You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Skills Do You Need To Succeed On Steemit?

in #steemit7 years ago

Thanks @luzycypher, upped and resteemed. I've found the #openmic competition really motivating. I was fortunate enough to make 200sbd on an original song I posted within the first couple of weeks of joining; this gave me the motivation to "suffer" through the days and days of quality (imo) posts that followed and which only received a few cents. It was frustrating because I was seeing people who were posting content which I considered less good than mine but which was making loads of money.

But then I'd discovered that they had been on the platform for at least a year and that they had tons of followers. I realised that they had made their mark in the community and produced consistent quality that their followers clearly got a lot of value out of. I hadn't done that, so why was I complaining? Since then my approach has been to challenge myself to post at least one a day during the week (with a few exceptions) but not to be hard on myself if I didn't meet all of my goals. My posts now regularly make in excess of $5, and occasionally blow up and make $100. That's not too bad for a couple of months posting. Open Mic and @minnowsupport have been crucial, by the way, and people who aren't members should definitely join MSP, it's been essential for me.
P.S, readers who've got this far through my comment may be up for checking out my latest entry to Open Mic Week 46 :)

Sort:  

I'm thrilled to hear you did so well on an entry to Steemit Open Mic because that was one of the main reasons for starting the contest. It's not surprising because your music is a joy to listen to.

Keep up the good work.

Aw, thanks that genuinely means a lot to me. I'm about to sign up to Grantcoin with your code btw... but it says your ref code is invalid. Do you have a new one perchance?

I'm away from my laptop atm but will send you one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41