You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's More Profitable? Uploading to DTube or Uploading to Youtube and Embedding on Steemit?

in #steemit6 years ago

Glad you brought it up! - I've been creating content for #YouTube for over 12 YEARS! I WAS a 'Partner' and earning a TINY amount (at BEST ~$20 per month) in recent times - THEN they demonetised MOST of us!

I came to D-Tube, and have been uploading content HERE also, and whilst it took MONTHS to get even ONE DOLLAR (steemit) I DID suddenly earn US$70 OVERNIGHT! - UNHEARD OF on YT for us little guys...

Of course, DTUBE is infinitely more complex in the steemit side, and very limited to 4 tags, and worst; not (yet) viewable on a TV like youtube, which is where I WATCH 99% of my videos.

It LOOKED like youtube was going to reinstate my monetisation; have been waiting for over 4 months or so, but latest is that it's been 'held back for further review'!! - with NO TIMEFRAME as to WHEN that MAY happen!!

I don't breach their rules, I try to vreate enjoyable content, and this is how they treat what is the VAST magority of their loyal contributors!

Sort:  

Hey Steve, I totally understand the frustrations with Youtube, I have plenty of my own but my personal experience differs a bit. I consider myself a "small" youtuber, my channel is comming up on 80k subs so growing but I'm not huge.

My best month was $4500, even at like 25,000 subscribers which is pretty small I was earning consistantly $2500 per month. More recently earnings have tanked a bit but still WAY more than Dtube.

In fairness I havn't given DTube as much of a chance.

In terms of my experience as a viewer I can start watching Youtube and 6 hours later still be watching, youtube's algorithm is spot on and shows me stuff I didn't even know I liked, they know me better than me. I don't have that same experience on Steemit/DTube.

I think this platform needs a wider array of content ie so many genres and niches are lacking a presence here. I also think the 5 dday earning limit kind of prohibits long form content as the reward just isn't there. For example nobody is ever gonna make a docmentary just for Steemit, only if its cross posted on Youtube and other platforms and steemit is just another distribution channel where the creator isn't reliant on revenue from just this platform.

Don't get me wrong I'm not trying to hate on Steemit but for me Youtube has been much more profitable. I have a pretty good folowing, I post pretty consistant, I try to make quality content and I'm lucky to make $2 a post here.

Understood...But in fairness; Dtube of course, doesn't have a snippet of youtubes giant conglomerate backed MASSIVE array of servers (ACRES!!) either to cope...I'd like to say "maybe one day", but...
And being paid every week HERE, beats MY yearly YT payment (former anyhow!!) because it needs as you know (but other readers may not) one to attain US$100 before payout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63793.53
ETH 3193.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92