SugarSteem - A more Personalized Steem Experience - New User / Non User Update

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Sugar Steem - A more personalized Steem Experience

New User / Non user - Visual Design Update 2.0

I finally had some time this morning to update the Styling of the Logged out Home Page as a New User. I needed to create a style guide to push the build further.

After additional feedback from everyone, and a little bit more elbow grease to fine tune the Visual Design I've come up with a more finalized version of the UI for viewing the SugarSteem UI as a New User or First time interested user in tile vs list view.

Logged Out - New User - Tile View

Final: New User Home Tiled@3x.png

horizontal_line.png

Logged Out - New User - List View

Final: New User Home List@3x.png

horizontal_line.png

If there are any interested Devs out there that do React or JS I am on the look out for you!

Currently building up my Issues for Github and my build can be found here.

SugarSteem Github

So far Its been a 1 man show of myself but recently discovered 1 developer that is helping my vision become a reality. If interested please reach out to @r351574nc3 as he is Spearheading Sugarsteem development so far. @itinerantartist Worked on our 1st pass skinned wireframe ui

THANK YOU

giphy.gif

Thank You Steemians!

It’s you that use the UI and you are the voice that allows me to help shape this community. Thank you for your votes, your constructive comments, and your re-steems. your voice is being heard, scribed and translated into features for @SugarSteem.

Personal Shout Outs for your generousity to my UI Series. Truly grateful!

My Profile Pages - Thank you!

@cryptoctopus, @transisto, @donkeypong, @totolina, @arama, @analisa, @sykochica, @inquiringtimes, @demotruk, @timcliff, @z8teyb289qav9z, @fulltimegeek, @eroche, @ausbitbank, @drakos, @wesleybos, @bestbroplayer, @danielsaori, @whatsup, @ilanaakoundi, @hr1, @makerhacks, @davemccoy, @protegeaa, @mangos, @newhope, @free999enigma

My Home Page Pages - Thank you!

@fabien, @drmake, @patrice, @sift666, @coffeex, @abh12345, @overkillcoin, @acidyo, @wackou, @therealwolf, @xaero1, @fredrikaa, @jerrybanfield, @lrock, @playitforward, @mod-tamichh, @noboxes, @aggroed, @kodaxx, @dbzfan4awhile, @teamhumble, @kimzilla, @scorer, @shawnvanderveer, @dshelton32, @yabapmatt, @carface, @slickwilly, @edwardlewis, @geofftk, @socky, @bbrewer, @etcmike, @austinhopper, @karencarrens, @alexis555, @bue, @techslut, @protegeaa, @fminerten, @steempty, @stephen.king989, @ma1neevent, @spydo, @dedicatedguy, @personz, @v4vapid, @totolina, @leeuw, @morseke1, @cryptocat, @mes, @poeticsnake, @princessmewmew, @spiritualmax, @edb1984, @remcovdpluijm, @eeks, @clayford08, @etcmike, @mattclarke, @datascience, @netuoso, @followbtcnews, @brandonp, @steempty, @fminerten, @shadowspub, @ammonite, @themarkymark,

Footer.gif

footeryeti.png

PLEASE FOLLOW MY WORK!

@theUXyeti - Geek of all Trades, Master of Many! Built over 200 interfaces for Start ups to Fortune 500 companies across websites, mobile apps, mobile games, console games, VR/AR games, wearables, appliance UI, aerospace, military UI, ecommerce.
In my spare time I teach scuba as a dive master, play a lot of strategy games, love card games, and work on my current Steem UI project SugarSteem - follow @sugarsteem

How to find me
Steemit: www.steemit.com/@theUXyeti
Steemit: www.steemit.com/@sugarsteem
Discord: TheUXyeti or TheUXyeti#5698
Dlive Channel: https://dlive.io/@theuxyeti
IG: thetravelyeti

Sort:  

PLEASE READ THIS

I am tragically sad to write that after weeks and weeks of working on the visual design that is the foundation for the above images, i am not being credited for my work, and in fact even insulted that the work is not mine, when it clearly is built off my original Sketch file and visual design style guides. i am currently writing a post to explain why I feel this way in debt, but I ask that everyone supporting this project please read into this matter. I am just a minnow, I dont want to cause a war, but my name should not be erased from a project I worked many days and nights helping to realize. I'm still new to Steemit, and have no idea what to do. If anyone can offer advice on this please do. I would like to request my visual design be taken off of this project, and these posts to be taken down, as it was built using my Sketch files, and my visual design, which I did not authorize use of in handing over to other visual designers or using my sketch file to be changed without crediting my participation on the project.

