Thank you, @humanearl!

in #steemit6 years ago

photo-1517424209296-978eb4d08737.jpg
Source

For the last month I have been the recipient of a generous delegation from the one and only @humanearl. The man is a seemingly unstoppable force of positivity and encouragement on Steemit and one of the ways that he chose to encourage people was to give delegations to supporters of his that he selected.

You can read more about this here My Master Plan To Delegate 4,500 Steem Power Amongst My Supporters.

One of the expressed goals of the delegations was to increase curation. This makes sense if you know @humanearl at all as he has long been the giver of Vote Airdrops to followers from time to time as VP allowed. He would go through supporters posts and give very generous upvotes to recent posts. I have been on the receiving end of a few of these and it's one of the reasons that I have gotten where I am now.

I'm not the best with all the neat tools that the Steem blockchain offers, but I do know how to show you the last 7 days from Steemworld. Here's a screenshot of my voting which should give you a clue as to how I've spent the SP that was delegated to me.

image.png

I feel really blessed to have had a chance to bless so many others with upvotes that could get past the dust level on their own. I enjoyed getting to give huge (for me) upvotes to people like @briancourteau who is still fighting cancer in Mexico. It's wonderful to be able to give him a small amount of encouragement by delivering an upvote that was over $0.20 for a while! Thank you for helping me with that!

For every time I got to give someone a vote that made a difference. For every time that someone got a smile on their face because I had extra VP and wanted to bless them with a 100% vote. For every time that I got to give a bigger vote than I could have on my own... you were a part of that. Thank you for helping me bless so many people and make this community better.

What happens now?

The delegation has ended, so my followers will be receiving my normal vote, but if you don't already follow @humanearl, I recommend heading over there now and hitting "follow".

Next up is another great group of Steemians who will be receiving delegations and I'm excited to see how they use their newfound power! May it be a blessing to them and their communities as it has been to me and mine.

Ono Small.png
@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

I am blessed more for the friendship we have created here and I am glad to say that openheartedly. Also Thank you @humanearl for helping this man as I rely so much on Steemit now to help with meds. Thank you for being such a positive force here

It's been great to get to know you a bit and be part of your journey. I'm glad that my presence has encouraged you. Know that you are an encouragement and blessing too! :)

I had no idea that you had been delegated by humanearl...he is awesome and it actually comes as no surprise. Like Brian, I have truly appreciated your generosity, and still will even if the value is less, because I know your heart is still full :)

I didn't really advertise it. Partially because I didn't want to have people flocking to humanearl trying to get handouts themselves, and partially because there really isn't a good place to do that. I could have done a post, but opted not to.

HumanEarl is one of the best things about Steemit, in my opinion. I don't remember how I discovered him, but I've been encouraged by his positivity and generosity ever since I started following him. I think if more people were like him, Steemit would be an even better place. Therefore, I tried to use my delegation in a way that was in-line with how he would act (which is close to how I normally act, just more generous. Ha ha).

It's been an honor to get to give you two a little more support. You're not going through an easy time, but just because life is difficult doesn't mean that you're forgotten. I've still got you on Auto and you know that if you need someone, just ask. I'll do my best to help out. I'm really glad that we connected on here. You're both one of the aspects of Steemit that has made it meaningful for me.

awww thank you for that @themanwithnoname. That really does warm my heart! You have made steemit more meaningful for me too .

All good things...

Well, I'm sorry to see it go for you, but from what I can tell, you used it more than wisely. You used it superduperultra wisely, and I don't think someone who delegates SP to another could wish for any better use.

The question is, what's the plan going forward? Any strategies for maximizing your efforts on the blockchain? A contest maybe? Warning post first, of course. :)

Hey, I'm choosing to be thankful for the blessing it was. I think the people who look on the positive side tend to be happier. Some people will lose loved ones and their response is to be thankful for the time they had. That's how I want to live my life. So, I'm thankful that I got a delegation, and I'm thankful for the man who made it possible. It was a great experience. No downsides.

Thanks for the affirmation. I tried to spread it around as much as possible so many people would benefit. I also tried to get it to newer Steemians to help them as they start their journeys.

If I do another contest I'll try to do a warning post for you. I don't want those sneaking up on you. Then again, maybe that's part of the fun of it. Heh.

I am almost at 500SP which will get me the slider on my own. For now I'm back to Busy so I can avoid draining my VP too quickly. I'm working on a trade with one of the guys from Steem Silver Gold, so some of my SBD is going to him rather than being turned into SP. I'm excited to get a real-world, tangible thing out of Steem though. That's going to be a first for me.

