*TrufflePig*: An Update on the Artificial Intelligence to help Minnows and Content Curators

in #steemit6 years ago

Being a minnow on Steemit can be tough, your well-crafted posts may get unnoticed and buried in the noise. Accordingly, I made a proposition to develop a new Artificial Intelligence, codename TrufflePig, to help the Steemit curation community by identifying overlooked and undervalued content. The best part of this proposition? I already have some data to show! I have experimented a bit and developed a prototype. Here, I want to give an update on the current development.

First, I have to make a confession, I made some rookie mistake in the prototype, mea culpa. There was some data leakage from the training into the test set. Oh boy, I did forget about edited posts that are published more than once on the blockchain. So a few posts could be found duplicated in the training as well as the test set. Correcting this had, of course, a negative impact on the test set score. It dropped from ~0.2 to ~0.1. However, the truffle posts the bot is digging up are still quite nice. I'll get to them later.

Besides this rather embarrassing Machine Learning Fauxpas, the Github repository is filling up with new code regularly as you can see here. Especially the part about gathering posts and filtering has seen some major progress. I hope to churn out the first working version that will post daily truffle picks (!) on Steemit and promote undervalued content soon. Hopefully, it will be finished in less than in a month. By the way, the bot already owns an account on Steemit: @trufflepig.

Did you know that there is a website, called robohash, that creates nice robot avatars by hashing strings? Here is the new face of my bot, be pleased to meet trufflepig17:

trufflepig17

What else do we have? Well, I experimented a bit with some more machine learning models like Doc2Vec. Yet, apart from increasing TrufflePig's memory hunger, it did not yield any meaningful improvements.

My experiments were not entirely fruitless, because I picked up some nice truffles on the way. For example, did you know that there is a young couple, @lily-da-vine, with an amazing life story about fleeing from the US to Mexico because of pressing charges? Found them thanks to (still offline) @trufflepig :-)

Finally, after a first TrufflePig MVP living on some private virtual cloud server, I'll be working on a more specific roadmap. It will cover a lot of the feedback I got from the Steemit community, such as including @cheetah's blacklist. So stay tuned!

Sort:  

100+ Upvoted
Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote
Resteem over 9500+ Followers

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4000+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 9500+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

How does it work to find good posts, in what languages are you looking for original and quality content? Do you have to call it or do something?

So far it only considers English posts. If you are interested in the details, check out my explanation. By the way, a first live trial run can be found HERE!

awesome! I'm going to see it, it's interesting

I am a plankton and I really appreciate your efforts to help (minnows and hopefully plankton) out! It definitely is hard to get noticed here and I think thats why there are so many accounts that are inactive because people give up too easily when they get no visibility. Keep up the good work!

Applause for the incredible idea as well as the know how and gumption to put it all together. I'm basically illiterate when it comes to code and creating bots, much less AI bots. Following to observe and perhaps participate in your progress. :)

This is awesome! I hope you get it up and running. I've been doing my best to keep engaged and make friends but it's hard to pick up traction here. And that article you posted about was an amazing read.

Thanks, so far it looks like that the boot will be up and running on a daily basis soon. There was already a first successful test run, that can be found HERE.

If you can get @trufflepig truly up and running, that would be a gamechanger on par with the creation of dtube. The entire Steemit community would owe you a nigh-unrepayable debt of gratitude. You would very likely become -- well, maybe not wealthy but distinctly more financially solvent than you expected to get any time soon.

Thank you!

Don't worry, there's a fair chance that I'll get it up and running. It is more a matter of time rather than ability at this point. However, there is another fair chance that the concept of trufflepig just won't succeed and the the bot itself gets buried in the noise :-D

Moreover, I would already be happy if the SBD earned by the bot covered the server costs. Let's see if this works out before dreaming of financial independence due to some lines of Python code^^

By the way, I made faster progress than initially anticipated. You can find the first results of a proper live trial HERE!

i hope all content curators will not miss out this most

I will stay tuned :)

Like what you're doing. Glad I found you off of Reddit!

You just planted 2.84 tree(s)!


Thanks to @smcaterpillar

We have planted already 7758.03 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18421.82
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67489.05
ETH 3760.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70