Please read my post about how this is affecting the @sugarsteem project, that I was very much a part of shaping and creating:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@itinerantartist/a-little-credit-goes-a-long-way-ux-ui-visual-steemit-re-design-project

My visual design:

1280_list copy 18-1@1x.png

Lovely just by observation looks very pleasant and intuitive!

I'm a UX'er if you need a hand on anything, I focus on usability :)

That’s one of a few roles i have. How are you with visual design in sketch? Or possibly style guides with my existing builds if i can provide the sketch file?

heyyyy - as this is my visual design, i really dont like the idea that my file is being passed around to whomever and im not even being consulted or tagged in the post. made me really sad to see this :( @theuxyeti @impaulius

i know this is your baby but i spent countless hours building out that visual design, so the visual feels like my baby. it feels off to see that this is just being passed around without my knowledge, especially with the file that i created from scratch and because you asked me about wanting to see and understand how i worked /composed and design the file in sketch, i felt comfortable sharing with you, but i definitely dont feel comfortable sharing that with the world.

made me really sad seeing all this, just happened upon it while visiting your blog today :'(

Not my intention at all. You stated you wouldn’t have any time to work on the build. I’ve taken the design through an evolutionary phase and personally am redesigning the visual aesthetic. No file sharing.
When no one decided to contribute to further the design work i took it upon myself to continue to iterate it. This is my refinement and design to the wireframes and old treatment.
Too many problems with the old design that needed fixing so since I’ve got no help I’ll build it on my own.
I’ve spent hours cleaning up these designs. If you helped on the new iterations i would have most certainly added you.

@theuxyeti - I'm really disappointed to hear this from you. i never said i wouldn't contribute, in fact i said i was on vacation and very swamped with work and would pick back up when things calmed down. i understand if you're cleaning up the designs, but those were my designs, visual wise. if you are using my drawings in a post, i don't understand why you wouldn't at the very least tag me in the work. my hands are very much all over these images. it makes me heartbroken to hear from you that you won't credit my name anymore bc you brushed up changes. i spent weeks working on these, not just hours. I'm not asking for money, but recognition for the weeks of work i put into this. if you are not using the drawings i helped visualize, its a different story of course.

Iterative process - the problem is this is far more then brushing up. The overall look and feel was already designed. You definitely provided a skin to the UI and contributed. But taking credit on work that I’ve iterated... that’s why i didn’t include you. If you’d like to do the work then I’m happy to post up the tag..

yes, you are basing these iterations on top of visual design guides and drawings that i set up, which built off of your UX. therefore, clarifying that would be nice. my hands were still in this process. your drawing built off mine which built off yours. its not erased.

in the work environment you usually say who the team is. and you took me off that title. which is sad, because, well i dedicated a lot of time and volunteered to work on this

i don't understand how you are so against naming me as "hey, this person built the visual which is where this visual came from"

its an iterative process that i had a hand in building.

Visual Design I'm ok(depends on what). Style guides have a bit more on my back since I've built those before for identity projects.

hey - i see you are updating the files. id really appreciate it if you keep tagging me and shouting out as this is my visual design still!

I’m personally updating the design by creating a more polished version of the existing. It’s my iteration as I’ve done the work to improve the design aesthetic and refine the design. I’ve taken the time to resurface the design and push it further when no one else will. I’m not quite too sure what you mean here.

Thanks Dev. I really appreciate your efforts in making steemit more personalized. I think I will try it out.

