Downvote/Flag the Shit so Steemit Isn't a Cesspool

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit grows worse and worse every day. As the value of SBD and STEEM increases so does the number of people looking to cash in on the value. This has led to many users spamming the feeds with unoriginal content, random photos from image searches and links to articles.

I propose to start a list of people to team up against chronic offenders. If you want in, I will start a list. If you have a suggestion for a chronic spammer, please tag them so we can look into them.

I present you Exhibit A

@labony

This person was brought to my attention a couple weeks ago when an article was posted by @pawsdog regarding this same issue. If you look at his content it is clear that he posts little to no original content at all. No link is off limits to him. He was even posting links to Honda Sales Events and articles in Cyrillic.

I hope this helps clean up steemit. I am open to ideas and suggestions. Let's get this started.

Current team members:

@pawsdog
@fuzzmaster
@josephmcconnell
@evileddy
@sequentialvibe
@kenentertainment

Sort:  

You know, sometimes I have this feeling, that this is all a big social experiment, where they want to test what happens, when you give social power a monetary value.

It is clearly an experiment. It works... to an extent and if we use the tools available.

Aliens testing out social blockchains.. definitely.

Better than anal probes...

whispers Anything's an anal probe if you are brave enough.

The Steemit blockchain will be analyzed by quantum computing AI.

Sounds legit!^^

Good idea!

I came to learn, share information and be entertained!

Will this become a tool for "witch hunting" is my only trepidation.

No, it is just meant to flag spammers. You should look at my other posts with links to the types of people I am referring to. I'm looking for more people to be more effective. If we make it unprofitable to be a spammer and plagiarizer then it will reduce the overall number of them. We are just trying to take a tiny bite out of the huge problem.

Would you care to join?

I would.. sign me up please, thanks for doing this!

You are added. Thank you.

yerr theres some shit floating around .needs a overhaul if its gonna have a chance

Join, I'll add you to the list. All it means is I tag you in the posts.

Great idea. Put @ranjeetfromindia on the list, all he does is say "fuck you" and "cocksucker" for no reason!

I'm going to look at him now. You want to join?

I do agree, as I have one on my feed that is posting someone's else's picture's then recopies same post and re-post same picture.. that pissed me off as I was voting them into I found out it was not his pictures. But saying that I am not big my self on writing much, but love showing the world the beautiful flowers I grow and the photo's are mine. so I am not sure if I full in this group of people as I don't really blog.

Yeah, you absolutely fall in. all content creators do. They steal and profit at our expense. They flood the feeds so good art, photos and stories go unnoticed. If you want to be added to the list, I would be more than happy to add you in.

Ok, so what you are saying that my blog/ post's are not worth sharing. You need not add me I think I will just not use steemit to post I will just hold my steem coin's. Thank you for being truthful thou.

I don't think you are understanding what I am referring to. The spammers literally cut and paste what you create or what someone else creates and calls it their own. Rather than resteeming, they monetize your work. Or, they will post nothing more tham direct links to random aritcles amd web pages and copy word for word the article and collect on it as if it were their own.

I am so sorry, yes i misunderstood. Thank you for clearing that up. I am more then happy for you to do that then. I do really enjoy Steemit so I am glad that you did not mean what I had thought. Thank you again.

100% agree. And on top of that you have people producing decent content making almost nothing

Saw an article last week that was just a transcript of a podcast and 0 credit was given

Dude, go look at @johurulbot! Also, do you want me to add you to the vigilante list?

Wow. Just wow. I went and looked at the page and found your post copied with labony switched out for your name. That's more than just spam. That's plagiarism at the very least, with malicious intent thrown on top of it.

I like your idea. I'm surprised there isn't already such a group, given original content is part of Steemit's charter so to speak. I'd be willing to participate after I've been around awhile. Need to get my bearings first and make sure I can keep up with what I need to do before taking on any other responsibilities. I'm following you to keep up with where this goes and I'm resteeming this post.

Basically, my idea is that I will just tag members of the crew to draw attention to an obvious target. People can point out potential offenders for review. You don't have to commit to anything, you just get tagged if you would like.

Join Me! Together we can steem clean.

It has been done.

I don't agree ;).
Let me explain... Of course I don't like the spam and the random messages.
And it's problematic when spammers pop up.

I do think being rewarded for good content is a very good idea.
I also hope this steem idea will grow in different directions.

On the other hand: this is a 'sign' that we're not there yet. The rewarding system might need adjustments.
What if steemit has 5 million users? Or 50? And don't we all hope that one day we are owner of our content and we use a steem based platform instead of a centralized platform that is owner of all 'our' data.
At that point there's no way of controlling this anymore 'by hand'.
New interfaces are needed. Groups with moderators? And personal connections / tags you follow?

I do support your good intentions. It makes sense to try to clean up the system. And if you succeed, I'll be more than thankful.

And how far does this stretch? What if I have a personal opinion that others don't like... will I be blacklisted then too? For sake of a 'clean' steemit?

(I realise you can't create the perfect platform over night. So your initiative might be a necessary action. I do hope you won't loose too much energy in the process. I do hope you have enough energy left for positive, personal and creative content)

I don't think that you understand the totality of the problem and I think you are making assumptions about what this group is. This is about spammers and plagiarizers. Have a look at the people I have listed as chronic offenders. This problem has done nothing but get worse because the majority of users don't want to flag. Your vote determines the subjective quality of Steemit. As another note, the more Steem and SBD you remove from circulation the higher the value it has. You do whatever you want. I'm saying this is about getting rid of spammers, not going after people I don't agree with.

Hm.. I thought I only stated that it will be impossible to keep on doing this when steemit keeps on growing. I recognise the problem.
And about the 'other opinions', that was a general remark, not aimed at this group or this specific action...

For sure, this is an impossible task. But it is worth a shot.

Fantastic idea!

I have no problem with posts that have a small amount of material that is republished or ads value to a referenced work, but this example it very unfair and devalues Steemit. Please sign me up!

Okay, I will add you in. Thank you very much.

I agree with you but this is such a bummer because Steemit is supposed to be a fun place with cool, original content. I find myself wanting to flag spam posts sometimes but then I just move to the next article because I'd rather focus on the good stuff than root out the bad stuff. Just my opinion. The price of Steem will eventually drop if more spammers emerge and nothing is done about it. So, you're right. Something's gotta be done.

Gotta be the change we want to see. We have the power to vote and if it isn't profitable for the spammers, then they will lose interest. Do you want to join?

Sure. I'm in.

Okay, I added you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78