RE: "How Much Value Have You Brought to the Table? What’s Your STEEM Effort?"

in #steemit6 years ago

Have you ever wondered what my least favorite type of Steemian is?

Yeah, I kinda figured I wouldn't be important enough for anyone to waste energy pondering on that, but I thought I'd tell you anyway.

My least favorite type of Steemian is the type who thinks value is being added to the blockchain by "blog posts".

Mind you, this is excluding people like developers and coders who actually produce something concrete.

I'm only talking about us regular Joes. The bloggers. Artists. Photographers. Whatever.

I came across this post by user @fknmayhem, and my first instinct was to give a clear one-sentence response to the question in the title that asks: "How much value have you brought to the table?"

That answer being none at all.

And it's true.

But it goes for all of us, really.

Excluding the developers and whatnots, none of us have created any value whatsoever.

The price of STEEM has lived its life completely unaffected by our blog posts since its inception - and by all accounts will continue to do so. Hell, the price of STEEM is dependent on the value of Bitcoin - NOT the blog posts on Steemit.

And don't misunderstand: I'm not saying everything on Steemit is bad somehow, and I'm better or whatever. Heck, I put my own stuff right in there with the rest of the stuff posted here. Like I said, in terms of value, I've generated jack shit.

I could quit Steemit tomorrow and it would have no impact on anything. Anything at all.

As a matter of fact, I could commit suicide right this moment and the world wouldn't be affected one iota. That's how insignificant I am, but that's another story.

Just wanted to underscore the lack of ego here.

I'm just expressing my severe dislike of those who feel that their blogging contributions on Steemit are somehow irreplaceable. Or that they are such awesome and talented social media personalities that their level of success on Steemit is somehow earned, making their content valuable.

It can be fiction, drawing, painting, gaming videos... it can be taking naked pictures since your severe lack of intellect or talent makes it the only contribution you're capable of... it can be anything, really.

But it's all equally pointless, let's be honest.

I mean in an objective way.

Subjectively, we can enjoy whatever the fuck we want to enjoy. And that's cool.

But it's jarring to read people's rant-o-ramas from atop of the highest cloud that their ego has lifted them to, claiming they're an irreplaceable part of the Steemit community.

You probably aren't.

And whatever you're doing, can probably be done a lot better by someone else. That someone else may actually be doing what you're doing, but in the real world, making real world, adult money.

Let's remember: it's a lot tougher to get people to pay for your work out of pocket, as opposed to getting them to click on an upvote icon in order to allocate other people's money to you out of a pool.

I have no problem, at all, being the first to stand up and admit this:

Nothing I have ever posted on Steemit would have earned me dime one outside of Steemit.

And that's not some weird form of self-pity, or anything. It's just realism. And I think it's okay to embrace that. It's okay to let go of silly ego that makes us feel more important than we really are.

Also, before someone jumps in and says: "You're being too hard on yourself, @schattenjaeger! Your content is worth something, it's really good!" I say prove it.

Here is my PayPal.

Send me money (whatever amount) and I'll finish the next Black chapter.

Support a literally starving artist. Seriously, I haven't eaten regularly in weeks now.

But you won't. Because real monetary value is entirely different than something being worth an upvote on Steemit.

And again: this isn't me complaining. Or being negative. Or anything. Just don't think you're irreplaceable because you probably aren't. I sure as hell know I'm not.

The lesson here is that knowing to check your ego at the door means this all becomes way less painful.

I accidentally said something smart the other day, and I want to repeat. I replied to a comment about whale votes in @whatsup's post, and said something to the effect of "We all hope for whale votes, and it's natural. But hoping is different from expecting. The former is human, but the latter leads to bitterness."

If you think you're hot shit, and fail to get the support you feel you should be getting, you'll become bitter and whiny. And, ultimately, unlikeable.

Take it from me.

However, like I said, I also find the actually successful Steemians who think they are adding some sort of magical value to the blockchain by dribbling something in their blog, or posting naked pictures, to be laughable.

And if someone gets offended by that, well.

Maybe you should check your ego at the door.

Sort:  

Let's remember: it's a lot tougher to get people to pay for your work out of pocket, as opposed to getting them to click on an upvote icon in order to allocate other people's money to you out of a pool.

This is the crux really.

Efforts like Flattr and Tipper never survived. Or put anybody (much) food on the table.

Patreon only works for those who already are at least D-lister or sites with a community as large as TouchArcade already.

