You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit a Young Frankenstein? My Devilish Experiment Will Show Us the Truth

in #steemit7 years ago

Vier, quatre, four, si quatro etc. Well it is true that if you are a hot steemian, you will get more votes than page views. It’s the bots voting on the blockchain without reading your article. Their motive is to game the system by milking the rewards from popular bloggers. By upvoting they share the rewards on the post. There is a whole science in when you should vote. Some say exactly 19 mins after posting. The bots take care of all this. It’s a big con.

Thise who are doing it claim they are supporting good writers whom they don’t have time to read. More bollocks and just another excuse to game the system.

Good writers realise they can now get votes without good content, and so are encouraged to increase quantity and reduce quality. It’s bad for Steemit.

Sort:  

Hi, Swissclive - Thank you for explaining this - I am not quite clever/knowledgeable about Steemit enough yet to fully comprehend your explanation - is anyone working on a way to un-game this?

It seems like such a relatively noble enterprise...it’s a shame that with only hundreds of thousand of users scammers are already taking over...

I'm not in this for the money, fortunately, except, sort of, in reverse. I don’t want to be a slave to Zuckerberg et al.

I find it baffling that people - billions of people - spend their days like serfs...no, slaves...(well, willing slaves) posting their photos on Instagram etc et al, in order to make investors in those companies rich. Why are you making strangers (most likely, strangers) billionaires? I guess most people, subconsciously at least, just want to be slaves. Why else?

On the other hand, video is expensive to host/stream, and on Youtube you can share in ad revenue - so that, as a surely inadvertent exception, seems relatively fair. But why would I write on Tumbler? Why post on Facebook?

So I came here to Steem to do try something that seemed, at least, fair, if not lucrative or enriching. But, now, you’re telling me that I’m making scammers and bot-makers money by posting here…

Geez….the internet, I understand, was a nice place before the invention of the WWW. Some guy is creating a new protocol called LBRY, which maybe will do what Steemit tries to do, as I understand it, but, maybe even better?

I dunno, I find it all kind of depressing….

But, thanks for replying to me!

the people u call scammers are people who are investing their time and money and effort into multiplying their wealth on this platform without having to be a slave to another human. what is wrong with that? who is stopping you from creating your own bot that votes on your stuff?

if you guys are interested in cons, you should look into how modern fiat currencies are created and managed and by who.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68494.93
ETH 3762.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65