Sugar Steem - A more personalized Steem UI - MY PROFILE final

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Sugar Steem - A more personalized Steem UI -

MY PROFILE

Here is my final pass before Visual Design. A few questions to ask the Community...

My Profile / My Blog: How can I create a tailored experience to what matters most to me?

Logged In - My Profile / Blog - List View

Persona: I am a returning user accessing my blog content, my metrics for voting, my personalized tags of desired content and desired authors, links i use often, and want to be notified when readers comment on my posts, or authors mention me.

 Profile Page I.png

horizontal_line.png

 Profile Page II.png

horizontal_line.png

 Profile Page II - expand.png

horizontal_line.png

Design Corner - Page Stats

Navigation

Sort:  

How can I create a tailored experience to what matters most to me?

When I log in, I want to be able to quickly see who has replied to me or mentioned me like you have in your suggestion. I would also like to see where interesting conversations are taking place. Perhaps a suggested feed based on what posts have received comments by a lot of people I follow? So for instance, if there is an announcement post or a bit of controversy where 2-3+ of the people I follow have left comments, it is likely to be a post I will also care about?

  1. Do you value a TRENDING NAVIGATION TAB and Why?

Yes I do check on trending once per day or every 2 days to see what conversations are taking place, what new updates have been made to the "big" projects on steem, and also just to observe what type of content the blockchain with its current rules, distribution and vote behaviour elevates to the top.

  1. Do you value a NEW NAGIVATION TAB to discover content or is that not used?

Never as a normal user. At some point I helped a STEEM science community project - @steemstem - find and curate content. At that time I browsed the "new" tab filtered for #science , #steemstem etc to find new content worth curating. But never browsed it otherwise perhaps with the exception of my first 2 weeks when I was getting an understanding of how content is displayed.

  1. Do you ever USE “REWARDS” in the Sub Navigation of Steemit?

Yes, it allows me to see how my curation rewards are and compare them to previous numbers. Did I earn more when I spent more time hunting fresh content versus when I only vote on friends?

  1. Does viewing a HISTORY of transactions, and others Have VALUE to you?

Yes, this is what gives the blockchain transparency which is beautiful as it allows anyone to see how tokens are moved around. It means anyone can investigate how accounts entrusted with delegations make use of their resulting profits.

for your points

  1. itd be tough to have posts identify based on followers comments, thats a bit of machine learning i think and far beyond my interface skill set. However we can definitely add sorting/filtering to adjust how you get to relatable content quicker.

  2. Theres a 50 /50 decision to keep that tab. unsure of the value of it but if you access it then you are one of few that do. I will be contemplating removing it from my build as an initial test to see if ppl miss it.

  3. Thats a fair answer. I am unsure if a Discovery Tab is valuable. I dont want to focus dev time on unused features. But thats a good note, thanks

  4. noted.

  5. I agree. and ok.

  • Do you value a TRENDING NAVIGATION TAB and Why?

While I personally tend to not value the trending page...it is going to be something that we're stuck with in some fashion or another. I'd be a bit shocked if having a trending tab be available wasn't a requirement for Steemit Inc to implement this (if you were going that route...obviously if it were it's own front end, you're free to do anything.)

Now one things I would LOOOVE if you got in there was an 'Announcements' icon that linked directly to the @SteemitBlog account. Ideally showing a 'counter/icon/etc' to designate a new post being published.

  • Do you value a NEW NAGIVATION TAB to discover content or is that not used?

While Steemit is great at giving huge lists of things, it's still extremely weak when it comes to the ability to search for things. Because of this, I'm all for additional ways to help people find desired content and hence a potentially new tab.

I do like your idea of the 'word bubble'...especially if this prompted the user with a refined down list of tags. If you were able to weight the 'words' based on how often it and the 'core tag' were associated could help quite a bit. (i.e. of 1000 nature posts, 100 have nature AND flower tags...giving the arbitrary weight of 10.)

  • Do you ever USE “REWARDS” in the Sub Navigation of Steemit?

