Ignorance?!

in #steemit6 years ago

calvin.jpg

I'm an open minded person, I always have been. My father grew up at a time where people weren't as educated as they are now (I think), and when people were certainly much more closed minded...BUT...I digress....

When my father was a kid and got his first paycheck from an after school job, he went directly over to the local record store to buy some music of his favorite singers. Keep in mind TV was pretty new and not many people had it, so the world lived through the radio. Dad, at about the age of 13, went into the store and picked up a handful of records from his favorite artists and was utterly confused. Why? Dad was confused that the artist he thought was 'a black guy' turned out to be a white guy named Elvis....and all the other groups that he loved turned out to be mostly groups of people of color, or the majority of the members of the group were black.

Why do I tell all of you this? Because my dad at an early age realized that people are people. There are good people, and there are really crappy people of all races, colors, creeds, etc...."the color of your skin doesn't make you an asshole, being an asshole makes you an asshole!" (shoutout to Dad).

I'm venting a little here for one main reason...I've had a pretty enjoyable time here on Steemit but I have to admit that I've been cheating on Steemit with her relative: Minds.com . My experience here has always been positive and people seem supportive...although I'm loving my time on Minds, I have noticed an enormous population of ignorant people there who just spew hate all over the place.

Frustrating indeed...but has given me more of a voice and desire to educate the ignorant, as well as pity them.

Thanks for the SoapBox here

Peace and love

Much Respect

Sort:  

Yeah, there is a lot of racial rhetoric on Minds that I don't care for myself. However, in this day and age I think it's important to have a censorship free platform. Free speech in this day & age is extremely important and extremely rare. Unfortunately we don't always agree with what the other person might say. There's no excuse for racial ignorance, but we have a choice to follow those people or not. I think what's more alarming is the fact that eventually, because of the "free speech" issue, the site will end up on the Southern Poverty Law Center's list of sites that promote hate speech, or some terrorist watch list or something ridiculous like that. This I consider to be censorship through fear and control. These are interesting times to be alive to say the least. Keep fighting the good fight my friend!

Thanks a lot Dood. I keep my head up and try to do what's right. I do appreciate free speech, but it can be so frustrating when there is such ignorance in this world. Makes me want to do something about it...educate the masses or become part of something that will help those that really are uninformed. Thanks for taking the time to read and reply!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54