What it feels like trying to make it on steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

I remember my first unsupervised experience at the 'carnival' (or "fair" as we called them) like it was last month. My friend, who was a good friend but only 'best' friend for a short time were the tag team. I came with the money, he came with the desire to play every game we came across. We kept losing. At the end of the day I couldn't believe how much we spent. We spent a whole $16. SIXTEEN DOLLARS! That was a lot of money to me at a young teen age. Maybe it was more? Maybe it was like $22 at age 12, I do not know. I remember we found a 'prize' like a glass framed picture under the bleachers and it didn't really pique my interest simply because it was not something we personally won. I think it was a picture of a scantily clad woman, which I was not even interested in at the time anyway.

Luck AND Skill

Carnival games require some skill to win, but I think above that its just random luck. They HAVE to have the odds against you to a major extent to have the results be so consistent. If the games were mostly based on skill you'd have people with the best hand-eye coordination flocking to the games and winning the stuffing out of them. That's what I'm starting to feel like Steemit is to me right now. I haven't figured the right niche titling to hit the audience.

Is it rigged?

Could Steemit be rigged by the whales? Or by bots?

Sure. But that's not reason to whine and complain. Steemit is not designed to be fair, but it's probably way more fair than 99% of the internet! It is a revolutionary idea to pay people for writing via community derived merit value out of a pool of funds. Maybe I'm not using all of my talent? Maybe I'm not meant to be a writer?

I am trying to build a charity brand

Steemit helps people get recognized and rewarded for their writing. Sharing Society is helping people help their fellow community members who need it, and will try to motivate people to help themselves. We're really at a point where even WE don't know what we're supposed to be in the grand scheme of the world. This is just the beginning. The passion exists, the innovation exists and the volunteers are pouring in, they're just needing a bit of guidance. Please wish us luck and we'll try to keep the faith and charity going!

Sort:  

I have to agree that this is similar to other social media type sites like reddit and those are full of pointless stuff. You can make it here as a blogger. Work hard and you will shine thru the ads and junky blogs and follow the ones you enjoy. Thanks @sharingsociety that carnival game is darn hard too ;)

Don't give up on steemit.. promote and share with your core outside of steemit.. bring them in, and build your circle up inside of steemit... once you have your core group co-ordinating their efforts on steem.. the activity will speak for itself..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.90
ETH 3783.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54