Yep...to check author and curation rewards. This also lends to our 'transparency' on here.

  • Does viewing a HISTORY of transactions, and others Have VALUE to you?

Yep...a BIG part of our transparency.

were aligned on a LOT of this already based on your response. i am still tetter toddering on the whole trending tag. though i keep thinking of removing it, it does have value to some but sadly i done use it either.

Since most people don't bother with "Trending" or "New" and rely mostly on their "Feed" I think a more desirable Tag would be able to compile voting from those you follow. Like 'Hot' being most voted on in 24hrs, among the people you follow. I have no idea how difficult that would be on the programming end, maybe it's not feasible. Or not necessarily the most voted on but like just most popular among those you follow.

Let's say you follow 10 people, if 5 of them voted on this article (irregardless of rewards) it would appear in the "Hot" / "Peer Trending" Tab. From a user perspective, I'm much more interested in the posts that are resteemed by people I follow.

Speaking of resteems, people really get annoyed when they go to check out someone's feed and see nothing but resteems and they have to scroll to find the user's own posts. I think Busy use to show only people's posts and not resteems. A way to quickly toggle between a wall of the user's own posts and one that includes resteems would be great.

(maybe this already exists with the 'more info' steem
pluggin, but I don't use chrome)

I agree on the HOT tag being most voted on as a sort method in your "my feed" that could be great.

Second I would agree as well, I think if you have a My Favorites Tab and within it it is seperated by favorite tags and favorite followers. then if you select either it would list what content is hot based on votes. different ways to sort the aggregation of your content.

I did have the toggle on/off feature for only you as a user but i think you're right to have the toggle present on another users page as well to turn off their resteems and look at their posts. Great stuff.

the chrome plugin doesnt do it.

Conclusion: agreed there needs to be better filtering for sorting content based on authors i follow and tags i prefer. My next post is discussing the top navigation tabs and their behaviors for sorting etc. Ill keep you in the loop. Thanks for this.

I know this is probably almost impossible, but would there be a way to "recalculate" post values for a trending page based on "users not named (insert all bid bots names here)" so that you could see what was actually trending as opposed to what it's doing now. I'm sure it would be nearly impossible to do, but something to look into to solve the issue of the trending page simply being bought.

Program wise I think it would be possible. I'm not a programmer though. I do know that I can do something similar using excel & SteemSQL though it wouldn't be exact as I'd have to use the current VP and not the VP at the time of the vote.

sadly, your statement is beyond my brain, and i dont understand lol... i need a @patrice 101 lingo course. if you have a chance educate me on your statement here so i can better understand it :)

This might be a question that either @ausbitbank , @themarkymark, @patrice or some of the big names that understand how to clean up the platform. I think the Bid Bots are part of the platform from what i understand. But agreed, how would trending be aggregated... perhaps comments vs votes ratio. I think we'd have to identify a different measuring stick for how trending is calculated vs price value. I think we'd need to create something that has a measuring stick of engagement vs price value. but thats my thoughts. IM sure these guys will chime in and provide some depth here.

To take a crack at your questions.

  1. I don't purposefully go looking at the trending page for content so I guess I don't value it that much.

  2. I can end up in new, but more often it's within a tag, rather than the general new page. Too much stuff of all kinds dumping in there to find much of anything that I want to read. But I do come upon new things in specific tags now and again.

  3. I'm not sure what you mean by REWARDS in the subnavigation. I do look to see who the top folks are that voted on a post or comment, and I also like to see where I am in that if I vote. :)

If you're talking about the reward amounts that show up on posts or comments, I like knowing the values, but I'd rather at least see them in terms of SBD/SP than the reward pool $. Even USD $ would be better, but that's not what we're ultimately receiving the rewards in.

  1. History of transactions, etc.—If this is referring to the wallet, yes, I do like seeing that. I don't know if I need to see it for everyone (though I'm not opposed to it), but I do like see what I've done.

On a side note. When it comes to filtering things.

