Why Do Steemit Posts Drop In Value RIGHT When They Pay Out?

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi everyone!

It's me Steemie the Bear and today I was going to make a post explaining why the vote value on people's posts drop right when they pay out. I thought it was because the curators ~25% percent of the payout was being counted in the original "Pending Payment" and then when it paid out the value looks smaller because the curators get paid out their share. Let's look at this example, the pending payment is on the left and the actual payment on the right


In this above example, all the way leading up to actual payment the payment reads:

Pending Payment: $95.50

  • (47.75 SBD, 11.93 SP)

The problem is when it pays out, you check your wallet and you notice a big difference in the number you collect versus what the payout was reading. When you go back to the post you see that it's dropped a bunch of value like someone downvoted or removed their vote right before payout!!

Let's look at it a bit deeper. The actual payout was

Payouts $75.99

  • Author $58.14
    (29.07 SBD, 7.25 SP)
  • Curators $17.85

Now I want to point out that this is just something I noticed so I'm sure others haven't noticed as well and I wanted to post this to see if anyone can explain it and shed some light on this! The only thing I can think of is that the overall post value does drop a bit right before the payout, perhaps due to the original voters using up their voting powers or removing them? Possibly it could be downvotes as well?

I would LOVE to understand this all more, if anyone knows why this happens please shed some light!

Sort:  

Hmm That Puzzles Me.. I Will Try To Do Some Research For You And Come Back Whit What I Get!

Thanks for the help!

Possibility #1 Market Fluctuating?
Possibility #2 reward_per_rshare Shrinking?
All I Could Find.. Still Is A Mystery To Me! Sorry I Couldn't Find More

You got a 1.24% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @brianturner!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

I've noticed this too! I think what's going on is before the actual payout, it's showing the average value like for the estimated account value in our wallets. When it actually pays out, I think it's showing the actual value... No way to know if this is true though as far as I know!

I noticed this too and I don't like it 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82