You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What i learned as a minnow!

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks for posting, its a good read. However my opinion of what steemit is and how it measures up against other social networks is different. I see steemit as a long term investment plan, I know most people on here are just looking to make a quick buck but I really don't think this will last long.

I personally get really bored of being bombarded with useless information constantly, the marketing around other social networks which pay the curators is just too much for me, if I want to buy something I'll search for it and I'll find it without the help of aggressive marketing tactics, steemit is completely free of this, and mostly it's a social network built around perspective, yes you can see perspective on youtube, facebook, twitter etc... but these are networks based purely on current trends, and there is no incentive to be kind to one another.

So back to topic, my "system" is, I'll look for interesting content, and when I find something interesting I'll look at the author, I'll then go through all his/her previous posts and look if the subjects that are covered are also something that might interest me, I'll take as long as I need to and I'll read previous blog posts, if I'm happy with the trend of posts I follow, that way cultivating my home feed into something I can trust to always provide me with new and interesting reading material.

So yes, you may not be making profits from old blogs, but there are people still reading (I doubt I'm the only one) as long as the content is good. You will pick up good followers and more likely to pick up votes in the future.

Remember this is still in Beta, we dont know what changes will come in future and I can assure you that all the other social networks (where I've been a consistent early adopter) did not start off as lucrative as they are now and it's taken many years to get there.

Sort:  

Thanks for the compliment. I believe you have a very good approach taken on steemit. Especially when you mentioned that you focus a lot on your homefeed and the authors you follow really do provide you with value. Actually i believe thats the best advice to give someone who is just here for entertainment purposes, by this i mean to enjoy steemit as a social media platform , not an alternative type of generating income. Can not add a lot to it. Steemit is in development, yes. Im very interested to see the route it will take.

What with posting three times a day, manually accepting rewards, what's all that about? As if I'm going to refuse. And holding down a full-time job I don't have time for more than a cursory glance at users who follow me to evaluate their value. Full marks to you for your rigorous vetting. :-)

What with posting three times a day, manually accepting rewards, what's all that about?

are you referring to the recommendation from OP?

I don't have time for more than a cursory glance at users who follow me to evaluate their value.

I'm not sure anybody does, it's not the users who follow you that cultivate your home feed, it's the users you decide to follow, and if I plan on making sure that this social network doesn't turn into another network where my personal feed is filled with trash content and screamer links then I'll definitely take the time to do some vetting before following anyone, I'd even bookmark profiles to review later sometimes, ultimately I'll one day be following 100's of interesting people and it's going to be more of an issue to do a proper cleanup, so long term investment :)

OP?

I'm referring to /Wallet/Accept Rewards

So I mostly follow up on people who follow me. I do scan through the "New" "Hot" "Trending" and "Promoted" and follow the odd one or two from there.

TBH if I like their post and maybe A-another of theirs I'll follow them. I can always unfollow if I get bored. :-)

OP?

internet term meaning Original Poster (in this case author of this article)

I'm referring to /Wallet/Accept Rewards

I get that now, yeah, I'm not really sure why that mechanic is there in the first place? why would you need to claim your rewards each day? and whats the benefit of not claiming your reward? its just a strange concept but there might be reason behind it.

So I mostly follow up on people who follow me. I do scan through the "New" "Hot" "Trending" and "Promoted" and follow the odd one or two from there.

I guess everyone has their own system, what would be great is if there was another feed dedicated just to the content your followers are posting, you could treat your home feed as the mature feed and the follower feed as the talent search. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69273.41
ETH 3681.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20