7 Days to a Better Steemit Blog

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm a Steemit Newbie, but a YouTube Veteran

Hi everyone! Today marks only my 9th day on the Steemit platform. What then, you might be asking yourself, do I have to offer in teaching anyone how to improve their Steemit blog? A couple years ago, based on marketing principles that I believe to be universal, I worked to grow my YouTube channel from about 500 subscribers (at the time,) to over 22,000 subscribers. 

Speaking of which, I owe a significant amount thanks to Tim Schmoyer of the VideoCreators channel for helping me out through his content and consultation calls. I've noticed that a lot of the techniques I used to grow on YouTube are absolutely applicable on this platform and I have yet to find a single post (or a series of posts) that contain all the information that I would like to present. This is the reason for this series!

What I'll be covering

Each day, for 7 days, I'll make a post detailing specific & actionable change you can make to your blog in order to increase the chances of it being more successful. I'll also briefly write about the marketing theory behind the changes and - when applicable - provide links to the articles, books, and videos where I first learned the information.

Here's a sneak peak of what's on the agenda.

* Identifying Your Target Audience - Who reads your blog? What do they like? What do they dislike? What are their wants, needs, and desires?

* Designing a Value Proposition - What do you have to offer your readers and how is it reflected in your content and aligned with your target audience?

* Blog Design - How to utilize all the available features in Steemit (like the cover image and the about section to communicate the value you have to offer to a first time visitor.

* Content Creation - How can a post be designed to increase the chances of it being read and shared?

* Community - The Steemit community is incredibly similar to what the YouTube community was like 10 years ago, and genuinely engaging & serving the community is a must for circulating your content.

* And More :)

I'll be blogging every day, for the next 7 days. So Stay Tuned!

Be sure to give me a follow to include these posts in your Steemit feed so you don't miss out! And if you enjoyed this post or support this series, please consider throwing an upvote my way!

Continue to the next post in this series: Day 1: Your Target Audience

Steve Cronin

Sort:  

I’m agree about your points and also I will add “what about explore business/artist model canvas?”

I’m also new to the platform but for once in my life I feel this is a comunity of resonate people.

Thanks for being part of that feeling sharing your journey.
Bless.

Ah yes! A great idea for an addition. Most of what I learned for creating and executing a business model for a niche (can be art as you suggest, whatever) comes from Tim and this incredible book called "Business Model You" - Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1118156315/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1118156315&linkCode=as2&tag=stevecronin-20&linkId=a5bdffa391625426672e5d85bcdf38c6

I've been able to successfully execute it for my YouTube channel but never really grew it beyond $1k or so a month (something I no longer make, because I lost interest in that niche.) I'm happy to share my experience and what I learned about that here, I just want to be careful and not make anyone think I'm some expert in making money online or something! Because I'm very much still a Learner there.

Great comment.

Great resource!
Yeah I’m the same boat and I want to share my journey being myself also a student of all this topic.
Keep me updated if you write more about it please!

Welcome to steemit @stevecronin. Your YouTube seems to be incredible with insane 22000 followers.Its a privilege to follow you in steemit and learn from your experience .As you mentioned I never found a posts which covers the information to improve our steemit blogging.

Thank you so much for your kind words! It's a privilege to have you comment here :) I released the first post today!

https://steemit.com/steemit-help/@stevecronin/7-days-to-a-better-steemit-blog-day-1-your-target-audience

Welcome aboard! We have also extended our community into the Steemit space from YouTube. Will be checking out your valuable YouTube marketing info. Good luck...

Thank you! Hope you enjoy the series :) Checking out your YouTube channel atm.

Thank YOU for reading!

Ok, looking forward to this, I could use the guidance.

Now, if you could just wrap this all together so that introverts who loathe self promotion more than their own death can easily benefit then I will drive to your house and give you extremely uncomfortable hugs. Or fly. I don't know where you live. We'll figure all that out after the 7 days, assuming...

Fantastic! Haha, well I'll only spend one day on sharing/promoting content. However, I understand what you mean! I'm sure there are a lot of different reasons why people don't like sharing their work. For me personally, I used to have an issue with not recognizing the value of my content or how it could help others, and for that reason it was weird to self-promote. Maybe a different reason for you?

At the end of the day, I think there's a big different between someone who believes in their work/message and promotes it, and someone who shares their work for the clicks, views, and $$$.

Well, actually, I'm fairly confident with my fiction writing (that's really about all I'm doing/plan to do at this point on steemit, well, maybe some essays too) so it's not as though I feel I produce shit work. I think there is an audience for it assuming those who would be interested in it are actually finding it. I guess my discomfort lies in a feeling that I'm forcing myself on others (who didn't ask and may be completely uninterested in my work). Oh, also, when I start doing the work of promoting I immediately feel like "Oh, wow, I really like to be writing and doing something creative right now". I'm sure this is a common sentiment for most people, as I imagine most prefer to actually do the work they love to do rather than convince other people to love their work.

@danielshortell this is a common feeling among artists. When I start going down the path of feeling like I am "forcing myself", I focus on the feedback I have received over the years. I remember all the gratitude given for pushing my content to a wider audience, since most people don't exactly know what they want or how to find it. If you identify your audience correctly, these people will thank you for making it easier to find you. Think of promotion as doing someone a favor: in a world saturated by information overload, you are helping them find that rare piece of good content that will give them exactly what they want, even if didn't know they wanted it yet. Or at least I keep telling myself that. :)

Yep, this is certainly a more positive way of viewing the process. I need to embrace this type of thinking :)

We are here to help each other! Reach out any time!!

Hello, please follow the rules : The rules of the group Steemit for Resteem. You are not a free member of the group anymore. You can use our banner and resteem a post from the group and transfer 0.1 steem or steem dollar to clixmoney to get approved in the group and to get our upvotes. @margarita-de now is not using our group. You have to choose a post from the group.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70098.52
ETH 3942.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70