URGENT Public Service Announcement - Wallet SCAM!

in #steemit6 years ago

This is an urgent public service announcement!

There is a SCAM account called gtg.witness that is impersonating the witness @gtg and claiming to give away awards. The scam comes in the form of a link in your wallet. DO NOT OPEN THE LINK!!!

It will ask you to provide login information that can be used to steal your account.

I just got the message in my wallet, so it was personal for me even though I didn't open it. I don't want you to fall victim to it either. Tell your friends not to open the link.

image.png

More Info

@dragosroua did a more complete writeup if you would like more information
https://steemit.com/steemit/@dragosroua/the-gtg-witnesses-scam-decomposed

Images source: Pexels and my wallet


@themanwithnoname

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up @themanwithnoname.

You're welcome! If I can even save one person from getting scammed, that would be great. If no one gets scammed, that would be better. It's frustrating that there are so many loopholes here and they get exploited by bad actors constantly. It's good to have each others' backs so we don't get in as much trouble.

Thanks for the warning @themanwithnoname. My wallet contains very little, so I'm very protective over it :)

You're welcome! Yeah, it's the idea that my hard work would go to enrich someone who is not trying to build or be part of a community, they're just trying to steal. That makes me mad. Why not just do something productive with your time? Then you're adding to the wealth, not just unduly taking it for yourself.

You staying safe down there in SA? I heard about some of the scary stuff you've got happening: farmers getting killed, farms getting appropriated. Frightening stuff.

We're as safe as can be. There's a lot of bad stuff happening, thankfully Zuma has stepped down and we're waiting to see if his successor will make any difference. On the plus side, there's so much beauty in this country, and also so many people hoping for positive change. We try to remain positive.

It's good to try to stay positive. That's going to get you further than just despairing. "Gotta keep your head up, oh, oh"

It's quite a complicated matter (the land redistribution). Let's hope and pray that Ramaphosa uses his intelligence so that we don't end up like Zimbabwe!

Congratulations @themanwithnoname! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks @themanwithnoname ! Always a guru in my Steemit trip :D

You're welcome, @jaimepg! Gotta keep everyone safe from the scammers. Most people will recognize it as a scam, but it's better to be safe.

You're welcome! Thank you for stopping by.

So how did you get to this page? Do you [transact] continually [safely]?

Ha ha! I liked this line at the end of your comment, so thought I'd use it for my purposes here too.
Have a good day. :)

Thank you for the information. I resteemed it to help spread the word.

Thanks for helping out. I hate seeing people lose their hard-earned money, Steem, SBD.

My warning is this, if you scam me, you will pay, I'm an old hacker changed for the good of every one. this is definitely a bad thing, He has been delt with, his link is broken.

I wasn't planning on scamming you, but I'm definitely not now! 0.0 Glad you've changed for the good! :)

The link being broken is good news. Keep people from even being able to get there.

I wasm't saying this to you, thanks for warning us. My favourite actor is also Clint Eastwood, I have all his cowboy movies, Collect them.

I didn't think you were. My wife already thinks that since people can see my wallet that they're going to be able to steal from me, so if she thinks that there's a hacker coming after me... Ha ha.
He's a good actor. I really enjoyed the No Name trilogy, as you can tell. I don't own a lot of movies, but I do own those. I just watched all three again a few months ago.

I just saw this in my Steemit Bloggers discord channel and resteemed it to the @newbieresteem feed. What might seem like common sense to someone who's been here for a while (not to give out your keys to anyone), it may not be to someone else who is new. Nice job getting the word out!

Makes me think twice about using SteemConnect for things. It's hard to tell what's real and what's not.

I guess the scammers and hackers of the world are no dummies...

Anytime anyone asks for a private key, I've got red flags popping up all over the place

Yeah, sometimes the bait is really convincing though. It's good to be alert. I don't know anyone personally who got affected, but sadly they probably got some people.

You got a 1.04% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @themanwithnoname!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71