HOW STEEMIT IS CHANGING ME

in #steemit6 years ago

image
You know my initial motivation to join steemit was the fact I'd finally be able to earn from being a writer and explore several other abilities. My mind stretched across endless possibilities and fantasies on what I'd do with whatever I would get. So after much struggle, I got an account and got started. True to everyone's word, I started to get rewarded and I said "yes, this must be it, I'll be a millionaire!

Days turned into a week and I found myself finding it even more difficult to post on steemit. Not because I didn't know what to write but my subconscious was gradually changing from reading several articles on steemit. I realize that beyond getting rewarded for a piece, steemit seeks to add value to the individual that joins and expects the individual to add value too. I now see that beyond seeking to bet rewarded, I should also recognize my place of influence in society and know that steemit isn't exactly a gold mine. There is always someone out there who looks forward to getting inspired by me.
My eyes opened to all of this when I was with a friend and found myself brainstorming several articles to write, each time ruling out the next best idea. I sat down frustrated and she said something I won't forget. She said "do it because you love writing and not because you want to make money."
That struck a cord in me. So yes, I now do it for the love. If it doesn't me in cash, I'd appreciate the fact a life is being changed by what I write somewhere on the planet.
For the love of steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64