Steemit Newbie? Important information Part 1. Four Quick Tips

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Steemit!
I joined Steemit this year and my journey has filled filled with many small, but important discoveries. I decided to write them down as I go along, because each one is important to know to be successful.

  1. Minimum reward level payout.
    There is a minimum amount of either author or curation reward that a post or comment must earn for you to get paid. I didn’t know this when I started and wondered why my smallest rewards didn’t show up in my wallet after seven days. If your rewards earned are less then 0.020 you don’t get paid. Those rewards are called “dust”. That’s frustrating because that reward of 0.019 might be your first author reward, but it doesn’t get paid to you. Sadly all you need is 0.001 more to get paid.

  2. The 30 minute rule.
    After an author submits a post a timer starts runnng and the closer you are to the time of posting the less curation reward you get, but the closer you are to 30 minutes after the author submits the post the more of the curation reward you get. So upvoting early can result in zero rewards for you, while upvoting at 30 minutes will give you the maximum curation reward.

  3. Comment Rewards
    You get paid a reward when someone upvotes you. In proportion to their voting power. But did you know you can upvote replies and pay the people who support you with upvotes. If you check conversations you may see six replies between the author and a follower/supporter. Each of those replies can have a reward as long as it’s above the “dust” threshold of 0.02, they get paid.

  4. Resteem Posts
    You can “resteem” someone else’s post , which means it will now be listed on your blog, as a way of showing the post to more people. This has two effects: (1) It potentially increases the rewards for the author and (2) It can increase the curation reward for you. It’s a win-win situation where both of you potentially benefit.

This is the end of Part 1, if you like this, please comment, upvote and resteem!

Live from Volcano Island Big Island Hawai’i 😊🏝🌋🤣

Sort:  

Do you know about @dustsweeper?

Yes, I was going to include it in the post, but I thought it might seem like I was advertising it, so I thought I would create another post just on useful services.

The dust sweeper looks really good. I will save up for it.

I am new and this is really helpful. I am overwhelmed, but this is short and understandable. Thanks

Good info. Very helpful for a beginner!

Thanks. Good info for Newbie like me.

Hi
This is a very helpful post. I didn’t know or understand these things. You explained them clearly and concisely. Thank you very much.
I hope @gentlebot or some other kind soul blesses you with a big upvote
Take care

Thanks for this; I've been here all year and didn't know any of this.

Your welcome. Thanks for stopping by and please resteem.

Hi,
I was excited the other day because I got an upvote from a quality curator called @gentlebot?
I wonder if you have ever heard of this curator group and how does one qualify for upvotes?
Thanks
@shortsegments

I just created part 2 with ways to make money, but you probably know those. But if you have any tips or tricks for newbies to make money on Steemit please reply here or better yet to my new post on part 2. Thanks!

Congratulations @shortsegments! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for the reward and the upvote.
Okay I will vote for your witness: Steemitboard.

You get lot of upvote and resteem by us

You got a 3.90% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @shortsegments!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95