Scam AlertsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit5 years ago (edited)

SCAM!!!

If you've seen pictures like the one above, do not click on them. It's another phishing attempt to gain control of your password and take your Steem. If something seems to good to be true, it probably is. So when you see someone offering free Steem in exchange for logging in on a strange site, please be wary.

I was first made aware of this new scam by Xander who runs a witness with the help of his human, @pjau. Xander was busy and didn't have time to authorize use of his picture, but he's adorable, so check out @pjau's page where you can get weekly witness updates from Xander.

EDIT: Here's a picture of Xander that was provided by his agent.

To Vote For Him As Witness
https://steemit.com/~witnesses - type in pjau and click vote

image.png


Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Phishing = badness 💥💥💥 🔥🔥🔥

BTW

You spelt my username wrong in the vote box.. haha

It is very badness!

Sorry about that. I fixed it. :)

20181104_173530.jpg

Thanks for letting us know; there's always going to be scammers around, isn't there?!!

You're welcome. It's a shame there are people who feel the best way to get ahead is to take the hard-earned Steem from others, but that's the world we live in. One day those people will get what's coming to them. I'd much rather they turn their lives around so that not only can we benefit by the lack of scammers, but that they would benefit from not getting punished.

I haven't seen you around as much. Normally that means that you two are having good days and out doing stuff. Is that still the case. Hit me up on Discord if you need me. :)

I'm not sure if that's a scam. It doesn't look like they're requiring you to log in somewhere else, so it's likely not phising. Being that the prize is a 1,000 SP delegation for 90 days, and they don't have 1,000SP I would think that it's just something they're running to get more followers.

It seems the people they're choosing from day to day are different, so it leads me to think they're trying to boost their following to get bigger busy votes, or to sell a resteem service down the line. I can't be sure, but if you're ok with seeing their posts, I don't really see the harm in it.

That's my unprofessional opinion.

They have a delegation from blocktrades, so it's either going to be a scam or they probably are just running it, earn what they can, then rent from blocktrades at the end of it. Can't say for sure until it happens.. haha

Yeah will be interesting to see what happens haha

Yeah I totally agree with you. I was scratching my head, because I have been here a long time now and never heard of these dudes, and then checked their wallet and was like what? then I checked all the passed winners, and none of them had any SP delegation given to them, then I though, well maybe they are just doing this to get more followers, and big upvotes, since they require upvotes to claim your prize....lol anyways we shall see what happens.

It's not asking for your password or taking you outside of the website, so it is fine 😉

Yeah that is what I was thinking, however I looked at the past winners and they still haven't gotten any kind of SP donated to them. haha I don't see how they can afford to have so many winners and do 1000 SP each time. I guess we shall see.

Thank you for telling us, i will pay attemption and i will resteem your post, i hate scammers!

Scammers do ruin a lot of things for a lot of people. Thanks for increasing the exposure! Stay safe out there!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thank you for the info.

Hi @themanwithnoname!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.846 which ranks you at #4324 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 132 places in the last three days (old rank 4456).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 288 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

haha! thank god for Xander!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87