Having Bandwidth Issues? (CSA)

in #steemit6 years ago

This is hopefully a post that will help some people out who are facing bandwidth issues on the platform and something I hadn't considered before. I just came across a friend who's friend was having an issue and then did a little digging.

Essentially, an account's Steem Power is the access to the blockchain which means under heavier loads, it will affect the smallest accounts first. This account I came accross had 29 SP, which was the minimum amount required to create an account on Steeminvite.com before the prices of Steem went up. Now it is half that at 14.5 I think.

Great, more people can create accounts for friends and family and their multiple alts but, the amount doesn't buy a lot of bandwidth and if removed before enough is earned and powered up, the created account is going to struggle heavily for access.

However, 29 is enough bandwidth to access so why the problem? If an account powers down to zero, for all intents and purposes, it is locked as it has no access. The only way to re-enable it is to delegate to it as even transferred SP will require bandwidth to power it up. I delegated some to this account to get it some access but then when I went to check the delegation, I noticed something odd. It had only 3 SP delegated. Huh?

Well, the delegation of course goes both ways but the number only tells a minus or a plus. for example, I have paid delegation of around 25,000 Steem but my account delegation reads (+22,088.240 STEEM). This is because I delegate out about 3000 Steem to other accounts from my own Steem power. If I only delegated out and had none coming in, it would read (-3000) in the wallet.

So, the account had 29 SP + the 30 I delegated but only read 3 as delegated. That means it was delegating 27 Steem out to something else. This could be another account or in this particular case, it was going to @minnowbooster. Delegating to them may get returns but people need to remember that while SP is delegated, it is no longer theirs which means, no bandwidth. The account had been left with 2 Steem power to navigate the blockchain. That is not enough.

People must consider this when they are creating new accounts for example as if they do not have enough Steem Power, they will run into trouble, as will the created account if not enough is delegated to it. If delegating to things like @minnowbooster, you have to make sure that you leave enough Steem Power to vote, post, comment etc.

If anyone from @minnowbooster or similar initiatives read this, please update the information so that people are aware of this as it seems many are not and are delegating too much of their Power leaving them short on bandwidth.

If you are in this issue or know of anyone in this issue, please share this along and let them know that if the undelegate or power up more, they will likely solve many of their hassles.

Hopefully this helps some people struggling with bandwidth issues.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

@guchtere , this explains everything that happened ;-) |
Great explanation @tarazkp and again , thanks for helping out the way that you did!

Yes i got it! Thanks @tarazkp en @thetimminator for helping out:)

When I return at home will change minnowbooster settings!

It is not a problem. I actually hadn't thought of it before but have had many comments. I think many people are having the same issue.

I think this post is pretty on point. We had a chuckle the other day when my wife was pretty much locked out due to low SP (@freedomtowrite). It wasn't ten mintues after she ranted a little that a friend texted asking why he couldn't do anything on Steemit. @freedompoint

I think many accounts have been created from low SP accounts where not enough was delegated or it was removed before the account had a chance to stand alone. delegating/powering up a little will do wonders for many of the issues.

This happened to me. I had around 15 SP but I noticed that updating comments kills your bandwidth. I powered up all of my few Steem and I haven't had problems after that.

Thanks for this, my friend too was having such an issue, when he was trying to comment, he had been commenting the whole day yet he was new.
His bandwidth went into -80. He has steem power of 4+9.6
Of course that's too little for the work he was doing.

yes, I think many are having the same issue where they are active but don't have enough SP

I am in #DolphinSchool bootcamp right now and this has been an ongoing issue for many of the newer folks. I noticed ever since they took back the delgated SP from many accounts that Bandwidth has been an issue ever since.

Your explanation as to why this is happening has been one of the best run-downs I have heard so far. I resteemed the post so hopefully it will answer many people's questions about this!

I think this is very helpful, I had no idea about this before I encountered exceeded bandwidth a couple of days ago. I was upset because I thought I was being punished! I googled for hours trying to figure it out. I hope a lot of people see this instead so they know before they experience this!

yes i was suffering from same problem .i am trying to solve it but it took very long time for me to figure this out but now problem was that I did't had much money to buy delegation but now I did make that much money . now I am trying to buy delegation at the current time I dont have bandwidth problem but I want to secure myself. and I wanna share this info with others . RESTEEMED your post

rather than just buying delegation, you need to power up some into Steem Power or else you will always have the problem.

yeap i will do it....thanks sir

I had the same problem until I nice guy delegated my some SP...


The thing is it affects the people who delegate but it also affect the new users and that's the real problem. Steemit needs to increase its user retention if we want the platform to grow, and the current bandwidth problems are making it harder and harder for a new user to stay on the platform.

a lot of new users are invited in from current users who don't provide the, with much SP it seems

I've joined Steemit about 2 weeks ago, and since then I've invited 4 of my friends on it. I think the new users are the ones who invite their friends. The old ones already did that when they joined. And when you are new you can barely help yourself, not even a chance of helping others regarding this problem.

yes, and many have used services like steeminvite to make the invitation but haven't allocated enough SP to those they invite in. Many have also created alternative accounts but haven't had enough to split.

You are right, but we really need a sustainable solution because this is just going to get worse with more and more people joining.

Bandwidth the biggest problem i am having on steemit .Thanks for sharing this resourceful informantion.

Yes, you have mentioned this before which means you do not have enough Steem power. Do you still have the problem with the delegation from @eturnerx?

No,for now am safe,and free from bandwidth thanks to him @eturnerx he has been a blessing in disguise.

good to hear. use the chance to build your own just in case :)

Am seriuosly working on that, thanks so much.

Thanks for sharing this. I was wondering what the whole bandwidth thing is. I had 2 days where I couldn't post, upvote or anything. I also noticed that my upvote is now worth $0.00 dollars, is that because of Steem prices going down?

yes, the vote is connected to the price of steem and your Steem power. If you can buy and power up a little steem it would help a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62