Steemit And Other Developers: Stop Tying Everything To The Blog Page!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I am not sure if the fault lies with the Steemit team or the developers who are producing apps on the steem blockchain that are being tied into steemit. However, there is a major problem brewing which needs attention.

This morning I was playing around with zappl and steepshot. Both are sensational apps in my opinion providing this blockchain with decentralized apps that further can penetrate the social media market. For those who are unaware, zappl is similar to twitter while steepshot is akin to instagram.

The challenge I found with both of these apps, and it might not be the apps, is that anything done on either app appears on the blog page on Steemit. This cannot be. Quite simply, I sent out two zaps and one pic on steepshot and my page is already starting to look "messy". I can only imagine getting into a zappl conversation with someone or taking 15 steepshot pics and posting them. What will the blog page look like then? It will be a total carnage.

From my perspective, there are one of two ways this can go. The first is that the app developers (or steemit) decide to keep everything separate. This would model the non-clockchain world since instagram posts do not appear on blogger and twitter entries aren't tied to reddit. Of course, this does negate some of the advantage of the blockchain although not much since it is still only using one account.

The second is to create an activities page. Let the blog page be what is actually posted on steemit (and even busy and chainbb). However, have the other developers tie their apps to the activities page so that it becomes a repository for all activity done on the blockchain. To me, this makes the most sense. People can search a user via the activities page to see all they did while also clicking on the blog page to see their direct steemit related posts.

Either way, something needs to be done if there is to be widespread adoption of these apps.

Please upvote this and resteem it to any developers you might now. They need to be aware of this issue.

Pictures from google images

Sort:  

I've been thinking the same exact thing recently but for different reasons. I've been using the steemconnect 2 SDK and noticed this in the "follow" function:

json: JSON.stringify(['follow', { follower, following, what: ['blog'] }])

Notice the "what" property is set to "blog". This implies to me that there is at least some level of thought / support for posting and following things other than the "blog".

I haven't been able to find any more information about this or if anything other than "blog" is actually possible at this time. I'm guessing it isn't.

Having a messy blog on SteemIt is annoying, but this issue will present much bigger problems than that as more 3rd party sites and SMTs are released.

I'm planning a post about this as well and hope to really get through to the Steem developers to make sure they understand and will address this problem.

I am following you now but please be sure to post the link to the post in one of my blog posts so that I see it....I would like to read what you write about this topic.

It seems that in the code you posted, they just need to change that to ['comments'] for the time being. At least then all the third party apps would end up in the comment section which would be tolerable.

Thank you for your sharing what you uncovered.

I would suggest going so far as to limiting the blog page exclusively to Steemit posts only. Everything else would go somewhere else, preferably in appropriate subs. Would be nice to see since I think it would give status and real added value to steemit.com.

I agree that the blog page should be limited to steemit....

Perhaps they could make tabs for the commonly used apps like d.tube, zappl, etc. with a catchall for everything else. Or even better, allow the users to alter their tabs. If you want zappl but dont use dtube, you can switch it out so all your zappl go into that tab and use the other for something else.

Overall, I agree that all of these apps are going to help the steem blockchain. It appears the entire social media spectrum is being covered. Over time, as the bugs are worked out, these apps could be threats to the instagram and twitters of the world.

I agree!

Development is most satisfactory to say the least. It's not a question of "if", but rather "when" the disruption and dislocation happens. Good things take time to make perfect. 😎

Well, during the time nobody could get anything posted on steemit, it was nice to use busy.org. Even now, I sometimes hop between the 2. One works, and not the other and vice versa....

Good content on steemit will eventually be very hard to find once the Zaps start rollin in. I totally agree with you. They gotta be separate in order to maintain their individual rolls on the block chain and not just a mesh of all types of social media.

That is my main concern. Can you imagine each person's blog page if they start posting a hundred zaps a day? Couple that with a few D.tube videos and 20-30 steepshop pics and you have a total lack of ability to find anything.

Plus the categories that are tagged to each post will really be carnage. There will be 100 times more zaps and the quality articles will be lost.

If you want to check out Zaps go to Zappl, as far as D.tube I kinda like the fact it shows on steemit more visibility but then again d.tube hasn’t reached its full potential. This is definately an issue that needs attention quick before it becomes a mess.

I agree with the d.tube being linked...I can live with that since people typically arent posting 20 videos a day (and if they are, let them deal with all that on their blog page).

Yes zappl needs to be separate unless they do an activities page which becomes a catchall.

" zappl is similar to twitter while steepshot is akin to instagram", i need to remember that, ty

Yeah me too. lol

I am trying to compile a list of the third party apps and what they do...I will try to do a post on it.

@taskmaster4450 i was approached by the team behind @zappl. They informed that the key to 'hiding' our activities on other apps from Steemit is dependent on the admins running Steemit. Unless our admins from Steemit decide to create the visibility function for users, there's nothing zappl can do about it.

@steemitblog @ned @steemitdev please take note <3

Thank you for the 411 @aaronmcheong.

That answers it...it is up to the steemit team to correct this issue....this will only increase in volume and intensity as more apps come online.

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

If it helps some of the problems being encountered on Steemit @taskmaster4450 I hope it will. Not being a coder or developer it does make sense.

The old interface is full

@taskmaster4550 I hadn't heard of Zappl until your post - Definitely will have to check this app out. Thanks for mentioning it. In the meantime, would just like to share episode 8 of Crypto nights with you!

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@antonburton/introduction-to-litecoin-crypto-nights-episode-8

Keeping it separate with a tabbed interface would be quite helpful, I think. Or a series of check-boxes to select which content from a user (or within a feed) you'd like displayed.

It's the way I feel about re-steems. Sometimes I want to see them, since it is a great way to discover new writers recommended by folks I follow. But other times I just want to get to know someone, and like to filter all that out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68