People really need to understand that Ev Williams (Founder of Blogger, now Medium) never managed to turn a profit. That even not with currently much higher quality than the best here on Steem. Or with almost as much VC funding as the current STEEM marketcap.

PS: hope is for adolescents and young adults who wish to get laid on the weekend.

Maybe I’m one of the minority, but the only reason I came to Steemit was to start a blog and have some fun doing so while earning a few bucks along the way. . I contemplated traditional blogs. . Wordpress, buy a domain, etc but then I stumbled upon Steemit and got sucked in. . I also found a nice poker community @spl where I have fun and have interacted with some cool people along the way. . . In terms of “value” I think traditional social media applications have conned us into thinking our time, interactions, comments, posts etc have no value, when in fact a mass amount of people getting together to utilize a single platform collectively has tremendous value. . . I.E. Many of the more popular social sites have collective value based on the numbers of daily/weekly users. . . Does that mean any particular users content is valuable? Probably not. . But I do think value lies in a mass user base logging in to a site and using the UI. . I guess we could really go down a rabbit hole if we start talking about “value” as well. In a nutshell, I guess I would have to say a persons value could be determined by their total input into the social network. How much do the post? How many comments do they make that are “social”? Etc. . Who knows. . I’m just here to have a good time with you knuckleheads. 😀

But this potential value from large masses of people is pretty much only realized/monetized through...

You got it!

ADVERTISING!

We don’t have that. So, the “market value” of a content website like Steemit or the other Steem interfaces is actually very close to $0.00. Without advertisers and returns for investors with real revenue models, there really isn’t any “value” being created on Steemit by bloggers.

It’s too bad that everyone thinks whimsically creating magic digital tokens will be enough to sustain their shitposting careers on this platform for the rest of time.

So does that mean you have the opinion that the market value of all crypto is close to zero? Curious what your thoughts are. .
IMO, we are seeing a paradigm shift in how we value things and what we place value in. I understand where you are coming from with the advertising response, however is it not plausible to think that if there was mass use of an application built upon the Steem blockchain then it would draw those looking to advertise. I.E. Corporations buying Steem to have more influence within the framework of the network. Just a thought I had. .

Most of those who talk about how much value they are adding.... I'm thinking okay, in terms of engagement and traffic maybe, but in terms of a library of Literature. It's ridiculous.

You know what I say about Content. It has nearly 0 value without ad revenue. No one pulls a dollar out of their pocket to read a blog!

There isn't any business models on Quality Content. let people engage and create traffic.

Where people gather, an economy develops.

Now, of course.

People who want that next Black chapter do have an opportunity here to prove me wrong. I mean, I'm just sayin'.

The crypto market's bad, and Finland has new violent tax laws on whatever crypto withdrawals are made. And losses aren't deductible.

So I'm just sayin'. If you want to prove @whatsup wrong, y'know.

Kinda ironic to upvote this but I did it anyway. I've been in a dilemma lately cause I want to reward people but I can't with my upvote since it's so low. So I'm using Tipu... I'll use it now.

No one ever, ever , knows..

(or if you do have crystal ball, can you tell me when steem is going to hit $100, please!lol)

Untitled.png

Sturgeon's law.

I get it that this is your opinion but please tell me how you can define what "value" means to me or any of the other users on Steemit or any social media platform for that reason. I have discovered many blogs on steemit that have added what I deem as value to my life.

This is not an opinion only. Those are actual realities spoken.

Would you send those people a tip or a bidbot upvote rather than just an upvote? Have you actually done such and spent some of your philanthropic STEEM earnings. I’m even not yet talking about a Paypal donation, no just those token you earned for and from nothing.

I can't. That's actually the whole point. Value being subjective means one can't make a claim that something a person posts is objectively "valuable" to the blockchain.

Stuff can be valuable on a subjective, personal level, of course.

But some people seem to live in a fantasy where their stuff is objectively valuable.

value here is what you upvote...if have enough SP to generate a steem payout, then you decide what the value is.

Mostly i agree, but I have learned some things from some post or other so for me I think I have found at least some value in what others post, even from yours.

Oh, absolutely. Personal value can be found in anything. I'd say even something as simple as a funny post is very valuable to me, personally.

I'm just saying that we shouldn't expect our stuff to have intrinsic, objective value. "For the blockchain".

Wrote a comment but in the end, I used a wrong persons name in here as it is 5am in here so decided to turn it into this.

Good job.

I don't know how much value I bring to the table - I don't think I really care. I know that STEEMIT has never banned me ... that's a significant improvement over Twitter, or Facebook, or pretty much everything else.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63240.82
ETH 3048.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80