Buttoned Down Accountant Plunges into Hidden World

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

"I AM AN IDIOT" was my first thought.  No wonder only podcast guests and hackers can do this shit.   

Several months ago I listened to a Joe Rogan podcast featuring Andreas Antonopolous and although I had heard of Bitcoin that was about it.  From that Podcast I set up a bitwage account and a week later sure enough my payroll deduction had been converted to Bitcoin but the only problem was I had no idea where it was.  I had just sent part of my paycheck into the interwebs and I had no idea where it went.  I AM AN IDIOT was my first thought.  No wonder only podcast guests and hackers can do this shit.  

OH Thank Heavens

YOU apparently have the POWER to earn ME Bitcoin with one click

Someone is out there YAY! Not sure if it's cool to put his contact info out there but since its a business I figure there's no such thing as bad press and as you can see its a good company that looks out for rookies.  

In order to receive my bitcoin I needed a wallet which I had read about but also didn't fully understand.  So I set up an account at Coinbase and got a wallet.  At this point I was starting to wonder about the amount of information I was spreading around to unknown sources but then I thought, Fuck it.  So after a mere 4 e-mails I received my bitcoin and once again had no fucking clue what to do now, but felt good that I did something.  

I didn't do anything for a month then looked at my balance on Coinbase when I saw a story on cnbc that Bitcoin may break $1,000.  It is then that I noticed I have a Bitcoin balance but what is this Ethereum?

So I looked online duh? Oh its another crypto-currency.  I googled "how to exchange bitcoin for ethereum" I happened upon the Cryptoverse podcast by Chris Coney in my search and I gave it a listen and learned I could use Shapeshift and a few minutes later I had Ethereum.   I have been listening to the Cryptoverse which is how I learned about Steem and Steemit.com where I became the newest minnow in the pond.


and how I learned about Supload.

YOU apparently have the POWER to earn ME Bitcoin with one click

It's a decent spot to house some photos and my whopping $0.0020 is based on 5 views so I just need 2495 more views and I will be at the $1.00 minimum to withdraw my bitcoin haha!  

I still don't know what I am doing or what I will do in this new world but it sure is fun and folks sure are friendly.



Sort:  

is it bad that I read this again - and laughed harder the second time?

no, that's totally good, right?

oh.... if i were a whale - I would make it rain steem for you.

but alas. all i can do is giggle again, and resteem. My resteem doesn't mean anything really. Just a token, an almost meaningless gesture.

But it's the thought that counts... lol

Please make me laugh daily! (the handwritten Dum Dum gets me everytime i look at it)

It is the thought that counts.

:)
Hope your day is filled with laughter

busting up!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

for real - laughed from beginning to end.

I too need this power. but i'm terrified that I will be penniless on the street!!!!!

LOL make another post. like - step by step - what you did and what i need to do.
and i promise you. i will give you my upvote and add $0.003 to your amassing fortune. LOL

I'm definitely impressed you went with Bitwage. I've been thinking about it myself but have gone another way for now to have flexibility.

I definitely chuckled and giggled the whole way through

Which route did you go? Always looking to learn something new and flexibility is always a good thing.

For a time I did an auto buy weekly through lawnmower. Now I just buy weekly so I can decide what to spend each time. Pretty manual

That makes sense so you can probably avoid buying at some of the recent all time highs but for the time being I am in a buy and hold strategy so I will be using dollar cost averaging for my basis and the set it and forget it fits my life right now.

I'm doing the same, but sometimes I want to go a little above that amount (like during a dip). But regardless of where the price is, the basic spend gets made ;) I don't sit out cause btc is having a high usd trading day, I love my satoshi's too much haha

I feel your pain! This was worth a follow! :)

Thanks glad to know I am not alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67