Steemit Community Policing - To Flag or Not To Flag - In the Pursuit of Fairness [Steemit]

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Justice-Law-Scale-Judge-Judicial-Balance-154516.png

- Just Rewards for All

I have not been on Steemit as much as I would like due to other endeavors, but I do try to check in as often as time allows. I wish I could post more, but lately I have been content with at the very least curating. During these bouts of curating, I also like to go to the NEW section to find young Minnow Steemians in order to 'show some Steem Love' and thus helping those same Minnows to stay interested in Steemit.com and possibly even become proselytizers of Steemit.

It feels good to give with an upvote, especially to the newer members here on Steemit, but not when these upvotes are going to cheaters and plagiarizers. I realize that Steemit.com is having explosive user growth, and many are joining thinking that there is 'Free Money' to be had here on Steemit. This excitement has some overlooking the rules or just completely ignoring them for the sake of this 'Free Money' not realizing that this Not welcome behavior here.

I can sympathize with @berniesander 's battle with @haejin . The Haejin user is posting many times per day, and they are primarily based on crypto coin price analysis. The posts usually receive high payouts, and Bernie argues that it is poor content and stealing from the Steemit Rewards Pool. I won't argue the merits of Haejin's posts or Bernie's point of view and flagging. What I can say is that Bernie feels this is unfair to the smaller users of Steemit, and possibly causing a poorer experience for these same users. Bernie is attempting community self-policing, and I can appreciate that.

So today I was looking for some New Steemians to help support with some nice upvotes that yield some small rewards/payouts. Since some are taking advantage of the Steem Reward Pool, I do have to be careful of who gets up-voted. So today I ran into @ravindraojha 's account and was going to up vote his posts but as I said, I researched his account before doing so. There I discovered that this user was using stock images and even recycling the said same images and earning small rewards from them. At this point I was forced to consider the Flag/Downvote. I wound up flagging most of his posts from the last 7 days.

I also found one image that was most likely an original image posted to this account which I up voted. I also made a few comments on different posts explaining that Plagiarism is considered stealing/theft and is not welcome on Steemit.com. I explained that this is what led to all the flags and down voting. On the Post that I was able to Up Vote I commented as to why I up voted and that if similar original content was posted to contact me for further support. I prefer to up vote rather than to Down Vote.

So the point of this is to remain vigilant and supportive of both Steemit.com and its users as well. I believe this is the pursuit of fairness here on steemit, and encouragement (up votes and positive re-enforcement) rather than criticism (down votes and no explanation) should be the catalyst to that end. This is every Steemian's responsibility if Steemit.com is to continue to carry us, its user base, on its path to success.

Update: After posting this, user @ravindraojha has edited his most recent posts by removing the plagiarized images and posting unique images but if you look at his older posts, which he cannot edit any longer, you will see the pattern I mentioned in this post.

Full Steem Ahead!
1/28/18
@streetstyle

img src:
Pic 1

Sort:  

People who have the power will always dictate the rules.

By the way why steemit don't make the rule where amount of articles that you can post is based on your rating. So new people will have to climb up the rating before being able to post more than a certain amount of articles per day. And there will be less spam.

I mean... it's not a complete restriction, just maximum of 1-3 posts per day before they get to higher rating.

@yaan I like this thought, so I up voted it to the top so others can see it too. Great IDEA!

Heya @streetstyle,

I can definitely agree with you on the fact that this reward pool abuse is discouraging newer accounts, and showing many that it doesn't matter to play by "the rulez". I found one of my favorite artists @jcleff in the new section, and she is talented c:

I think it really does come down to doing our own part in keeping Steemit clean, but starting small- I am flagging spam comments on my posts. Other than joining flagging parties, I am thinking about encouraging creating better content.

Mahalo,
@shello

Hello my friend! Hope all fine on your side! I have been away too since some weeks due to the opening of my bistro. But I do check from time to time.
I am with you with your way of helping out original content authors.
Happy to read from you!

Congrats on the opening of the Bistro, that is awesome @progressivechef

you are the great soul

Thanks for the post includes valuable information both of begginers and older Steem members. I totally agree with you and I wish everyone would do it like you.

Plagiarism is considered stealing/theft and is not welcome on Steemit.com.

Unfortunately there are a lot of people who plagiarize..

Thanks again, all the best.

@cemke I agree that there are instances of plagiarism. If you see it you can let me know and maybe let @berniesanders know too if it is bad enough. We can try to address it but no guarantees.

Thanks for your considering @streetstyle, I will let you know when I see again this situation.

steemit is the best platform and we have to take care of it, thanks.

there is some issue with post content which is qualitiful but not getting attention with curation, other hand is just post anything which is paid more.
so there are always positive and drawback of every platform, some time we are helpless with the system and ethical laws. down vote and flag may impact to slow down their rocket race. but we are looking forward with small upvote.

Nice post friend and i agree with your thoughts, supporting new steemians who are producing original content is important for the growth of steemit and it also give more encouragement to new steemians, i also try to follow your points, thanks for sharing your nice thoughts with us, Stay blessed

Thank you for supporting people who are new in steemit just like me :) I totally agree with you. I wish you will post more. Have a nice day

It's a difficult discusion and I didn't see a good solution to the spam problem.

We get a lot of good income from Steam. So being interested in doing so many new jobs. It's much easier to work here, so many people are risking this way. But the problem is that Steemit is not accepting our country's account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59