From This Point Forward I Will No Longer............

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Look, I love contests. I have a lot of fun entering them and talking with friends in their comment sections but there is a recent growing trend I am noticing the last week or so.

steemit1000 copy

People are now making a resteem of their contest a requirement to enter and while I do enjoy when someone resteems a contest I dont know of (there are many) I am getting annoyed at the idea of my main page filling up with other peoples contests.

If you make a contest and I think is cool I'll enter, if I think its great I'll resteem it. Thats what I do when I come across the rare but amazing posts, I resteem.

But

Just like I dont play the follow for follow game.
I will no longer be entering any contests that require a resteem.

Sorry for anyone that might not like that but every contest I enter does not need a resteem, especially when they are weekly or even a couple from the same person a week. If I resteemed every contest a day that I entered I would have more contest resteems then actual original posts.

Plus, I'm not sure if my followers want to see your contests, they followed me to see my posts. If they want to see yours they will follow you.

Cheers steemit and hope you all can understand where I'm coming from. If not, lol, oh well.
:D

picts are original work from old posts

Steemit to the moon!!!!!


Sort:  

I think resteem sucks. I hardly ever resteem anything. It just fills your feed with a lot of crap.

Once in a while i come across something i have to resteem but normally i dont.
I also cant stand when someone im following goes on a resteem spree where 9 out of 10 posts in my feed for people i follow is nothing but their resteems. I have unfollowed two or three people for doing that.
lol

Those resteem sprees make your feed a junkyard. Here' a secret meme I made.......

LMFAO!
Is it because steemit is garbage or because it pays better then his old job?

All i can think now is "you big dummy"
:D

Paid out ButtBits a few minutes ago, only 3 valid sh.....res.

Oh wow thank you!
Im suprised you didnt get more sh*t in the comments.

I wouldn't participate in a resteem contest either.

When we were doing the meme contest we didn't ask for a resteem or even an upvote to participate, because new people only get 10 votes a day and we wanted it to be open to them without screwing up their feed or their voting power.

I was thinking also, if im already making a post as an entry with a link to the contest then resteeming it is pointless.
With contests where i make content for them i make a post out of, if its something where im just guessing at something in the comments then i would prolly resteem or talk about the contest to people the first time i learn of it, but resteeming someones contest weekly so i can enter seems a bit extreme.

bro i miss ur meme contests, the other meme contest uses crap pictures and when you look at the entrys and the winners its like WTF. lol so many good memes in the comments but the winners arent even funny.
LOL

I didnt even think of the 10 votes thing.

I agree with you. I only usually resteem something when I find it particularly useful or interesting or want to go back to it (such as the SMT for Dummies post I resteemed the other day).

Sometimes there is something i come across i feel everyone should see so i resteem but requirements to enter a contest including upvote, making a post for it and a resteem comes off to me like a bit to much. especially when most contests only have one winner.
cheers and have a great day.
:D

That last gif kill me, soooo cute while eating the up-votes, oh I was carry away, back to the topic.

Making a reesteem of the contest I think it is some kind of arbitrary rule, nevertheless I never thought to deeply about that because I don't enter a lot of contest but if you do, yes like you said you blog will fill out pretty fast, but this problem comes from how Steemit works at the end of the day.

LOL Thanks. That post with the girl eating upvotes actually got flagged to invisability.

I think its more on the contest creator, if im already making a post as an entry with a link to the contest in it then resteeming the post is kind of pointless. IMO at least.
:D

It seems fair to me, it is a bit confused reesteem with your post so maybe they should in the future put it in a separate window. As always sick gifs.

That would be actually really cool if there was another feed thats just stuff people you followed resteemed. i would like it alot better then it filling my normal feed and stuff.
:D

Thank you they are all gifs and picts i made for posts a while back.

im gunna resteem to stop the resteeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72