How to Find Posts that Mention You (with AskSteem)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hi, Steemians!
A popular missing feature here on steemit is the ability to quickly and easily find posts that mention you using the @username syntax. This functionality comes baked right into AskSteem, a steem search engine. I wanted to write a quick blog post showing you how easy it is the utilize this powerful capability to interact with those who are talking about you in their posts.


1. Go to AskSteem.com

AskSteem
To use this service you will need to visit AskSteem

2. Type Your Username in Quotes

AskSteem username search
In the search box prominently in the center of the page type your username in quotation marks including the @ symbol. So for example, if your username were @username you would enter "@username" into the search field.

3. Hit Enter/Return and View Results


After entering "@username" into the box hit the return key on your keyboard and wait for the search results page to load. After the page has successfully loaded you will find a list of all posts that have mentioned your username on the steem blockchain. Additionally, if you would like to exclude your own posts from the results you may use this syntax: "@username" NOT author:username.


Well, that wasn't too difficult, was it? You can apply this to any user on the blockchain to see who is talking about who. For more information about ways to search on AskSteem check out this post.

Happy searching!

Sort:  

One of the most frustrating things about steemit right now. I can't wait until I can get a notification on my phone about a mention, be able to click it, and go right to the mention. Until then, I'll be using this for sure.

Well hopefully they'll add this functionality natively but until then I guess it's up to us in the community to solve the problems ourselves. :)

And a great job you have done to solve it.

Hey you can esteem for that

Yes, I get notifications on my phone from esteem. But, if I were to click on it I don't get taken to the comment. It just opens esteem and displays my feed. Is there maybe something I'm missing and everyone else's notification takes them to the comment?

For me it works fine, @good-karma have a look.

You should definitely know about the RAW blockchain feed for yourself or anyone else.
https://steemd.com/@stephen.king989

Great tip!

Very useful.... I was having a conversation with @mrwang about this very thing recently. I'm sure he'll be happy to see this.

Glad I could help.

Dam right.. thanks for the breakdown of it too

Thanks good to know! I never use the google inbuilt search anymore, much easier with AskSteem! :)

Well now I'm just sad. No one mentioned me 😔😂

Nice integration into your awsum search tool. I use it every day.

For tracking mentions for @dinoo I'm currently using https://steemwatch.com/notifications connected to steem.chat, so I get notifications in real time.

Cool, I'll have to look into steemwatch.

You're very welcome my friend. :)

Really useful link, thank you. I found out I'd been mentioned on @curie several times a few months ago. 🙂

thanks 4 sharing! upvoted and following. have a good 1 :D

Excellent work @theklye !

Thanks, glad you found it helpful. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69104.81
ETH 3758.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68