Wow that looks amazing! Steem is such a good platform but at times Steemit can be not the most user friendly in terms of filtering and finding the most relevant posts. Glad people are working hard on alternatives :)

I don’t think “people” are lol it’s just me! Lol

:(

seeing these comments is kind of soul crushing to be honest

How so? You didn’t design anything of SugarSteem. I think you’re trying to take credit for something you didn’t create. If you look at the build of my history of wireframes the evolution to a visual treatment is very much the same. Not quite too sure how much you feel you’ve evolved the design.

Are you denying that @itinerantartist created the original visual designs? Even if you have altered them, were those original visual designs created by @itinerantartist or not?

My personal standard is to give credit where credit is due. If the base visuals being worked on was created by another, it is not cool to refuse to give credit. That you are doing so with another Steemian, worse.

yes, the visual design prior to these recent two posts was 100% mine. here is a screenshot i took today of my file, which has 14 different page iterations of custom designs i made. I'm gutted. On vacation in France and literally broke down and cried over this last night. It is profiting off the back of work I did. It is wrong. And if this is what Steemit supports, I suppose I don't belong here at all.

Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 10.50.38 PM.png
Source file name: Screen Shot 2018-04-29 at 10.50.38 PM.png, for timestamping purposes.

Seriously? You’re trying to claim IP, design aesthetic or UI? I don’t agree here. It’s been my work from the beginning that you as a freelancer have skinned the UI.
None of the high fidelity wireframes are shown here as guides of the original build to craft these designs.
I truly feel you are “reaching” as I’m a very fair leader in design work and build at every place I’ve worked for and with a personal project even more so.
From my perspective, the design work has altered significantly, interactions have changed, all color schemes different, the image is just a placeholder and if replaced would easily change the POV of the solution visually. Things have been refined down, styling removed, text altered, layout adjustments.
This said,
How much more needs to be changed in order for “you” to continue to claim any of the treatment IS yours?
Again with a heavy heart ❤️ i ask you in previous iterations where “YOU DID” the work and collaborated you were mentioned. The collaboration went well. But these iterations evolved without your assistance, contribution or help. I spent hours fixing everything and changing it for my own posts.
I am a firm believer in giving credit where it’s due if you do the work. I’ve been screwed on many projects...
if you prefer i can blurb in “1st pass skinned wireframe ui by @itinerantartist “ in both posts if you would like that to help.
But seriously your posts, direction and comments have done MORE harm then useful and very disappointing to see you’ve taken more credit than you deserve. Certainly not something i would think from your education or status. I will edit in the blurb on your behalf, as that is all you have done on 3 posts to assist.
Sorry you’re upset, it was t my intention to do so, i honestly just didn’t think you contributed as I’ve changed the design , interactions, and build and you didn’t work on it this round.

Yes, please "drop in" another image I didn't hand select, or the other styling I curated. If you were being true to the work that was done by my hand, you would start a new file. I am educated, yet very naive, and I believe when you see those files side by side it is clear the work I have done is the foundation for the visual. I never asked to "own" the project. I knew it was person to you. But if you were trying to hire a freelancer to skin UX as you say, then maybe that is paid position that SugarSteem for hire for. You asked for collaborators, and that we "share" in the project. Now you seem to be diminishing my contributions where before you applauded them and talked as if we were equals. I was never paid as a freelancer on this project. I was a voluntary contributor and co-Steemian.

From my perspective, the design work has altered yes, but still is based on the framework I made. I don't see why you were so adamant on refusing to state that.

wow. this is heartbreaking. and i can't believe as a designer you would say this. visual design is just as much a part of the design process as UX. no sugar steem is not my baby. but 100% of the visual design work I've done. from picking font types to curating the imagery, color schemes, formatting. how can you say that i "didn't evolve the design"?

a simple "visual design by @itinerantartist" would have sufficed. now you are saying i didn't evolve the design - after more than a month of working together this literally breaks my heart.

Sorry i don’t want to cause any issues. Never had the intention. I make posts based on the iterative design and who does the work. I’m sorry your feelings were hurt. That’s not the intention. If you had done the work I’d have added you. Always happy to collab again.

I was working hard on it. That is people. Thank you @conradt for recognizing that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64