Steem/steemit experiment part 1.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

money-1910761__340.png


Curation rewards or?


So here I sit with exactly 4376sp. Now before I tried this experiment, I was noting down on paper my curation rewards (daily) after voting for people from 100 down to my 90% threshold. The returns were minuscule, and hardly going to grow my account. I noted I was getting for a 7 cent upvote, for anyone else, a tiny return of 0.0 (not a lot at the end of them noughts) return. say 0.04 and such like.

So I took the decision to delegate 4000 sp to smartsteem via here https://smartsteem.com/dashboard/.

In under 1 month, the returns have been to date 34.579 steem & 2.847 SBD.

The downside to this much improved growth, is the lesser ability to upvote those people around me, that I support!. (my vote value now 1 cent at 75 - 100% @ 371sp)

So it would seem to be a choice then, 1. be selfish and enjoy much improved returns, 2. or cancel the delegation, miss out on 5 days curation, and carry on as before.

I have not yet finished the 31 days experiment, so will decide at the end of those days.

I now fully understand, why so many people with a large stake, decide to delegate that stake, they own, to bidbots.
Without doing this experiment, I had no basis to justify or criticize their actions. Though as it is "their" stake, I feel I hardly have the right to criticize them anyway. Community spirit I hear you scream? Maybe some of them do not have time to log in and upvote people 10 times or more a day, I say.

The returns are variable, and dependent on people using the @smartsteem - @smartmarket system, though seem to average approx 1.8 steem per day, plus some loose change in SBD. Like I said, this is a massive improvement on manual curation.

So there you have it, my experiment and why. I can not comment on something I have not tried, now I have tried it, now I have facts, not just fiction.

@Shepz1 is wishing you a superb Sunday, and is off to cook the food for my ladies, safe in the knowledge that I have almost completed my Yamaha rd 350 ypvs today. :-)

Sort:  

Hi shepz. Wouldn't it be more profitable just to set the auto vote on people you know already as you should make a bigger return and kind of know what you are voting on as well. 1000 SP should give you 4 SP per week so you have 4300 odd so call it 16 SP per week which is 64 SP after 4 weeks. You would still be able to do some manual curating as well by doing this. Good to see you experimenting though and working out what is the most profitable for you.

I shall try that after the 31 days, great idea, cheers, then we can compare the 2, and have a 100% conclusion on which is better, nice idea, thank you.

Since I went to steem auto I have grown my curation by about 40 percent and average between 3.8 and 4 SP per 1000 SP now. Will be good to see the results and have a good idea which one will win.

Indeed it will. :-)

Change of subject. I see that post you raised with those guys with the shipping contract who owned no ships blew up and they pulled out. In the news two days ago about Euro tunnel getting a pay out and it was mentioned.

It went viral, so people do read steemit. :-) Even seen it in the news around the world, a few days after I wrote it. People power bro.

Hmm. Thats extremely high. Could you tell me your setup? We have comparable active SP and you earn almost 3 times what i do on curation.

You have to look at each account you vote on differently. Play around with voting times and you will see a difference. I normally vote on 12-13 minutes and in some cases earlier. For this you need to use Steem auto on the accounts you vote on. I could do a hell of a lot more if I went targeting votes. If you want I will have a look at yours tonight and see what can be tweaked.

I use steem auto and set it at min 15. The posts i vote generally get from $3-$13 so there is some meat to be had there. I never really payed much attention to curation optimization. Was sure that i was doing well as is. Now im sure im doing something wrong

15 minute is just too late. Let me look tonight as certain users you have to go in early. Some accounts we support are actually useless for curation even though they could be making $20 a post.I would go to 12 minutes to start with and you should at least double on curation instantly.

Alright, thx, ill give that a shot.