I think I'm just going to be plugging away on Silver posts. I took a break from it for this post, but I felt that Earl's delegation was so generous that it needed its own "thank you" post to recognize him for everything that he's done for the community through helping others.

I think it was very appropriate and good of you to write this post and thank humanearl for his delegation. I was just trying to say it had come to an end.

I guess as long as we can give each other a little (itty bitty tiny) grief now and then, you can roll out a contest post however you like. It'll keep me guessing. :)

Even with my own investment, I've only earned a little over 330 SP, so I'd say you've done pretty well, really. Having the busy slider at this point is still good, though, and you'll actually reach 1,000,0000 vests before 500 SP, so that will be even cooler. Official minnow status. Woohoo!

Ribbing each other is one of the ways we know we're friends. I don't tend to tease people I don't know. If I post a contest post without consulting you first, you're welcome to give me a hard time. :)

I got a lot of the SP from Steemcleaners. That was helpful. I haven't made much progress in the last month or two. I've been sitting around the same place. I think part of that is because the price of SBD detached from Steem, so I couldn't get a full Steem for one SBD. I know that's how it's supposed to be, but it was a little painful to see the lower yield. It must have been very nice back in the day to get 5-10 Steem per SBD. That must have been the life! :)

Looking forward to being an official minnow. We'll have to do a celebration!

Like virtual cake and ice cream? :)

I hear you on the SBDs. I figure if they want it to be a dollar, then maybe I should just go ahead and cash them in before SBD gets to that dollar, or STEEM takes off and make the ratio worse. Haven't had to worry about either for a few weeks, so who knows. Maybe I jumped the gun. Maybe I didn't. I'm not going to know until it either happens or never does. And never is a long time.

We could do virtual cake and ice cream. Maybe it's with Lynn's ice cream truck. Or maybe I'll do a giveaway. We'll see.

I haven't been sure what to do with my SBDs. I know the witnesses are pushing to get it back to $1, but I haven't seen it get there. I also think that the ratio to Steem could get more favorable. It's hard to tell. This wasn't one of the decisions I was expecting to make on Steemit.

I'm working on a deal with another Steemsilvergold person who is going to mail me some stuff in exchange for SBD, so that will take care of most of my conundrum. What I do with the rest has yet to be seen. It's been rough watching the price drop as much as it has. I gotta get rid of this quickly. :)

Never is a very long time. Hopefully you find out that you made wise decisions sooner than that. :D

Usually it's a two year wait. I'll find out two years after the fact if what I did makes any sense, and often I'll find out why. Before that, I'll often not even have an inkling of why or if it's going to work out.

Well, SBDs are down to around $1.55 and STEEM is down to $2.15 so the 60-ish cent spread it's pretty much been maintaining since STEEM went up higher and is now holding even on the downside. Someone might be serious this time about getting SBD to the $1. Except for Hitbtc, who isn't dealing in reality at all. At least not June, 2018 reality. Maybe they're all from the future. :)

So, I don't know. As you say, do your own homework, use common sense, and if that fails, don't listen to me. Okay, that last part is mine. :)

That's funny that it turns out so consistently for you and that you don't have an inkling until that point. I would think you'd at least have an idea if it was going to pay off, but that's ok. It's just a surprise when it comes along. Hopefully a good surprise.

Yeah, the $0.60 spread is a lot worse when the prices are low though. If it were $10.60 and $10.00 Steem and SBD respectively, then it wouldn't be as big of an issue. As it is, it can be rather difficult to convert SBD to Steem. That's been one of the issues that I've mentioned at least a few times as the price of Steem starts to rise. It will become rather difficult for newer users to make progress and they may give up. I saw a post from 10 months ago where a user made it to 500 SP in 57 days. That's unheard of now unless you are buying SP or have a special shtick/ benefactor. It's going to be even more difficult in the days to come if the price of Steem rises.

Common sense isn't so common anymore so you might have to look a while for that. You've got lots of great advice. Don't sell yourself short. :)

You really did well with the delegation you receive from @humanearl you used the delegated steempower to help fellow steemian by upvoting their content and encouraging them to write more and believe in this great platform.

Thanks, @obest. I appreciate it. Hopefully people are using it to help others get ahead even more. That's how we make progress, by constantly building each other up.

That has being a good one friend because I enjoyed your upvote. Let me move over to his blog and see if there is something for me over there.

He's an awesome guy. I totally recommend checking out his blog. I think you'll be encouraged. :)

Yea I already visited it. It's a cool one. I hope I get in his next round.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82