Technology Innovation Memories @senseicat

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In elementary school, I remember going to the library with my fellow classmates and the teacher introducing the first computer stating enthusiastically, how this machine will become integral to our learning from this day forward. It was an odd shaped beige machine and the screen was black. It was DOS based and we had to learn remedial programming in order to operate it. It was interesting to learn a few basic steps on how to tell the machine to perform very basic things like PRINT.

Years later, I remember Bill Gates mission in having every single household own a personal computer (PC). Articles would describe this as a wave of the future. Steve Jobs innovation with Apple and the sexy sleek designs on a MAC now is considered one the best indicators of whether a person is RICH amongst their peers due to the high dollar tag.

tv.jpg

Let me share some perspective by stating that my favorite childhood show was Little House On the Prairie. I would watch it every afternoon after walking home from school. Back in the day, there was very little homework so most afternoons and evening were free to relax and spend time with friends. I remember one Christmas when my dad wrapped up a new Trinitron color television set. We opened the box as a family and were surprised as the unexpected invention. Eventually, the remote was also introduced, otherwise, someone would get up to change the channel manually.

I also remember when dad brought home another box during the holidays. It opened and closed and had many buttons on the outside. No one could guess what it was or what it did! He finally explained that it was a microwave and that it cooks food quickly. As a kid, this made no sense at all, but it did not take long to figure out that it heated a frozen meal significantly faster than the oven, plus we were allowed to use it, though it distinctly tasted different than freshly prepared food.

rotary dial phone.png

Rotary dial and pay phones were the standard and I remember the first time when I saw the first car phone. It was huge and clunky and I immediately thought that the person was extremely important to need to be reached while driving in a car. Normally, I would walk to ride my bike to see if my friend would like to play. It was pretty rare to use the rotary phone. I would be allowed to call my dad in the evenings to ask when he would be coming home for dinner and I enjoyed that extra bit of responsibility. When I became a teenager and after returning home from camp, my parents yelled upstairs that someone called me LONG DISTANCE. I had no clue who would call me in that manner and I ran out of the shower in a towel to take the call knowing that we were being charged per minute. It turned out to be one of my new camp friends. No one else called long distance except for our Nana who lived in Florida!

In years to come, how will Steemit and blockchain technology be remembered?

What are some of your favorite memories of technological innovation?

Sort:  

Innovation never ends.

It also left memories for people.
91AEBC0B-D923-4E04-9800-B3A0FCACD6CB.jpeg

This is how modern technology has evolved.In our childhood mobile phone was a status symbol or a luxurious gadget now it becomes just a basic need

I definitely agree that the latest cell phones are luxury items that have been marketed at essential needs.

Yes and I don't understand Is it carrying our lifestyle forward or backward??

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97