You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New incentive to convert FB addicts to Steemit through a single FB group dedicated to education & upvoting

in #steemit7 years ago

Great initiative. I would shy away from using the term "addict" perhaps because of the negative connotations. I will join the group now.

Sort:  

I understand your reservations with this word. However, when I see that the average FB user cannot go more than one day without checking their wall, there are no other words to describe their condition. As an addict myself (which I will be for the rest of my life) I know that there is actually nothing negative about the word at all. We are ALL addicts in one way or another. We just don't class eating sugar or obsessing over money or thinking negative thoughts (for example) as addictions worth worrying about. All one can do is be aware of one's addictions and always work toward the ideal situation of 'everything in moderation'.

Thanks for joining the group. It's really great to have someone of your reputation with us. I hope you are able to find the time to interact with those looking for advice. Myself included :)

Yes perhaps we get overfussed over words I have posted about this myself! Will definitely try to get over to the group - time is a real problem these days as I am preparing for going back to work so have to study and go to various meetings too.

Words are in my humble opinion a completely ineffective means of communication because we all have our own feelings attached to each word, based on our personal life experiences. So, it's a tough one at times! At least it will be till we finally learn to communicate telepathically :)

Yes, time is the master of us all. I have a full time job, a 19month old baby and pregnant partner, next baby due in 3 weeks. And I work from home! So, getting my Steemit time in isn't easy. I tend to get up at 3am and do it at night. But the lack of sleep is starting to get to me now.

All the best to you and thanks again for joining the group. The hardest part is going to the monitoring of everyone following the vote for vote system. I can already see that people aren't sticking to the very simple rules. Let's see... Perhaps when I start evicting people, the rest will take it more seriously!

Wow you have your hands full. Best of luck with the baby (both of them)!

OK I didn't read about the vote for vote thing as I was in a hurry. I generally don't go in for that kind of thing - there is no way I could vote for everyone that voted for me:)

Well, the one guarantee is that they have my upvote if they post there & I will always be available to advise them on how to optimise.

Not too sure how the vote for vote system will work. At the moment there are 121 members and only around 10 of them seem to post in the group regularly, so to upvote those 10 wound't be much of a chore. But I think we could make exceptions on that rule for people over 70 rep! So, pick and choose. Whenever you have a moment. Your advice would probably be more valuable in the long run than your upvote, particularly if the whole group read your words. Whatever works for you my friend.

All the best :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50