I've learned something new a few weeks ago, where I was convinced (after the HF troubles) that I read over and over to not vote within 15 mins after posting, you can really grow curation rewards even with accounts as little as 50 to 100 sp in them. Where those accounts barely had 0.02 curation weekly before, they now have 0.1 to 0.2 per account. These are accounts I play Steemmonsters with, and I thought I'd might as well try to get some SP by curation.

Of course this is nothing compared to people with a higher stake, like yours 4000, I don't even come close with my own account here, but my account is around 750 SP (not sure at the moment because of delegation to another account of mine) and I have around 1.3 SP weekly curation earnings. And I don't go to much trouble to get that.

Imagine what it would be if I had 6x this amount of SP... Then it would still be a nice way of extra earnings.

It is the difference between me curating manually, before the 15 minute threshold, slightly after the same, and delegating to smartsteem that intrigued me most, it seems to be a huge gap, leaning towards delegating rather than manual curation.

And with regards to the 15 minute idea, I have read conflicting versions, some say the earlier you vote (before 15 minutes) the more you stand to earn, others say the exact opposite, so I have no idea which version is true. Maybe abh12345 can advise?

I can tell you at least how it works, and you can decide on your own strategy with that info.
Curation rewards on an upvote at 0 minutes are 0%, and at 15 minutes are 25%. That's the max, and they go up proportionately in between (12.5% at 7.5 minutes).

There are some good posts by @miniaturetiger out there about the nitty gritty of curation. My simplistic advice is to never upvote before 7 minutes, because you'll just lose too much to the algorithm. After that, and up to 15 minutes, it's a guess about when the big votes will come in. You're trying to precede the big votes by just a little (though after 15, it doesn't matter by how much you precede them).

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the info, much appreciated.

My pleasure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I'd like to hear @abh1245's vision too :) he probably knows best. I know that when someone told me a few weeks ago to vote early (following my vote with these accounts) even the 0 cent votes are earning more curation now.. It will never be 20 SP a week (at least not with these amounts of SP lol) but I've seen it grow.. so every bit helps..

It does indeed. :-)

I noticed right after the HF this time that my curation had doubled without me even changing a bit, and I thought that I was doing it right .. but now I noticed it can be better to vote early, but it also depends on how many automatic votes a person gets.. it will take some time to research, and I only made a few small changes in the auto vote timing.. Too much work to do the rest now lol..

So many variables involved like external market prices of steem - SBD that I doubt we will ever come to a concrete fixed idea on this one. :-)

True, maybe Asher will bump in here to give a few tips though:) I will keep an eye out for his comment haha. I'm happy with the growth of my curation, and it's fine for now.. maybe I can get a bit more out of it if I would spend time on researching the accounts I vote, but that's not on my priority list any time soon haha .. Have a good Sunday!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Curation rewards are not an easy thing to figure out, fortunately right now I do not need to figure them out, but when you get close to the dolphin level and you want to keep growing your account it does become necessary I guess to figure it out.

Yes I guess the intrigue does grow, with the steem balance, it seems.

Interesting mate thanks for doing the leg work on the experimenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

No probs bro, just digging around in the system, like I do. :-)

With 3000 SP i have active i made 24 STEEM in 30 days from curation and i still get to keep most of my SP. If i had 4000 SP i think i could get to 35 STEEM which is just around 10% worse then your gains this month.

And....

  1. I wouldnt partake in simple money making from inflation.
  2. I wouldnt help ruin the trending page.
  3. I wouldnt help bot owners/whales make more money.

All that and you make just slightly more money then i do.

EDIT: Apparently cryptocoffee is making almost 3 times what i am on curation and more then you are getting from delegating. Worth to check out what he is doing.

I un-delegated to them 4 days ago, so now have 1 more day to go before I get my Sp back, always befuddles me why we have to wait 5 days, and who gets the benefit from them 5 days, oh wait stinc of course.

Crypto is one of those on my "i follow list" alternatively known as a writer. :-)

Going to try his auto vote curation technique he mentioned at the top of this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95