@socky is 1 Year Old

in #steemit6 years ago

Today is my Steemit birthday.

I created my account to store STEEM but didn’t actually blog for a month and a half. It has been a fun ride and I am still a believer!

birthday.gif

I recall when Google went public and recommended to my parents to invest. They couldn’t understand the importance. I would have invested myself, but I recently graduated college and didn’t have any money of my own. In fact, I was heavily in debt. I also recall when Facebook went public and was wishing I had some scratch to invest.

A crazy story when I was in college, I was collecting all kinds of videos that I found on the internet. Most of them were funny animations. At that time there was no place to find videos. There was no YouTube. One had to find links on other people’s websites to where they were stored. I had the idea to create a place to store videos and squeeze in advertisements to pay for the site. I even consulted a web hosting company about doing it. My wife at the time had multiple degrees and graduated top of her class. She told me that this was the most stupid idea she has ever heard. That plus the fact that I was heavily in debt prevented me from being the creator of YouTube.

Now it is STEEM’s time.

I realize the power of social media. It is not value of cryptocurrency that will create growth. Instead, it is the value of the users of the cryptocurrency and the network. Only social media has the power to explosively grow users and adoption of currency. The value of this network like any network will grow exponentially with respect to active users. The best part is that we are all owners. We are essentially an employee owned business. This is really an opportunity of a lifetime!

942
POSTS

2852
COMMENTS

birthday2.gif

birthday3.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations socky!! So many people have blinders on...
Powering UP !!! :)

power.gif

Thanks @silvertop.

We have a huge active group actually using the currency. It is the difference that will make STEEM succeed.

I agree 😀

Congratulations my friend. I share your joy and hope that you can continue to live in this school of life where we can deal with many people.
I wish you the best always, Here your friend @lanzjoseg from Venezuela

Congratulations !!!

It's your birthday...

Do what you want to...

👍😎

Posted using Partiko Android

napoleon.gif

Congratulations brother!

Posted using Partiko Android

You are a visionary! I imagine how you felt when YouTube was born ☺ congrats on your first steemit year!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is all about the follow through. I've made that mistake before. I'm not making that mistake again.
Thank you!

Happy steemit birthday brother @socky. Hopefully your works will be good for everyone. And of course also be a smooth way for your career and success. Oen again, happy birthday brother. Steem on ..

I'm just getting started! I will be Steeming for the long haul.

Happy steemit birthday superb journey👌💪

It only going to get more incredible.

Congratulations @socky!!!
Keep going 😉

Thanks. I will definitely keep going. I'm not slowing down either :)

That's it mate! 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13