2 WEEKS ON STEEMIT

in #steemit6 years ago

HELLO AGAIN OUT THERE!

https://goo.gl/images/SDo9zg
1127971roller coaster.jpg

It's been two weeks on Steemit and what a roller coaster ride! I am clinging on and screaming through gritted teeth, my eyes are bulging and my heart is in my mouth. I can't wait to throw my hands in the air and submit to the downward slide into terrified pleasure. Why is it so intense? Well... where to begin? The beginning...

I was introduced to Steemit by @markwhittam. I had never done any blogging before and had no interest in the big Social Media sites as they remind me too much of Big Brother. I am happier off the internet, doing exercise, connecting face to face, working, being a mother, creating real, tangeable stuff. However, he was so excited about it and told me such stories about it and the people he'd met through it, that I became very curious.

Now, I love reading and am very interested in others lives. I am nosy. I love seeing what makes other people tick. I also love the deep, real things in life. I'm not a fan of the superficial. Welcome to Steemit.

Here, I have immediately plunged into some very big subjects. 24 hours in a day just isn't enough time to read on Steemit what I want to read. I want to read carefully what people have to say. I want to click on peoples links, I want to understand what you all are trying to get across. Where do I start? How do I do you all justice, by listening to all of you?Because I want to listen to all of you.

I am just as interested in a teenage girl in Nigerias personal likes and dislikes, as I am in the tales of an American war veteran, or an Australian landscape photographer or a guy that composes music for ballet classes. I am keen to hear home birth stories from Ireland, followed by an Indian girls adventures on her motorbike followed by beautiful poetry from a UK housewife.

I have spent my two weeks reading. Learning about all of you. I am reading about subjects I had no idea I was interested in before. That is good work, to interest people in the new.

I have also been commenting a lot. If I have read and understood someones work, then I am always left with thoughts and questions. I am finding commenting on peoples posts and responding to work to be very enjoyable. So lovely to connect to someone, however briefly, to let them know that they have been understood, that they have been heard. To let them know that they are not just reaching out into an unknown void, but to real people, with real thoughts and responses.

Thankyou everyone for engaging my intellect. My brain is rusty from lack of use. The cogs are starting to turn slowly!

https://goo.gl/images/Ghqo9k
brain_decline_cg1p08367328c_th.jpg

So what is next?

*To be able to construct articles and posts. To learn how to use Markdown and create brighter looking blogs.
*To find out how to reach people myself. As 5 views isn't very much.
*To not care if I only get five views and two of them were my friends, if I have reached one person who listened and was interested.
*To really engage in what other people are interested in. To learn how to communicate on this platform.

thankyou for readingFullSizeRender (9).jpg

Sort:  

A great story, and I do recognise myself in it , thanks for sharing 🙏

Ah yes! I feel all of that! It's overwhelming, but rich and decadent at the same time! And being mothers, we have to find balance or else if we over-indulge it seems some other part of our life gets neglected. I certainly wish I had more time to read all the great content. I wish I had more time for better comments, instead of rushing through before the baby wakes or before one of the other children needs me, but this is my busy life now, and before I know it, in the blink of an eye, I'll have plenty of time and I'll wish I had more to do than just read and comment. So, in this present perfect moment, I thank you for a beautifully written article that stopped me and engaged me. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

thankyou for your sweet words. very encouraging. love your name!

Hey @shivvi you are right it is very intense and overwhelming at first, there is so much information on here. My advice is to take it slowly and get to know other people on here, but you have been doing that already. So Just be patient and soon you will start to connect with others. resteemed

You'll be hooked before you know it @shivvi! It's a great bunch on here with a wealth of knowledge :) 💯🐒

thanks for reading.

I really like the spirit you are approaching Steemit with.

Good. I'm finding it really interesting just got to make sure I keep up my life outside!!

beautiful, xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70427.25
ETH 3798.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50