You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem: Don't forget to look up

in #steemit6 years ago

Thanks for your advice, Asher.
Ever since the beginning, I’ve been involved in supporting and educating others. (I’m a teacher in real life, so this comes natural to me, lol.)

I t wasn’t until a couple of weeks ago, after I had a conversation with @beeyou, that I realized that although this is a noble thing to do, I was limiting the growth of my own account. Especially because the higher you get on the chain, the less support you get from the bigger guys.

From thatthat moment forward, I changed my mindset. I started to see that the bigger I could grow my own account, the more people I could give some decent support.

But it was (and still is) a bit of an ethical battle. I actually want to do both.
So I started lobbying, trying to find people who were struggling with the same issues. And I found quite some people who were asking themselves the same question.

I do believe both can - nééd - to be combined. It’ all about finding the right balance.

Our bad luck is that the bigger you grow your account, the less people have a bigger account and can, or want to support.

So we’ll have to set up our own support system somehow, with little help from bigger accounts. In order to be able to maximize growth, us smaller and bigger minnows have to figure out how we can make the most out of supporting eachother. IMO, without forgetting to support the smaller accounts at the same time.

I’m not a good strategist, so I’m still hoping someone will come up with a solution that allows us to do both. Because I do remember how it was to be new, and if those newbies will have to wait until the 5000+ accounts will start supporting them, they will be long gone before they even got started.

I’m glad my repeated comments on the topic have raised a little awareness and that more people are thinking about how we can find the balance we need.

Sort:  

The balance will be better when you get to 5k 😊 More teacher dolphins please!

Turn everyone altruistic and things may look instantly awesome. Of course that is not going to happen, and so the good guys need to collect now to fill the gap.

Thanks for pushing the topic, I'm sure @tarazkp will write more words on it in future, and probably myself too. It's not one code can fix easily, and likely depends more on how people act - Rise good eggs rise!

As one of my earliest supporters @simplymike, I will always be grateful for those early boosts! But I also agree with your point here... and I'd like to add a little nuance:

It's great to help newbies and have newbie contests and initiatives... but I think what we need to consider is what constitutes helping newcomners by empowering them, and where we get into getting in our own way by actually getting in the business of offering "relative" newcomers a free ride.

My own approach has — from day one — been to take and ask for whatever help I could get with the aim of getting past the infamous "dust threshold" with my votes (currently 250-ish SP)... and then pretty much socialize my way to anything more more than that. I'm blessed to have that process speeded up a little with a couple of delegations at the moment.

Part of my point here is also that I never got a memo that said "Steemit's easy!" It's not. Social media success is not easy. It all takes work and perseverance... even when things suck.

But getting back to helping newcomers and redfish... maybe the key is to help just enough to EMPOWER people to be able to figure stuff out on their own... just like school, we don't need (hopefully!) teach to still hold our hand when we're 23...

=^..^=

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85