What would you wish for to change Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

What would make your Steemit experience better?

In the future, I plan to tackle some issues with this platform and with Steemit Inc.

I want to know your thoughts.

  • Is there difficulty using STEEM or SBD?
  • Do you have language issues?
  • What prevents your friends from joining?

Give me some Ideas. Think back and remember what issues you had in the past. What you would change if you had a voice.

I personally didn't like the fact that the Steemit Inc "Director of Communications" muted me forever for asking about the wallet problem on HitBTC and Poloniex. It seems to me that they have no intention of being transparent. If I had my way, I would fire the "Director of Communications" for not doing his job.

What would you do if you had the power?

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

---------------------------------------

For a breakdown of how Steemit Rewards system works:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/steemit-rewards-breakdown-a-simplified-explanation-with-illustrations

For a breakdown of Steemit Keys:

https://steemit.com/life/@socky/do-you-understand-your-steemit-key

For a breakdown of why Steem Power is Important:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@socky/why-is-steem-power-important-beginners-read

Sort:  

The one thing steemit could do to improve the platform greatly and increase the retention rates of new users would be to reduce the dust cap threshold from 0.0251 to 0.001.
Doing this would make it a lot easier for people to make money.
Before I knew about this I had given hundreds of votes to people,most of which were wasted votes.
A lot of people are not aware of this and so there are god knows how many thousands of votes being wasted every day.

That is interesting. You know that there is a new voting system coming? In this system, the voting pool will be divided into two pools. One pool is the standard weight vote based system. The other pool will fund single votes. This will take away a large amount of voting power from voting bots and whales.

The dust cap may not apply with this change.

I'm not not sure I like the sound of that,it has a smell of communism about it,i guess we'll just have to wait and see how the changes affect us all.
Hopefully the dust cap threshold will be removed,but I won't hold my breath.
Thanks for your reply.

Better surfaced content on the front page

hello sir,

As per me the main frustrating thing is as a steemit's reward system.....As I think only early adopters are beneficial in the platform.

Secondly the sign up process is very lengthy and manual verification should come to an end now. Probably this is a reason why many people doesn't even try this platform.

Steemit may also use to advertise its platform so that it can generate more revenue and in that way creators may get more reward and motivated.

Those are great points. I think that future apps could have a dashboard like your wallet page that shows the performance of your rewards. Sign up is a mess. I agree. That could certainly be fixed. Most people don't jump in with both feet. They start by creating an account and testing out the site. It is a major turn-off if you have to wait a massive amount of time to start. I hear you on the advertising. There should be a significant amount of the Steemit Inc budget going towards advertising.

The one thing I would want is more communication from the Steemit Headquarters, I either have been missing it, or they aren't giving that many updates, which just about keeps me in the dark.

That it something that is a personal need for me. I would like for the Steemit Inc to set up an official web page that is regularly updated by Steemit Inc. It is a future goal that I have to make that a reality.

if I have a lot of strength, I really like to help friends who are still small fish. thanks for the information about my friend steemit, i upvote and resteem yes.

A filter system for feeds and pages (the ability to show only 250-500 word posts, 1000+ word posts, posts with/without pictures, posts from a certain rep range, certain language, etc.)

Update to the post publishing/editing pages - editor could be way more helpful and please give us a 'preview' section no matter what input format we're using, and include simple editor in post edit page (html is useful but hard to look at).

More customizable profile, the ability to do something less dull with your page. And by God, make it easier to format a header image! You have to be a fucking brain surgeon to figure that shit out.

I think that's all the gripes I've got, good luck with getting through to Steemit Inc.!

That is perfect feedback. I have many of theses same needs. I think that Steemit itself as an app is just not being updated by the creators. So Busy, Dtube, Dlive are some of the answers to the problem and the future answer to your changes that you want will be in an all new app instead of upgrading Steemit. Go check out @theuxyeti. He is a UX guy and is developing a new app that will be better than Steemit. Don't worry, it will be like Busy or Dtube in the sense your Steemit account will get you access and your wallet doesn't change.

We need a way better UI... it's a mess to look at for noobs!

After looking at facebook and twitter for 10 yrs, they can't grasps how this is a social network as well as a blogging platform...

I agree. Leave this task to a bunch of programmers and they think that this UI is wonderful.

Go check out @theuxyeti. He has another app called sugarsteem that is more user friendly and is asking for suggestions. It is still in development. I think it will be the solution to the clunky interface we have.

Don't ask to make it like Facebook, young kids don't use Facebook anymore, that means Facebook will die out, hopefully.

Agreed - you're taking it too litterally - I don't use facebook, it's terrible and I'm not even young anymore ;D

The point is that one of the most important improvements is cleaning up the UI, so it's more adoptable... :)

A way to delete posts even after someone has upvoted or commented.
Maybe in a system where if the voters and commenters would get theyr voting power back if the post get's deleted. or the voters and commenters would agree to deleting the post.

Oh

and if there was a system that posts that get voted by bid bots don't get on TRENDING.
Would be great

Now wouldn't that be a brilliant idea. Bid bot promoted articles don't get on the Trending page.

The deletions part will be tricky, but should be implementable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61