Guide for the Absolute Steem Beginner by a literal Steem Baby (w/@carlgnash)

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steem Marble.jpg

Simple, clear advice for all Steem-ers on content creation and engagement. Give my dad @carlgnash some credit for having the foresight to invite me to participate in this talk. At times he was struggling and I jumped in to really save the day, as you will see. This was originally created for a Steemit meetup in Nigeria but the content is broadly applicable to anyone on this Blue Marble we call Earth. It has never been posted online before today.




Topics Covered:

  • Bringing elements of your life into your posting

  • Being a Good Commenter

  • Introduceyourself post strategy

  • What to write about? AKA "Looking at the world through the eyes of an alien"

  • Documenting events as they happen

  • Simple tips for better photography




Make sure to follow my dad @carlgnash, he may be a dork and slightly embarrassing to me but he is my dad! And I love him <3

Much love - @thingtwo

Sort:  

Nicely done

Although you may not have picked up on the "don't leave generic comments that could be left without reading/watching/listening to the post" part, I will give you the benefit of the doubt ; you seem like a nice enough sort. And plus, I did do a nice job. You are absolutely correct. For a one year old, I think I really articulated my points quite clearly :)

Love the tips ! Definitely worth a resteem just cuz it's @thingtwo 😂😂😂😂 .

Thanks Bitrocker! I don't know if Carl has told you but I came back to the present from a decentralized future... where there are big things in store for #teammalaysia! I can't reveal any specifics (there are some time paradox issues at play here) but yeah, exciting times ahead! Much love - Thing Two

I can relate to your way of thinking about content creating. It is difficult to write about posts through the eyes of an 'alien', challenge accepted! The preparation is also a very good idea. Zoom out and get some topics relating to your talents/interests and zooming in in those topics to get into the detail themes what you can write about. I'm pretty autistic when it comes to publishing my work, and I am still getting used to publish my work, and I have a kind of a 'red-line' that I'm following. About the commenting part, the generic comments sometimes come hard to mind, and as a starter, to me, this is something that I value a lot and I have started to up-vote the people who took the time to contribute to the post as a commenter.

Excellent, looking forward to some Alien Ruben posting! I think it is a great idea to reserve some voting power for curating the comments on your posting - absolutely good commenting should be rewarded. Much love - Thing Two

Even as a Steemian of 8months, I found this super useful and relevant. Thank you Thing Two. Finally some hope for mankind 😎

Resteemed

Luckily things aren't as dire as they seem in 2018. Not too many more years to go before the corporate overlords are tossed under the bus of Decentralization. Ooop I may have said too much. So just imagine that is a hypothetical situation I am talking about ;)

Your Dad is a pretty cool dork. :) Awesome post, it’s so rad you’re already on steemit and learning the business!

The business of being super duper cute? I have that business down pat! Much love - Thing Two

i already knew most of this stuff but i ended up watching / listening to the whole video lol. I've seen you around steemit and it was cool to put a face to the name, even though this is @thingtwo's account lol. anyway, seeing the world as an alien... i liked that alot. i think i do that A lot compared to most people. blogging about life that you percive as an alien is a way to embellish the life that you have and it actually adds value to your real life and is reciprocated in Literal value on the blockchain. thanks for the refreshing video, i feel like ive been getting a little burnt out on steemit and my comments have been effected . but not this one! cheers!

Aww sorry to hear you are getting a bit burnt out, my dad has always spoken highly of you in the future that I came from in the past. Don't worry though, you will nosegrind your way out of this funk and nollie flip into a period of extreme productivity! Rock on, web-gnar, rock on :)

Much love - Thing Two

The more I head through this learning curve on Steemit, the more I realize how fortunate I was to find the #openmic weekly challange. It has actually has given me a platform to begin an on-line presence in this community. I just thought I would mention that 'cuz I'm sure there are many Steemit users who feel the same way. btw I love that t-shirt. I think your sons gonna be a drummer. the "alien thing" is so zen... be the watchman watching the workman in the workplace.... you of course being the both the watchman and the worker. ok now I'm talking your ear off ...... I don't know if ya know this but you have a contagious smile. ;9)

Yeah #openmic is a great community, really supportive and helpful. And yeah, steep learning curve in general around Steem parts! Nice to see you in the #curation_links Curie Discord channel as well :)

I was once curied about 49 days ago, it was wonderful and now I get the pleasure of dropping a quality link every now and then and I have seen some them get accepted... it's a blast ;9)

As a struggling beginner, this has super value for me. Thanks alot.

Good, glad it is useful for you!

good post. l like this a lot, greats infromation from you today. can you analyse my function? wow!

ok finally finished. i applaud you on being able to spew all of that out of your mouth intelligently and concisely without a script! plus not being afraid to film it without hating the way it looks, etc. the ut ohhs were priceless!

You are too kind! The funny thing is when I first watched this, I was like - oh crap. I thought I was talking and gesturing eloquently, but turns out I was just making mono-syllabic noises and jerking my body around like I was having a seizure. Oh wait. Were you talking about my dad?

Hmmmm. Doggo with rabbit ears. Function is obviously snuggles and love. Cuteness. And also barking at squirrels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88