Where has the steemspirit gone? Pressing the 'reset button'.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

After steemfest it felt really good to be here. Even the ones who couldn´t make it to Amsterdam had this special sensation 'to be part of IT'. During weeks there was nothing else than 'maybe the best weekend of my life'. 

It felt so good!
There was this common sense of 'we´ll do that, no matter how'

Where has this 'spirit' gone? Or maybe it hasn´t gone but doesn´t show up anymore? 

RESET 

A new year, a new chance.
Maybe it´s just a personal thing, but I have this sensation that there has been a lot of bad mood lately on steemit.
Much abuse, much flagging, a lot of unobjective discussions, kind of mobbing, a lot of not so nice words... 

Why? On which purpose? 

Maybe we should all remember why we started. 


A lot of times I have heard people saying: 'I came for the money but stayed for the community.'
I would sign that. 

Looking at some of the latest 'discussions' - or better said mud-wrestlings - it´s hard to find this temper again.
There is few solidarity. 

Maybe the winter holidays are a nice period to calm down, bethink and then go ahead smoothly. 

PERSPECTIVE

Opening a new year (a new chapter) will help us to rediscover the spirit. 

The 'roadmap' announced by @dantheman and @ned will be presented in an appropriate moment I think. It´s important to have a perspective, and maybe some have been missing it lately. People tend to hold others responsable for their own struggle when they don´t know how to proceed and where to move. 

It´s much about confidence. And maybe some of us need to regain it and then go ahead full speed. 

LET´S KEEP WHAT WE HAVE BUILT - STEEMSPIRIT

Independently of the destination of this little adventure: let´s keep what we already have - an outstanding community.

#steemspirit

I opened the tag #steemspirit. Feel free to write about 'your own steemspirit' using the tag. Maybe it´s just one small step into the right direction.  


Now I´ll have to take care of my family and fully enjoy Christmas Eve :)
Wishing you all smooth and steemy holidays! xxx

Cheers,
Marly -


Picture source cover: pixabay.com; quote: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/

Sort:  

I enjoyed this post @surfermarly and I share your sentiments. The intensity of interpersonal connectiveness felt during and immediately after SteemFest was incredible. The boundaries of different cliques were being dissolved and people were working together. The spirit is still alive but it would be great to see it grow to its previous intensity. It's going to take new ideas, collaboration, open minds, patience, and enthusiasm for this experiment called Steemit to succeed. I have every hope that it will. Cheers to you and have a wonderful Holiday!

Thank you for your wise words and reblog, @ericvancewalton. I am totally with you. Wish you some nice last days in 2016, too!

You're welcome, surfermarly! Thank you and best of luck to you and to us all in this new year!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $17.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Always a great experience to read your posts! There is so much positivity in what you say and I hope that your reward is a multiple return! Have a very Happy Christmas!

Thank you very much for your kind words @ebryans! The World is tough enough. I think staying positive on our little steemy island is the only way.
Merry Merry Christmas to you, too!!! xxx

I had a few wine but here we go. Steemfest was one of the best things I ever been part of in my life. I guess nothing (not even Steemit) can beat real human interaction with like minded people. And that's great, can you imagine if that wasn't so?

I was buzzing after Steemfest as well and many with me I'm sure. That this high spirit has died down a bit seems only natural to me. Personally I love Steemit and I love producing content for it. I still have a very good feeling about the whole project and I see a very bright future! And it's still the only social media platform I use every day (and care about)!

Last thing I write today! I'm also going back to the festivities! Merry Christmas Marly!

Thanks for your nice comment @exyle, I hope you enjoyed the wine ;)
I have also a very good feeling about the project. The fact that people like us are still here and pushing it forward is a good sign. 2017 will be awesome!
Merry Merry Christmas xxx

Probably the short sellers are here, same thing happened to Ethereum on Reddit after January 2016. Before then it was enthusiasts and long term holders there mostly and was very friendly. It likely will permanently stay this way I think, but probably only because STEEM is a good investment now with hyperinflation gone. I consider it a normal good sign of growth myself.

Every good sign is a good sign ;-) Thanks for your comment @taoteh1221. I am not an investor but a blogger and I look at the project from the authors' point of view. Focusing exclusively on the content, there was a considerable change. Thing is that the whole system wouldn't work if the content quality suffered in the long term. The dialogues have become very rude, and I hope new users don't get scared by the scenario. But maybe they come from the platforms you mentioned and are already used to it...
It's going to be an exciting ride in any way! Merry Christmas :)

I think once they get a lot of downvotes they may come around to behaving themselves, just be ready for these short sell traders to be rude when they lose money they can't afford to lose, not being experienced traders. Merry Christmas to you too, and Happy New Year! :-)

I´ll be ready! :-)
Happy 2017 to you, too!!!

Great post! Merry Christmas :)

Thank you Tim! I am glad you enjoyed the read. Merry Xmas :)

Here's to a great year for the Steemit community in 2017! Enjoy your time with family!

Yeah!!! Thank you @haphazard-hstead, I am fully enjoying these holidays. Haven't seen my brother for half a year and now we are celebrating US :-)
Enjoy your time, too!

I definitely started for the money, and that is still a big motivator because I have things that I want to accomplish, but I have also communicated with some great people on Steemit chat and on their posts and mine, and to me that has been the biggest takeaway. There are some very talented and very good people here.

Merry Christmas and all the best to you @surfermarly!

I fully agree @sgtechservices! It's always a pleasure to read these talents and learn from them. Wishing you marvellous holidays, too.

Thank you @surfermarly. All the best to you now and in the New Year.

Differences of opinion are inevitable, and indeed were considered an unavoidable development as the Steemit project grew. One of the things that attracted me to Steemit was the careful consideration given to how to deal with its development in the Steemit White Paper.

The Steemit White Paper outlines the fact that abusive behaviour would develop as the community grew. The solution proposed is the combination of the financial reward system, and the astuteness of curators to detect deliberately conflicting or trolling behaviour. Put simply, postings that are without merit do not get rewarded. The poster can only face the realisation that he or she is losing money through such behaviour. Punishment for trolling is achieved by the absence of a reward, not by the infliction of a penalty.

Constructive arguing, however, can be illuminating. There may never be agreement, but there can be openness. It is always helpful to understand the other person's point of view, even if you think it holds less merit than your own.

It is early days for Steemit, and the rise of disagreement was foreseen. Hopefully the design built into the Steemit reward structure will help deal with it in a constructive manner.

Thank you for your detailed reply @coldmonkey! I am totally with you regarding the rewards and a huge fan of constructive discussions. The only thing I disagree with is the way people are talking to each other lately. It's becoming very rude, very aggressive and unobjective. I rather missed the openness you mentioned, and it would be great to get it back in 2017!
Wish you some enjoyable last days of 2016 ;) Peace

Very well said, Merry Christmas! The excitement will come back. I think having a 2-3 events per year will help.

It surely will come back! Thanks for the beautiful picture @hilarski. Hope you enjoyed Christmas, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67653.09
ETH 3789.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50