You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some thoughts about phishing on steemit, my fathers account being compromised and wanting to bring more attention to the issue.

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey this is a bit off topic, but is there a problem with bots on steemit now? I haven't been on for a year, but I literally hopped on like 30 minutes ago and have since gained 100+ followers. It's kind of weird. I kept refreshing the page and I got extra followers, although it has stopped now.

Sort:  

Hey shamic! Long time no see. Hope you've been doing well!
And yeah.. I think there's almost always been a problem with bots, depending on how you look at it of course.. Some people love the bots, some hate them.. I'm a bit somewhere in the middle and more neutral.

Yeah I'm doing fine, haven't been on steemit for ages though lol. I mean I don't understand much about them, but if there is a tonne of upvote bots around won't that kind of devalue steem?

It could devalue steem or it could add more value, I don't really know. I liken them to billboards people put up on the street or advertising, it's very similar to the advertising Facebook or YouTube allow, except.. Non centralized and from individual people instead of a mega corporation.. So.. You know.. I don't really know.. As I mentioned my opinion on them is sort of neutral.. I'm not totally sure what to think. I don't use them myself, but.. I try to stay open minded. Glad to hear you've been doing well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66