My Absence: The Fight

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey there, everybody.

I know, I know: it's been a while. Here's a picture of those beta fighting fish as an apology for my month-long absence.

IMG_3727.JPG

Aren't they pretty?

These fish will fight each other to the death, but they are extravagantly beautiful.

In many ways it's an analogy for life.

So yeah, things have been tough lately. Lots of things that simply take up my time Andrea attention and prevent me from posting on Steemit as much as I'd like.

1. Baby

Some of you know me personally and probably know about the difficult pregnancy my wife has been going through.

About 6 months ago my wife found out she was pregnant. We weren't sure if that was even possible because we haven't not been trying to have a baby for years.

So we were excited.

Then, there were complications.

Serious complications.

Something happened - maybe I'll get into it some day - but we thought we were going to lose this baby, who we considered a miracle.

But, in another miraculous turn of events, the baby managed to hold on and we are expecting her within on each or two months.

2. Work

Again, if you're one of those who know me personally, you know that I recently dove head-first into a new career: web development.

This has felt like a solid 9 months of intense learning. Every week I am challenged to figure out and make a workable product using some technology or feature I've never even heard of.

It's been a lot of stress, but the experience has been invaluable.

3. New Game

A few years ago I made a mobile game called Blobfish Evolution, which was a fantastic success considering it was the first commercial product by two new game developers.

Ever since then my partner and I have had several false starts at other game projects, ranging from mobile to PC to console.

They are great ideas, but something always came up and the projects ended up getting shelved.

Well, recently my partner came to me about making assets for a game which he essentially has programmed already.

It's a fun project, like a combination between Pokémon and the card game Uno. I'll update y'all as I have things that are appropriate to show.

So, how're you doing?

I've missed Steemit.

I think about it often, and I think of you all often as well.

I can't say I'll be able to update as often as I had been before, but I'd like to keep up a presence, at leas to some degree.

So, what's up?

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

But, in another miraculous turn of events, the baby managed to hold on and we are expecting her within on each or two months.

Thank you Jesus!

Yes, Hallelujah!

Happy to see you back... Happier the little "Concern" is over. Wishing you an abundant summer sir, and a save arrival of your miracle... You deserve it. Thank you and SteemON Bruv!

NewJerusalem.jpg

Thanks, man. You've always been my guy!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @shayne Betta fish, a beautiful specie.

The Betta fish, Siamese fighting fish, or betta as it’s known by its genus, is an elegant tropical freshwater fish that is popular as a pet and often housed in eclectic home aquariums. In the wild, native to areas like Cambodia and Thailand, the betta inhabits rice paddies and still watered canals.

The ones you see in pet stores are quite different too in both color and size, with wild betta fish having much smaller fins and being predominantly colored in a dull green or brown appearance.They’re a wonderful first pet to teach children the responsibility of caring for something, and are inexpensive to purchase and maintain.

Males and females look drastically different from each other, with males exhibiting the longer beautiful flowing fins. Females are much smaller in size and fin length. With proper care bettas can live anywhere from 2 to 4 years, with some owners having noted lifespans that extended into their teens.

Have a wonderful night
A hug

Hey shayne. Glad to hear about the baby as it must have been very stressful time for both of you.

The experience of thinking she would die was the worst thing in my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94