I've been trying to do something similar with the GINAbot discord messenger by putting in keywords. What I find is, those words can be used in all kinds of ways that aren't germane to what I'm hoping to find. A lot of times they're being used in disclaimers or headers/footers as static information. So, I'm still trying to refine that.

So, if the filtering to get to content has a way of getting me closer to what I want, that would be cool. In practical use, so far, it's been less hit and more miss.

so thats a great response I think i need to remove the more steem info plugin and see what steemit is limited too. I added that plugin that is like a must have enhancement for the platform and didnt realize how many extra features it does have in places. thanks for that update there and your responses.

for you GINA bot questions I know @themarkymark could speak to that. I use it very sparingly for now. Im still using the more steem info plugin on web and the steemifications app on the iphone. sadly both are not the greatest either. I just make it a routine to go to replies, and mentions everytime i access the platform to respond. That is the @spiritualmax way in his posts that has become a habit to me.

Agreed. i think having filters, sorts, easier ways to get to content faster, easier etc. is the way to go. thanks for your comments.

In it's current configuration, I never use Trending for anything.

Would I be interested New to explore for undiscovered gems? Yes
Would I be interested in using Hot to find posts with good engagement? Yes

I'd like to be able to search by date, language and / or reputation for content.

I like the idea of the word cloud for tags but would like to see it change dynamically every 6 hours or so.

A drill down for tags would be nice.

When you say Search by date, language and rep... are these filters that are specific to "trending" or also for "hot", "my feed", possibly "my blog" etc...

Agreed a dynamic widget word cloud that changes would be ideal. Still looking for an open source code of that that can be found... Thats a great wish list item for me 2.0 build unless i can find something to use.

Drill downs for tags would be nice. I think another great feature for 2.0 and ill add it to my feature wish list on github. thanks for the great feedback.

  1. Do you value a TRENDING NAVIGATION TAB and Why?

No, see this post

  1. Do you value a NEW NAGIVATION TAB to discover content or is that not used?

I don't think there's any value seeing posts just because they are new.

  1. Do you ever USE “REWARDS” in the Sub Navigation of Steemit?

I think it's important that people can see the rewards they are earning, especially curation rewards.

  1. Does viewing a HISTORY of transactions, and others Have VALUE to you?

Yes absolutely, this is extremely important.

i agree with you on this discovery tags widget. unsure how to code or figure out how to code what topics are trending but i like the approach. it could be a cool discovery widget. I will def shelf this idea as something for the 2.0 build. i feel it would take a lot of time to build unless there is an open source somewhere.

Dear @yabapmatt I have facing some problems in bot tracker that smartsteem didn't give his upvote 11hours ago inspite I sent him 5 SBD in the bid round...please requested to solve..

It appears you were blacklisted:

Screen Shot 2018-03-31 at 3.40.39 PM.png

I really value a new tab to explore content! Thanks for all your work. This looks like it will be great! I can't wait to try it.

yes my REAL questions are DO people USE "Trending" or "New"... I dont ever use Trending. But I use New sometimes hoping to find some hidden gems to read. I think theres a chance that a "Discovery" Tree image with words that are popular based on size would be great. Unsure if to take this a step further could we build a widget that changes on its own based on whats popular etc. that might be too wild... Would love to see an example of this though... are there any sites building discoverable content that is popular in a word tree etc... ahhh open source word tree where are you lol

Whether people use something and it being useful are two separate things. People use the Rewards section because there are no alternatives, but generally, it's NOT useful. The same goes for Trending and New. People use them because there's nothing else, but in most cases they're NOT useful.

It is probably better to FIX these problems. Here are a couple alternatives.

  1. Lists (instead of favorites). Add lists (which are like custom tags) that contain a self-curated list of users. You can subscribe to lists of other users as well. For example, @Steemcleaners or @Dan can maintain lists of users they favor for content. Then you can view those lists.
    • In app Growls. When you're reading a post, you can get notifications for comments and posts from lists or otherwise.
  2. Recommendations (a recommendation system like netflix) where content is recommended to you based on what's in the content and tag information. This can also be used to detect tag abuse.
  3. Multitenancy. Steemit recently released a microservice (that blows) to promote community development within the blockchain. It would be worthwhile to build a UX that support separate look and feels depending on the community. Some communities are anti-spam, some are curation, some are voting, etc... and all communities have their own tools, focus, and uses. The cases vary and it would be worthwhile for the look and feel to change accordingly.

