Should you upvote your own posts or not???

in #steemit7 years ago

Good day, my fellow Steemians!!!

Do you guys upvote your own posts or not? Should you or should you not? Let's discuss.

images.duckduckgo.com.jpg

First of all, let me put very briefly, how the curation rewards work.

25% of a post's total payout is paid as Curation Rewards to the curators (upvoters).

Earlier you upvote a post, more is the reward for you. The first upvoter gets the largest share of the curation reward, followed by the second and so on. But there's a catch. A part of curation reward will be changed to author reward, if a post gets its first upvote within 30 minutes of its submission.

So, curation reward takes 30 minutes to build up completely i.e. 100%. Before that you upvote a post, a part of it will be changed to author reward and will be given to author and not to the curators. To get an idea,

1. If you upvote within 15 minutes you give 99.94% to the author and get only 00.06%
2. If you upvote after 15 minutes you give 50% to the author and receive 50%
3. If you upvote after 30 minutes you receive 100% curation reward

The percentages mentioned above depict the share of the curation reward i.e. 50% means 50% of curation reward, which is in turn, 25% of the post's total payout. So, in case 2, the author will get 87.5% (75% + 12.5% ) and the curators will get only 12.5% of the total payout.

Now, you know what will happen if you upvote a post immediately after its inception (see case 1). I come across a lot of posts where I see one upvote just seconds after the post's submission. Guess what, it's the author himself. :D

I know exactly why do you do that. You also want to earn the Curation reward for your post along with the Author reward, and why shouldn't you? You put in a lot of efforts to create and submit your post on the steemit, and 25% of that will go to the curators. WTF, right!!!

Many Steemians have suggested here to upvote your own posts to earn greater rewards. They have demonstrated that, given proofs that it works in real and earns you lot more if you follow Narcissism (well, you like your own post). In fact, I guess you would have observed that yourself.

Now, let me share my perspective on this. When, you upvote your own post (just seconds after its inception), you are taking away the curation rewards. It might discourage fellow steemians from upvoting your post. I mean, why would they upvote without any rewards. That in turn might bring down your post's total payout.

Oh, these curators are being selfish, you would say. Do they care only about the rewards, and not the community. Won't they upvote because you have posted such great content. Well, they might or might not. But I am not sure who got selfish first. :p

People looking to earn some curation rewards here on Steemit scan the new posts relating to the tag of their interest. They try to upvote first on a post after few minutes has elapsed since its inception to earn maximum rewards. Think when they will see your upvote already there. Well, if your content is so much appealing that they won't be able to control themselves to upvote your post, then you need not worry.

Personally, whenever I see the author's name in the list of upvoters, I refrain from upvoting that post. I do this not because I know that it won't earn me any curation reward even after losing my voting power. I do this because I see author's selfishness in that gesture of him upvoting his own post. When the author only cares about getting all the rewards for himself and not about sharing it with the community, why the f*ck would I?

At last, this is my personal opinion:

Upvoting your own post (just after its inception) will earn you all the payout from that post. But it might cut down the number of upvotes you would have got otherwise.

Advice and Suggestions are most welcome!!!

Sort:  

That's an interesting perspective. I was under the impression we were supposed to upvote our own posts and comments. "Upvote post" used to be checked by default when submitting a story even. Is this no longer the case? Should we not upvote our own posts?

Congratulations @tech-nomad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

As I heard, you shouldn't upvote because other senior users won't upvote your posts . And the reason is , as you explained, sooner you upvote someones post, bigger reward you'll get. Great post .

Yes, right @herboboi. Thank you.

Being REALLY new to Steemit (read "wet behind the ears") this is useful information so my question is, what about comments within said time frame?

Comments are also considered as posts in the Steemit blockchain. So, you get the authorship awards for them in the same sense as the posts. As far as the question of whether to upvote your own comments or not, I think others rarely upvote comments. So, you can help yourself out there :)

Thank you for your response, I should have added or even clarified. Are comments considered to be the same as upvotes on a new post within the same time frame? Meaning the comment would give a percentage of the curation reward to the author?

Yes, comments are completely equivalent to the posts in every sense. So, upvotes on comments are considered as same as upvotes on a new post. Curation rewards (and all that time frame) also work in the same way on comments as on posts. Hope that helps.

Now I'm picking in your brain and reaching for more information as you seem to have a lot of valuable info. :) If someone posts a comment (and doesn't even upvote) within the time frame, what effect is there if any?

Thank you, well I am just learning and sharing on the way. I guess, there is no effect, if one doesn't upvote and only comments within the mentioned time frame.

This was going to be my next question lol

I'm wondering now as well. Should we upvote our comments or not?

@ancapwarren, please read my reply to @thebrewster above.

Interesting dilemma... I have always upvoted my own post.. didn't really see the selfish side until you mention it

This info's really good to know, I always thought the sooner you upvote someone else the better.... This kind of makes me rethink everything I've been doing the past few days

Yeah, there is a lot to know about the Steemit platform.

As I'm quickly finding out, its almost overwhelming for someone as wet behind the ears as I am to even begin trying to learn such a complex system, it seems the more I look and the more I find out the less I know how to even begin this journey

Yeah, I can understand that feeling. It always happens whenever you start learning any new complex thing. But I believe, with dedication and perseverance, one can gain enough insights and become knowledgeable. I'm also with you in this process :)

I didn't know any of this. Learning, learning, learning.

I'm with you in the learning process :)

Congratulations @tech-nomad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tech-nomad! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks - great information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55