[SERIES] What really grinds my gears -- #5 PEOPLE AT THE TOP WHO ARE PUSHING PONZI SCHEMES

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit, you know what Really Grinds my Gears?

Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 12.27.26.png

So you've done great, built up an organic following and have tens of thousands of people following you and interacting with you across multiple social media platforms. Well done!

I like what you preach in the crypto space so I follow your videos a bit more and then I dig deeper into one of your videos about which kind of passive income strategy is right for me!

There's a nice chart which I follow and I immediately choose "higher investment and more risk", because well that's me. It takes me to "Option C".

Message me for Option C... OK, message sent!

I'm patiently waiting and getting excited about the prospects. Finally, you send me a link for USI-TECH. HUH, FOR REAL?

*I shoot back another message, Sorry I meant Option C"

And then another referral link but this time for BitConnect?

So all those people that love your method are just hooked on your Ponzi Scheme referrals? That's your secret? WAHHH . Unfollowed, Unfriended, Blocked.

It's like when I found out that Santa Claus isn't real. Soul Destroying..

And that's what really grinds my gears! Woah, feels great to let off some Steem!!


Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 10.14.28.png

Sort:  

Hiya, I know what you mean as I have been following and subscribing to a lot of youtube videos to learn more about cryptos. I believe that sometimes, people don't do their due diligence and play with money that they cannot afford to lose. Whilst I am sure it is working for those at the top, I really hope that more people will truly invest in cryptos and understand that they stand for rather than just that high percentage return that they are promising. Thanks for airing an opinion that is tough.

Thanks @khimgoh !

For real, it's sad that people are pouring in money that they can't afford to lose into the crypto space, because they don't want to miss the boom!

There are a lot of sharks in the crypto space and it makes me sad to see so many people pouring all their money into ponzi schemes.

Cryptos on the other hand are exciting, and I can't wait for mass adoption! Take care

I truly appreciate your honesty in this post. I too have been looking into many various people regarding cryptocurrencies and have tried to stick to avoiding the alt coins that aren't well spoken of in the cryptocurrency world. It can get a little confusing for those of us, "newbies."

I really like Steemit and Steem because you can begin using cryptocurrency with little invested. I started this account for free and have made a little so far. I think I may consider investing some of my own money soon and see how that works out.
I think you mentioned in one of your posts that you invested $700, how did that work out for you? Do you have any tips on those of us who are also willing to invest?

I know not to spend anything I don't mind losing, so it won't be too much to start off with but I am willing to give Steemit a chance.

Thanks @nexusvortex777, keep doing your thing!

It takes patience & perseverance to get heard on this platform. I can see you're already further than me in terms of followers and posts, so well done on that front!

I need to dedicate more time to crafting content and building a following but I am bit torn as to whether I should continue or focus my efforts elsewhere.

A few colleagues and I want to launch our own blog and I also want to launch another blog. I like the long-form content on medium and feel that this suits me better. I know that Steemit could be a nice platform for this content too but it takes a lot of work in getting heard, as there are just so many users here now and some are churning out 10+ posts per day!

I want to try a little experiment where I keep posting and posting, in the hope that I reach more people and build my following.

However, I don't feel that I should save my best content for Steemit just yet, because it just gets lost and disappears in the platform.. That definitely changes when you have a decent following though!

I am also quite tempted to try out some fictional writing. Seen a couple of series here and they are quite nice!

I think I'm rather lucky to have gained the followers, truthfully. It's a humbling experience to say the least. I find value in coming online each day and posting on Steemit more than any other website. I am learning as I go along and though I might not be making top steem right now, I am finding enjoyment in the community!

You're right it does take a lot of work to be heard but for me that's where engaging with you guys in the comment section comes into play.

I think your experiment may pay off for you in the long run and if you want to give it a try, I encourage you and support you in your efforts.

Of course, what you do is entirely up to you. I agree a lot of content gets lost in the flow of things so I save my posts in Word before I submit the content here.

It would be awesome in my opinion, if you wrote some fiction. I'd read it!

You have my support!!

As for the $700 that I invested, I bought Steem when it was well under a $1. It's worth significantly more now as a result. I turned it all into Steem Power, which boosted my reputation a little.

My upvote is currently worth 0.16 cents.

However, I am learning that it might have been smarter to spend the money on promoting my own posts, e.g. using randowhole, minnowsupport etc..

I have seen people using that on their own posts and you usually get your initial investment back but you reach a lot more people. It also does a lot for your reputation / level.

Tbh, I'm a little disappointed that one has to rely on bots to get heard but it seems that everybody is doing it and unless you have a huge following, it's going to be tough in the beginning to monetise from this and get decent pay per post.

Just my thoughts.

Smart move to invest when price was lower.

I can see your logic in being disappointed with having to use bots. I don't care for the idea that much either, sure it's tough but it's worth it in the long run, in my opinion.

I saw a huge increase on my posts today from the average payout and am happy that others are starting to pay a little closer attention. It definitely motivates me to post more quality content that others enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71398.11
ETH 3875.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51