The Story behind Open Mind Group Lifestyle Brand

in #steemit5 years ago

OMG-FaceOver-Phrase-logo-LB.png

For those that don't know. My name is Joe Harris. I am the owner of a lifestyle company called Open Mind Group. Residing in Bakersfield, California. Where I was born and raised for almost all my life. The meaning behind the name of my company has a long back story. It is based on my child hood and how I felt growing up thinking I was the outcast of every group. Through the teachings of my dad, grandma, mom, and many others. I figured out that people were usually just missed informed or looking at things in the wrong perspective. Let me explain what I mean by this.

Let me start by saying, I am an African American. I grew up around a mixed family and had many friends outside my nationality. With that being said for about ten years of my life I never really understood what racism was. I wasn't raised to be that way. I really didn't understand until I started reading about the history of my color. Then when I started skateboarding and people around started figuring out that I listened to rock music a lot. Then the racist views and stereotypes started getting thrown in my direction. People started calling me white boy or Oreo. I started to get called the Nigger. People were always asking me why I listened to white music or did a white sport like skateboarding. At this time I was about 12 to 13 years old. Through High school I kept hearing the same things. Judging me without even knowing anything about me.

The ignorance was showing in people. Which is one reason I actually gravitated to skateboarding even more. The questions and comments kept coming: "Why don't you play basketball?, You should play football!, Why don't you listen to black music?, Nigger this and Nigger that!" Not realizing that I actually play all those sports. I was the captain of my basketball team. Played football, soccer, baseball, and listened to rap. I even wrote rap lyrics in High School. Also, there is no such thing as race. That we are all part of the human species. That racism is a made up word to categorize us even though we all come from the same place. To me people that judge with ignorance have closed minds. Some people can only look at one perspective. Also hate is taught. We are not born with it! I wish we all realized, that love is the only way we can advance as a planet.

The hate and judgement just continues. I had a friend one time tell me his brother beat him up for skateboarding. I was in shock when he told me this. People actually got violent just because he was a black skater like myself. What's crazy is that those people didn't realize what kind of mental health issues that could have caused. Now he is trapped to only do things he doesn't even like. Now he could be terrified, that every time he tries something new, he might get beat up for it. Which is just a sad situation.

After my mom passed away I knew I wanted to create something that would make her proud. It took me a few years to figure out what it was I wanted to create. I knew I wanted something to do with music and skateboarding because those were the two biggest passions in my life. When I turned 20 I finally figured out the name I wanted to use for my brand. The brand started out as a music influenced brand. I didn't get serious with it until I turned 23 and incorporated skateboarding. I wanted to create a team of like minded people that understood the overall message of the brand.

The brand is Open Mind Group. Where we promote acceptance no matter the background of a person. Where we encourage everyone to be themselves. Motivate each other to be the best they can be. Teach different perspectives of life through our clothing and accessories. You never know what you might get on an OMG shirt or skateboard. I hope the brand gets bigger where we can open camps, venture into other industries like health and fitness. OMG encourages people to seek mental health tips. We know this world can be a dark place. Hopefully we can point you to the light. We are not greedy and believe there are enough resources for everyone to prosper. This is the lifestyle of an open mind. It's all about the love.

P.S.: More Stories By Joe Harris to come

Let me know if you support the movement. I believe 2019 will be a great year for us. More music, more skateboarding, more motivation, more videos, and more growth. Visit our website at https://www.theomgsound.com/
Follow our youtube channel TheOMGtv
Follow our instagram @theomgbrand
Skate IG: theomgskate
Personal IG: theomgboss
OMG Members IG:
ashe_blanco
ethereal.garden
suelothesage
slimsk8r
steezy_ornelas
lil_rugrat_
tye.x
__markiemark

Thank You Steemit for letting me be me

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by theomgbrand from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

BIg up brother, welcome back, and thanks for sharing your story!
I dunno if you watched King of the Road last year, but there were a black dude that was rocking the board like crazy, doing all the dopest tricks.I can't remember the name of the team.
I don't believe in any stereotype, I love soul music through and through for example and I don't see myself as a "blue eyed Soul" singer , but just as a singer loving soul music.

Nice story man.These racist pigs are so brainless.
Science has proven that racists are less smart than ordinary people.
Keep doing what you love and keep motivating everyone.
#SKATEFORLIFE

I appreciate it man. That is the ultimate goal. Hopefully my brand gets big enough to where I can support the communities that need it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97