You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What the Hell Is Steemit, Anyway?

in #steemit5 years ago

No-one knows what Steem is but everyone has an opinion on what Steem is or should be :D

My take: It's an experimental 'social blockchain' where people fight if we're more 'medium.com' (long form content) or more 'Facebook' (just post and be social). But those people that fight over that (and what should be rewarded) often forget there's another group of people who believe only witnesses/devs who build 'apps' and other stuff should be rewarded, so while we fight about what Steem is through our posts they think we're stealing 'their' rewards :D

It's fun and new and confusing and sometimes really ugly. I haven't been able to leave this place since I got here at the end of 2017 and I'm still wondering why - maybe because I'm a psychologist and really love to see how people are handling this weird thing they're playing with ;-)

Cheers!

Sort:  

That’s really true! In my short time here, I’ve seen lots of opinions on what Steem and Steemit “should” or “shouldn’t” be. One of the nice things I’ve noticed, though, is that it can be more on the Facebook side or more on the Medium side, depending on how you choose to use it.

One of the things I’m actually liking about Steem as a blockchain experiment is that all the rewards don’t go to devs and witnesses. Most of the other blockchains are all about rewarding devs and people who secure the blockchain (miners, masternodes, etc.)...so Steem is kind of refreshing that way. And I say that as a software developer. 😄

Anyway, I think that la weird thing people can play with” is a great description of Steemit. The whole thing must be particularly fascinating to you, as a psychologist. Somebody ought to write a thesis about this site!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67065.15
ETH 3680.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65