Why it is hard to climb on the Steemit ranks, From minnow to whale

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Everyone wants to be one, a whale on Steemit. But as a minnow I found myself questioning if it's still possible to become a whale nowadays. Of course there are a lot of people with a lot of voting power, but most big accounts I see are accounts that make giveaways or contests, not saying there is anything wrong with these types of accounts. But to start doing these things you already need to have a considerable amount of Steem. Of course there are also big accounts who work hard for their followers and content, and I'm not at all saying that they


For these accounts growth is quite easy because they don't have to work hard to produce their content and they grow quite a lot, I can't say I'm not guilty of commenting on these accounts but I feel like it's not how Steemit is supposed to be

I am wondering if it is possible to grow in the Steemit ranks, I think around 70% of the Steemit userbase has less than 1000 Sp and as a minnow I know how hard it is to grow and gain followers by consistently producing quality content if there are near to no rewards. Of course you can use bots to upvote your posts but this does not give the deserved reward I feel like.
Every post I do I might get 1 follower extra for the hour of work I put into the post, and altough I want to succeed and pursui my dream of playing a larger role in this amazing platform it's sometimes hard for me to keep the motivation.

As for Minnows, I see a lot of them with better content than some biggers accounts, yet they don't even get a fraction of what other people get by simply doing giveaways. I think you can compare the Steemit ecosystem a bit to the real world, where the rich only get richer and it's hard for poor people to work their way up the ladders.
These are some of my concerns about Steemit and how people can grow on it

Sort:  

I think, if you keep at it, you will slowly get bigger.... I was at your place a few weeks back.... just keep doing... while becoming a whale may be too hard, it is not necessary as well I think

Thank you, I agree with you that becoming a whale is not necessary, although it is nice to see your position in the steemit comunity improve.

The struggle is real but for me, its what make it interesting. You will never satisfied of being anything. Once you are a dolphin, you want to be a whale, once you are a whale you want to do something else. Our mind keep on finding something that felt rewarding than the experience before. The key is, just be consistent. That's why it is important to write something you are passionate about. We can't control the past and the future, but what we do right now matters. Don't get upset with the result, try to analyse your progress and someday, even not being a whale, you will get much attention that you needed.

This is true, humans have a tendency to always want more, they can never appreciate what they have and will always be looking to get something new or better.

Very interesting post, depending on the reason why someone be part of the community. If it for the position then they will always try to do whatever it needs to get higher. That human nature. Very good ilustratio comparing the real word life in the poor and the reaches, but should sometimes stick to the philosophy of just be your self and enjoy. I happen to read a very wise word from important people of this platform, I couldn't remember when and who. It just suggest enjoy being community member of the platform, keep contributing, the reward is just a bonus, something like that. For me it's very good advice. Should we dream big? Yes, we should everyone of us, as it will motivate us toward the dream. But balance the spirit, so we not get loss in this ocean of dreaming big, sticking to that philosophy and advice is a mush. Keep hight spirit do what you are best at, enjoy it and it will take you to your dreams.

I could not agree with your comment more, I think you should join steemit because of the amazing community, not necessarily for the money. The fun alone you get out of steemit should be reward enough.

Congratulations @satanclaus123! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90