STEEMIT DRAMA: What is going on in the Steemit community?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm relatively new to the Steemit community, so I don't profess to know all the ins and outs of the community and the histories of those that have been here, etc, but what I do know is that when I first joined Steemit, the community stood out to me as being nice, respectful, and supportive.

In the past 10 days I've noticed a HUGE change. All of a sudden, my feed is being bombarded with STEEM DRAMA, and try as I might I cannot seem to get to the bottom of it.

STEEM DETECTIVES, HELP ME OUT!

The first sign of drama I noticed was the dramatic "I'm Out" post by @craig-grant.

https://steemit.com/steem/@craig-grant/1-million-steem-power

After some digging it seems that Craig's posts were being downvoted by @fulltimegeek. The main issues seemed to be @craig-grant constant draining of the reward pool by self-voting, his promotion of Bitconnect that many believe to be a scam, and his downvoting others to get more rewards into the pool.

After the dramatic "I'm Out" post, it seems @fulltimegeek is no longer downvoting, and @craig-grant is back to posting.

When the dust had settled on that, seemingly out of no where, more drama reared its head.

@dan had posted two posts addressing critiques and claims by Ether creator in regards to EOS. This in itself is not too noteworthy, as I think anyone would want to set the record straight on their creation, life's work. What was interesting was that Steemit creator @ned flagged/downvoted one of the posts created by @dan! This is shocking to me! @dan has previously said there is no drama between him and @ned, but this flag makes me think that might not be the case.

https://steemit.com/eos/@dan/response-to-vitalik-buterin-on-eos

Then I wake up this morning to find this investigative post by @joseph! Please read as he explains the situation better than I ever could.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@joseph/an-open-ended-question-to-ned-and-dan

For those that didn't read the short of it is @dan downvoted arguably the most popular posted of Steemit @sweetsssj. Although there is much speculation, we do not know why. My guess is that @dan realized there is a flaw in the Steemit platform that allows for the same people to constantly be on the trending page, and he wanted to combat that a little. Steemit sees downvoting as legitimate as upvoting in the community; sort of a checks and balances system.

What is strange is that, around the same time, the very popular people's hero, @officialfuzzy was being downvoted by @ned! No one seems to know why, and I have no guesses as to why this is happening, but @officialfuzzy left us a clue with this comment, " Ned apparently doesnt pay attention to the fact that this post gives away more than it receives...

Thank God you have no control over me ned. Thank GOD i didnt sell out to u early on for double my sp (like u wanted).

And @thedonfreeman im not a whale compared to ned. I just do more for his community with less. He cant have me showing him up.

Keep downvoting me ned. I wont stop building and youll never shut me up."

https://steemit.com/beyondbitcoin/@officialfuzzy/beyondbitcoin-rsvp-whaletank-hangout-2178-8-04-17-over-1000-steem-in-awards

WOW.. would love to know more about what happened there...

If anyone has anymore information on these feuds please comment below! It really feels like the beginning of a war is about to breakout in the Steemit community. Also, if anyone has any comments about why they think this is happening now, I would love to hear your theories.

(All gifs from giphy.com)

Sort:  

Well, I think you just informed most of us of something we didn't know was going on. Maybe you should keep posting "As the STEEM Turns".

Hahahaha, that is a great idea! It could be like a regular series where I am an investigative journalist, but I'm sure that would get me many downvotes!

Sounds like a plan.. go for it and have some fun with the 'drama'

Side Note : I haven't reSteemed an article in days, but this is definitely worth it.

Aww, thank you. I think you're the first person ever to resteem a post of mine. Followed you for supporting!

outbreaks of drama on Steemit is normal. It will run its course until the next drama outbreak occurs. Just watch and enjoy. It's better than having soap operas... oh wait.. that is our soap operas.

This current drama might make STEEM explode!

If you mean the price moving upward... lots rock :)

I guess it depends on how the whale fight ends.

Does anyone know if there was a falling out between @dan and @ned?

I've only been here a month and a half.
Dan moving on to EOS might have caused some discord between the two. I don't know. Maybe Ned just got tired of certain people and how they were draining the rewards pool.

That sucks because if they were aligned EOS could be a dynamic part of the Steemit community.

It's good to hear it's normal and not something that will take down the site, but yeah, I would be lying if I said I wasn't totally engrossed by the drama!

oh that's not to say that it isn't fascinating to find out what is going on lol

Part of what's really interesting to me is that SteemIt is supposed to be a test of the Liberitarian dream in a way. All this infighting, complaints about money and whales, and desperation for pivoted really speaks to human nature and if a Liberitarian system could work well.

Shhhh...ya gonna break a bunch of hearts talking like that.

I know! Trust me, I would be one of the broken hearts!!!

Guess it is one thing to have a dream, even think through the pros and cons ... it's quite another dealing with the very nature of people. If the platform was just people with Libertarian ideals there might be less drama.. or, just as much as human nature kicks in.

yea i would like to know what's going on.

Me too. I'm especially interested in finding out if these are personal beefs, or strategic moves. I guess time will tell.

I stepped in of dropping of crap last week. Fairly sure, if I'd kept examining the players, it would have led to some shading of these events you've revealed.

I've got a bunch of irons in the fire atm. Let me see if I can move a few things around tomorrow or Friday ...

I'm not sure we can get to the absolute bottom ... but my take on what I stepped in is this ...

There's people taking it on themselves to do a whole lot of smacking down about stuff they don't completely understand and they are smacking people that are contributing to the community via legal means, means that are being misconstrued as selfish and anti-social.

BUT I have to draw a frigg'n map to keep track of all the players!

BAsically ... you know ... just between us girls ... it looks a whole lot like a bitch smack down instead of actually focusing on restructuring the community infrastructure so that everyone is able to take care of everyone in a constructive and safe method.

For example it would have been ever so much more helpful for @dan to take time to write out an article that references problems in the code ... line by line ... something he is MORE THAN QUALIFIED TO DO.

And @ned also has no business smacking people down without an explanation to the rest of us ... unless of course he's moved on up to sole dictatorship ... just say'n.

So instead we're left guessing, etc.

Buttttttt I'll get back to you with the few clues I got.

In the mean time. Do the proper Libritarian thing and do the best investigative reporting that you can do. Because how "they" respond to you, will definitely be telling.

And ... the rest of us need to be reposting you and exploring for ourselves.

Wow, I feel like your comment just opened a door to another universe!! I would definitely like to follow up on all of this drama and see if there is anymore information to be found. Luckily I'm a minnow, so I feel like there would be no point in anyone coming after me in the flame wars (famous last words probably).

But I definitely agree, especially about @ned. His actions seem very suspicious and still no word from him. @ned answer these allegations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75