First month on Steemit! Thoughts and a question!

in #steemit6 years ago

steemit.jpg
Hello everyone and happy new year! I have officially been on Steemit for one month and wanted to share some thoughts and a couple questions as well.

DISCOVERY: I heard about Steemit through a post on Reddit. The post wasn't about Steemit specifically but was a blogpost about crypto that was posted to Steemit and it immediately got my attention. I signed up probably 15 minutes later.

I had been going through a time where I was trying to reconcile my various interests, cryptocurrencies and blockchains, making all kinds of different art and also wanting to figure out a way to help and support my friends and other artists doing what they loved.

Steemit is this strange thing that feels like it was plucked from my mind in a way.

EXCITEMENT:Steemit is exactly what I was searching for!

A way to make and share my art on the blockchain while earning cryptocurrency and then taking that currency and using it to build influence to help other artists, friends and creative people!

There has been a bit of a learning curve but I think I have a good handle on everything now and have been incredibly happy with how a lot of my art has been recieved as well as the interesting discussion I have taken part in.

I enjoy all kinds of art but personally have a bit of a darker bent to what I make and what I like. Monsters, gore, horror, surreal and fantastic imagery but also animals and nature all grab my interest.

QUESTION: My question is, is there anyone you think I should be following? As much as I love this platform it can be tough wading through the new posts and finding quality content, especially content of more niche interests, weird art, model making, miniature painting, sculpting, diy, stop-motion.

So who should I follow? What artists do you follow that are doing awesome/weird/strange/gross/scary/surreal work?

I very much look forward to a new year on Steemit and thanks so much to everyone who has liked and commented on my work!
footer.jpg

Sort:  

Here are all the artists I'm following. I followed you!

art

music

photography

Awesome! Thank you so much!

you and i have extremely similar tastes and i have been "collecting" weird artists for about 6 months now. here are some favs
@zenithwombat
@william-syrus
@failedpaintigs
@georgeboya
@gotmeens
@keisya-art
@mikkolyytinen
@mitchhunter
@vachemorte
@kommienezuspadt

Sweet! Thanks! I will check all these people out! Also followed you to see more!

YES I AM FINALLY RECOGNIZED AND LISTED AS A WEIRD ARTIST I couldn't be happier. first ever feature film release on steemit this monday just to show that I deserve this honour:
jujugumconspiracy.gif

Well done! you have done well I have been on for a month too, how you found it Terror ?

Found steemit? Through Reddit. Found my experience on steemit. Really good!

Ahhh any tips you can give. Did being a Redditer help it's very similar.

I would say the key is genuine interaction more than amazing posts, at least at first. Look for people you want to follow or you think would like what you do and talk to them about their posts and build a following while posting somewhat regularly. Really talk to people too, about something specific in their posts.

That's great thanks, do you think Reddit will offer a currency ?

I wouldn't be surprised if they developed some kind of Karma coin eventually.

Yes I agree but some old sites are really slow to uptake new ideas

wow... that's a good question @terrorfirma. I think the ones to follow will pop right out at ya spontaneously..

They really do pop right out! It's just one every 200 or so spam posts :/

I too am struggling to find any other decent artists & designers to follow. The crypto world is just not for the visually minded it seems..

Here's two photographers I follow which I quite like:

@cottonlazarus
@mattniblock

I do kind of different art using typography and collage. I have a bunch on my profile if you want to check it out.

Thanks! I will check them out. I followed you a little bit ago, I really love your glitch and collage work!

Aw thanks! Your work is great as well. If anything comes to my attention I'll resteem or pass them on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55