The Steemit's new clothes!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Long time listener, First time caller; blah, blah, blah.

So, About a month and a half ago I made my first attempt to get on steemit... I followed the instructions to register an account, responded to activation emails and entered 2FA codes etc. Then I waited, and waited... and waited!

After a while I stopped waiting and kinda forgot about it. 2 weeks ago(ish) I tried to get on again and when I couldn't I turned to a post with 3 other methods to get an account. Since I didn't know anyone on steemit, the option of having someone create an account for me seemed to be out. The picture depicting the Anon Steem interface showed a price in bitcoin that was way too high at the current exchange rates (~$70). So, I thought, "I'm pretty tech savvy, I'll mine my way in". I followed a guide that took me through all the steps to mine and yet something wasn't quite working... After some initial trouble shooting steps, I got on the net and tried to figure out what was wrong... You can't mine for Steem anymore?!?!? WTF?!?!?!?

So, being the persistent wannabe steemian that I am I decided to look at Anon Steem again. It seems the picture from the post was old and that the price in BTC had changed to reflect the current exchange rates. It would only cost around $12... I figured $12 would be more than a fair price to save me any further headaches.

So, here I am, on steemit and all of the tools that I found interesting a month or so ago on Steem Tools don't seem to work anymore?!?!? When I get on Steem Stream there appears to be a ton of activity going on... so why is Radio Steem apparently defunct for over a year? Yet there is nothing on the site about "Hey, guys. Sorry but we have to close up shop..."
Should I even bother telling my friends and family about steemit? it seems as though they will get here and be seriously disappointed. I mean there are people on here posting videos from Youtube... why not post videos from Dtube so we are at least supporting the steemit content internally. I mean hell, that's like being on of the first people to try Pepsi and saying "My God, this shit is awesome! I better go tell people about Coca Cola!!!" C'mon people, get it together!

If someone can tell me what I can do to help the curation of some real (consumable, promote-able, interesting) content on here, I would be happy to learn a new programming language if that's what it takes to make this a better place. Right now it just seems like a bunch of people are on here simply to make money, or be hipsters. I'm so cool, I was on steemit when it sucked!

And if the content here is so lackluster, why in the hell is there a month+ waiting period to get on here?!?!?!?

Somebody please help me wrap my head around this paradox I can promote this wonderful site (in theory) to those that I love without looking like the first person to see the emperor in his new clothes!

edit 1: for grammar and links.
edit 2: for markdown vs editor

Sort:  

thank you kaleem!

Congratulations @sisfs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @sisfs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

If someone can tell me what I can do to help the curation of some real (consumable, promote-able, interesting) content on here, I would be happy to learn a new programming language if that's what it takes to make this a better place.

Be the change you wish to see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71