now thanks! Happy days!!!!

Appreciate your support :)

Hope it works out you.
Fyi, Sp shou ld be So

All good now thanks bro. Thanks to Steemit being completely awesome :)

You're welcome

Congratulations @samstonehilltube, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1183 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $359.12. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations @samstonehilltube! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99