Posting is a lot of work - feeling the grind about creating posts.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)



source

As I sat here tonight thinking about what to post - it hit me just how daunting making a post can be some days

How long does it take you to create a post?

There are so many factors they can play into this it's kind of hard but even for the shorter posts where I have an idea what to say it takes me way too long to get the post-up.

First, you have to find a topic! Then you have to research the topic. After typing out all of your thoughts, you need to find some pictures. Hopefully source like pixabay has some free pics free to use otherwise you're playing roulette to see if you can find a picture that you that has free digital rights assigned to it.

Add more flair you say?

Some of my recent posts I've been taking short videos and converting them to a gif to add a little bit more uniqueness. Most of these posts are about silver or coins and there is some benefit to seeing them in different light angles. It takes time to convert to a gif and get it loaded to your post

More formatting, Formats everywhere

You need headers, italic bold,etc to make your point to your readers, make your post post worth of an upvote. At least that's what I tell my self.

Then you load your pictures. Unfortunately, half the pictures load sideways, really - can we fix that yet. Time to edit half your photos you took. After editing have your pictures and reloading them correctly then they all show up on the left.

Time to go and center all your pictures because otherwise they all show up left justified. This just looks awkward when they are all different sizes.

Post...Now....(wait for it) Now.....(wait for it)....Now!! (Wait for it)....

Great now my post has been written pictures of loaded edited Reloaded. I've added to give I've had a headers I presented the photos everything looks great.

Now the only thing that's left is to add to page breaks for spacing, and image separators plus anything you want for a signature line.

Time?

I don't know how to make anything other than a complete and utter crap post in less than 30 minutes to an hour.

Sometimes that is just way too much effort in one day so as I sat here tonight thinking about what to post I decided to post about posting

Stack on!!
~Senstless~



Consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)!

Sort:  

so as I sat here tonight thinking about what to post I decided about that I decided to post about posting

My brain is in a knot after thinking in circles about circles of thinking... 🤔😂

I dig the gifs, they add something. As for how long it takes to post, I take anywhere from three minutes to a week. Actifit posts are fast and steepshot posts are fast too. My last long steem post took me a few days to write up, and I didn't even have any of my own pictures in it.

Yup - I am dancing that game right now trying no to use Dapps as I hammer my post value up. If that changes, I can always go back to using them a bit more.

I like the convenience of being able to squeeze in a quick post just to make sure I'm posting daily.

Although after you pointed out that steepshot gets a cut of my payout, I've used them less.

I can Steemit part time, one big post and a smaller one a week, just can't find enough hours in the day resorting to give up on sleep hours at times. Life is busy enough. Sometimes I make sizable large comments.

A couple of posts a week isn't too bad. Its that daily post grind that got to me a bit.

I skip posted yesterday! Lol and so far nada today. The struggle is real.

@dfinney I am just Grateful to be able to Up Vote people that I like and have also been very Gracious to Me.

I hear ya, while I like using Steem auto to vote on posts, lately I have done a crap job of commenting on others posts. Time is just too limited

Can't miss a day right now - Need to keep grinding hard...

It definitely can take a lot of work to get a good post out, especially if you're adding media like video to the post. Coming up with the ideas is hard enough. That's one of the reasons I like to get various coin designs, because then I have immediate ideas for posts. However, those normally cost a little more money. So yes, I normally pay around $17 just for each post idea! Ha ha.

Keep at it. Sometimes you get the writer's block, but other times the ideas just flow. We're rooting for you!

Not just writters block, but feeling like I can't write a complete piece in the time I have, or take the photos and research the coins enough to think it has enough value.

I'm sorry. That happens. Just do what you can with the time you have and don't worry about the rest. If you post, you post. If you don't, well you can still have fun commenting and browsing the shiny that gets posted. It's still nice to have you around.

Hi @senstless!
It takes a lot of work before publishing the post. When we read a post, it is like a finished product. A writer has to put a lot of effort and time behind the scenes. Thank you for sharing this and expressing everything in an amazing way!

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 38th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Holy crap thank you all - that was amazing upvote and a few new faces on my posts!!!!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

I agree. I just put together my first post, but it's 2am here and I worked all night, so I didn't get to make it as long as I would've preferred as i'm sleepy and need to go to bed. Sleep, or write?

Welcome to Steemit - I would upvote your comment ,but it would be lost to dust anyways. I will check out your post!! You are right, it is always sleep vs content creation

I have not this problem, yet.
I write a daily article about my coin collection, so I have no problems finding a theme for my posts.
I spend time photographing the coins because I take dozens of photos of dozens of coins each time.
Now I simply write the articles, consulting my numismatic library and the internet. I write at least five articles in a row.
I will have this problem when I have no more coins to show, but maybe I will start posting old posts, because people forget what they read...

I wish I was more efficient with my time. Get up, get ready for work, get the kids ready, fed and make lunches, drop off at school and the go to work. Come home make dinner and put the kids to bed, I crash and fall asleep too!!

That is why I don't post, I only comment. I am lazy and I don't like to think about themes for different posts.

I hear you - half the times I wonder who wants to read this crap, and who cares about what I think?!?!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by senstless from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95