I don’t like the first 2 at all, definitely doing a favorites functionality it’s going to be great to personalize the experience. I hate lists! The 3rd choice has value though i don’t want to do this either in my ui. Too much side projects on stuffthat doesn’t support the main direction of my ui. Great ideas though and good for future updates but definitely not in my mvp for the build process.

You don't like lists? One of the problems people have with the feed is that when you follow a lot of people, your feed is a flood. It's not parseable at all and impossible to curate. If you have lists you can separate the feed into parsable segments.

  • Crypto
  • Bots
  • Witnesses
  • Athletes
  • Friends
  • Family
  • Spammers

It makes it easier for you to go straight to content you're interested in. I guess favorites are good for content discovery. Personally though, my feed is more important to me than content discovery.

yea i dont want to sort the content of lists by topic tag. thats not an interest. Being able to favorite a user ha or see what tags of categories they like or i like have value but sorting through a "my feed" by topic isnt really too valuable. Its not something globally usable really... Being able to sort between a toggle of resteemed content and organic content in a feed is enough. the average user isnt going to sift through a bunch of tags to find a topic written by a particular user.

favorite the user. then use that list of people to read through their posts. This way you havent isolated a user to a specifc micro topic instead you are filtering by user to allow a list of all of their topics

Well, the thing about lists is that

  1. You can have a user in more than one list, so I don't think you're really isolating them. For example, @dan can be in
    • Friends
    • Crypto
    • Developers
  2. Lists can be subscribed/shared by other users. @dan again for example could have a list of crypto analysts he follows, and maybe I want to follow the same ones. I can just subscribe to the same list.
  3. Lists aren't tags. They're collections of users. A user can be in the gamers list and post a movie review. Lists are more about the people in them than the content.

Favorites is good. It's like if you could only have one list, who would you put in it? I just think it's unreasonable to expect that people only want one list.

yea for now i just want 1 list. perhaps a top 20 i squashed that a while ago. but for now have 1 list and test it in the UI if it works we can add more lists.

LOL! I don't personally use the trending but NEW is worth using. I like this too. As for a discovery tree that changes would be amazing! I wish you luck with that endeavor.

yea i think that is too crazy and misdirected of my time, money etc... lol... but a happy compromise would be something that allows users to discover content. I would agree that trending does not have much value to me or you, but i want to see what all these higher ups think etc. it would suck to remove that and find out users use that.

Is there a way to make a thread showing posts made out of user's favorite lists? Like "Favorite users" or "Favorite tags". Something like that.

Regardless, I love where this is going. I can't wait!

for now i am creating a section at the top as described. My Favorites. It will allow you to favorite users or authors as well as tags. then you can review your favorite authors and tags. but not view theirs etc.

  1. Do you value a TRENDING NAVIGATION TAB and Why?
    NEVER

  2. Do you value a NEW NAGIVATION TAB to discover content or is that not used?
    I do value this for the feeds I follow.. that way I can see what is new or not.

  3. Do you ever USE “REWARDS” in the Sub Navigation of Steemit?
    I use the rewards, but only to learn... Once I've learned, I rarely use it anymore.

  4. Does viewing a HISTORY of transactions, and others Have VALUE to you?
    Yes very much so... This is a way to discover what other people do and why... I think this is huge.

I would give you a suggestion, I don't know if you can do it... but they have a followers tab and a following tab... It would be nice to know if they people you are following, follow you back. Twitter has this feature, but currently the steemit one does not. If you don't know what I am talking about let me know, I can show you. It should be a simple solution to fix, but I'm only a user and not a programming expert like @theuxyeti! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56