My Travel Article; Same Reward with no Bid-Bots

in #steemit6 years ago

Cover.JPG

This is not another anti bid-bot post. I have stated previously that I am not one to judge others on why they should veto these ‘services’.

No, this post is simply to state that one of my recent articles attained the same reward value as it would previously have done in my self-voting days.

I am not expecting to get this kind of reward for everything I write and this has certainly not happened with most of the other posts.

@daan mentioned in his recent post that he feels more content for not using bots and I feel the more vocal we can be about this topic, then more people may follow our leads.

I too feel that same contentment he does, no pretend values, more respect from the community and everything as it was intended to be when Steemit was first created.

However to get back to the original topic I want to thank the curation trails who picked up on my ‘Kenya’ post, namely @steemitworldmap, @c-squared, @travelfeed, @curie and @thesteemengine.

The sense of appreciation you get when even a small trail picks up on your work always gives me a buzz. I have the greatest respect for all of these curation trails, and always vote them up and thank them when I get noticed.

I will admit I did target some of these groups hoping I would get their attention and used their tags, and it worked out for me.

I will also say that the article I wrote was over 1000 words and took some effort to put together, digging out photographs from 9 years ago, and trying to remember all the details with the help of @bingbabe.


grandma.JPG
Source

I now have a permanent record on the blockchain of my travel event that I can show to people like my mother who doesn’t use the internet, but is quite happy to take my iPad and read something I have put together.

You don’t get something for nothing and if you put the work and effort into creating something readable then it pays off, this is what it’s all about.

All photographs are either my own or are marked as 'Labelled for reuse'.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #165 (6/14/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Pleased to hear you had a good result - posts like that take a lot if time and are a big investment. Also good to have this dicussion about bidbots. The other issue that I'm going to be spending some time on is voting for witnesses. I don't know much about this yet, but I feel it is important.
The holiday looked like it was fabulous experience, by the way :)

I've been here over year next week and only a few weeks ago five into the bidbot ocean. I built my Steemit community organically, as organic as one can get actually lol, due to the fact that I am not in a position to invest yet. My three teen boys eat an awful lot!

I decided to check out the bidbots for an article, so I can accurately represent their use, politics, etc. I did have some luck my first couple of tries and I can see the appeal. Alas, it's absolutely about timing first and foremost.

With that being said, I'm still forming my opinion and drafting my article :)

I love your footer message ;)

#SteemEngine

My footer is so you remember me... haha!

A far as bots go, everyone should probably try them and make their own minds up. I used them for a couple of months and they are good for raising reputation but little else.

They can raise you into Trending,, but who looks there besides other big buy voters and newbies.

Here here...good for you pal :)

I'd love to get to read your travel post some time. :) I was a bidbot user and totally got rid of it. :)

So inspiring. Amazing steemit journey.
I never use bidbots, only the free bots, lol

Yes totally, I use the free ones and that's all now.

I just use minnowbooster to help me, but I think I should readdress my approach. I just like writing about the topics that inspire me, so I hope to do the more of the same and maybe I will be rewarded at certain points throughout my journey. Thanks for inspiring me (as always!) haha :)

'Thanks for inspiring me (as always!) haha :)'

I had no idea I did, thanks!

You doing great @slobberchops , I alway love reading your stories.. And Like Steve said, it takes effort and time to build !! And that's just what you're doing...

Congrats on the @curie. That is a pretty big honor. It was a great article, you should be proud.

I earned $60 plus for less than one HUNDRED words post #nobidbots 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00