Can Steemit Make a Difference? - Philippines Giveaway 1/10

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

As I announced on a previous post, I will be travelling to the Philippines in 10 weeks time with the intention of renovating and supplying a local school. I believe Steemit could help.

17661889_1279456368828501_4014065233566892032_n.jpg

Giving back.

I've been fortunate enough to travel the world for past few years and now I want to give something back.

On April 22nd, I will be travelling with OneStep4Ward and the Giveback Giveaway with the goal of hiring local labour to make positive improvements to a local community in Luzon, Philippines.

We will be supplying and renovating a local partner school, trying to make a small difference to their lives by leaving a tangible improvement. The money to outfit and supply the school has been crowd-sourced and the volunteers that will be travelling there have paid for themselves to be involved.

I've been to the Philippines a few times before and fell in love with it's natural beauty and the kindness of the local people. It's a beautiful country but it is also not a rich country and there are definitely people there that could use some help.

IMG_1912.jpg

So where does Steemit come in?

I'll be there for 2 weeks, filming the whole thing and showing you how the local community benefits from the donations. I want Steemit to play a part in this. I want to show how upvotes can change lives.

That might sound a bit strong, but hear me out. I will be consistently posting about this project leading up to the event (it starts on April 22nd) and I will put aside all the SBD rewards into a pool ready for when we arrive. That way I can use all the rewards when I'm there to do something positive for the local community. I can then show you exactly how every cent of the SBD rewards went towards doing something for the school.

That means your upvote will go straight into building a new classroom. Installing a playground so kids get to be kids. Possibly even supplying entire schools with textbooks, desks, water tanks, a place to go to bathroom and dormitories for orphans to sleep at night. Who knows where it could lead?

The only limit to what we can do for them is the amount of money (or SBD) that we raise.

IMG_9881.jpg

How much has been raised so far?

This is the second post about this project and so far we have raised 38 SBD!

The first post received an 8.40 SBD payout and I set that aside straight away, converting it into STEEM. This will be the plan from now on - I will convert all SBD rewards for this series of posts into STEEM and keep them there until 15/04 (one week before the event).

I would now like to say HUGE THANK YOU to @tanbay for his generous donation of 30 SBD to the project! You're a legend!

@tanbay also shared this idea to his own audience in a recent DTube video - thanks man!

IMG_6114.jpg

All it takes is an upvote.

I believe this is the sort of thing that Steemit was meant for - a means to positively impact people's lives just by clicking a button.

I'll be documenting it all too and sharing it across my social media channels to 150,000 followers. How cool would it be to say that Steemit managed to impact the lives of a whole community?

I believe we have a massive opportunity here - and all it takes is an upvote.

Thanks as always,
Jord

twitter thelifeofjord.png

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me.

Popular posts:
My Top 5 Travel Experiences of 2017
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook - Blog

Sort:  

Great work! May God guide you and help you accomplish your mission. We appreciate the help you'll provide to our country.

Hi...would you be interested in following a Steemian's "a walk of hope" doing music and arts to underpriviledged Filipinos, at the same time pitch in Steemit and Steemit Philippines charity initiatives?

I will attach my post of support to give you an idea. It wont be in Luzon though but I can provide pictures if you so want them. No pressure if you can't as there's a clash in places. Where in Luzon will you be? Thank you so much for what you are doing to my co-filipinos and my country.
https://steemit.com/steemph/@immarojas/in-support-of-steemit-philippines-a-walk-of-hope-project-with-flabbergast-art

Another great initiative!
How are you doing @immarojas? Good to see you here :-)

Am doing great Marly...how's you and your dreamsoftheocean doing? Haven't forgotten it.
After our collaboration with an environmentalist group this March, a walk of hope project will start come April. Music and Arts plus promo-steem combined sounds great, dunno if i could join the walk though as am still in London.
Have you been to Indonesia's surfing competition or that is still in the works??

Good to hear that!

I'm waiting for the Easter season, currently it's too cold and rainy on Canaries. So the next charity event will supposedly take place in April/May. This time it's gonna be different, we'll do some swim classes instead of surf training. But it's still related with the water :-)

I'll be in Bali at the end of May for the WSL surf competition. Lots of traveling this year though :-)

Sending you my best wishes and a big hug from Switzerland to London!

The 1st snow of the year and we are crying for warmth, you skiing or snowboarding? Warm hugs to you too!
Will wait for your video, that was a blast in Lisbon.
Enjoy your travels..i think it will be the IN thing for most Steemians, and why not hey? xoxo

I'm skiing :-) Had a terrible accident snowboarding once, so since then I didn't try it again :-)
Indeed it's been a blast in Lisbon!
I'll be back with a fancy travel video soon :-)
Take care, sweetheart xxx

And you! Hurry up with that🤗

This is a brilliant idea, knowing how poor that country is - @liambagnall witnessed it for himself a year or two ago. I will be following you closely and you have my vote :-)

Thankyou sir for choosing philippines ,this is the big opportunity to all my kabayan through your help.

I believe this is one of the greatest things I can find about Steemit and the community. Some of the projects I have been so motivated by are the charitable endeavors started up by Steemians. I even have a couple of ideas of my own floating around in my head already and I only joined a month ago! I look forward to seeing your journey and cant wait to support it!

Great project. Awesome that Steemit can be a tool to give to those in need.

what a huge action!!!

What an amazing idea! Please find a little donation in your wallet :-)
Resteemed this hoping to provide you with even more visibility.

Saya sangat menikmati postingan anda. Aku mengikutimu Terima kasih

Very nice idea to donate the money earned from a Steemit post for a social project. Hopefully I can do something similar in the next time as well!

Thank you, I believe this is the power of @steemit and there is a lot more we could do here! Already from just one post we have generated 41 STEEM ready to use which is currently valued at around $120. That's crazy and awesome!

That's indeed crazy and awesome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65686.10
ETH 2943.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73